Newbie Here With My 1st Diabetic Cat

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Red46, Jan 20, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Red46

Red46 New Member

Hello Everyone!
    My name is Laura & my cat was diagnosed with diabetes on Dec. 19th when I took him in for an abscess on his ear. He had had an hemotoma about a mth.& a half ago & rec'd stitches for that & wore a cone for 10 days. I thought he lost weight because of that. My husband & daughter thought I was imagining things when I said he had lost too much weight. From now on I'll go on my own intuition! Anyways, he has been on Pro-Zinc since Dec. 19th. I finally got it down pat to test his own blood about 2 wks. ago. He is still in the 400 range most of the time. I have switched his diet to Fancy Feast and he has no dry food at all. He has a couple of times got hold of bread (which he ate before he was sick). I'm trying to knock some sense into my husband & daughter about leaving it out. Red was 17 lbs. and is now down to 11 lbs. He started out on 1 unit of Pro Zinc twice a day and is now up to 3 units of Pro Zinc a day.

I haven't had the time yet to start a chart for him. Any words of wisdom would be most appreciated! He is my favorite cat and I have 3 others as well. Thanks for reading!

2. Mystery

Mystery Member

Hi Laura, and welcome to your kitty - what's his name? You're at the right place to get advice, that's for certain. The good folks here are a wealth of information for all things feline diabetes!

Congratulations on deciding to test kitty's blood glucose at home - that's a super important step!