Newbie here

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by ColbysMom, Jan 26, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ColbysMom

ColbysMom New Member

Hi, my name is Jamie and my buddy Colby here was officially diagnosed with feline diabetes this afternoon. His blood glucose was at 518. We will begin insulin this evening. I've spent the past 3 days doing nothing but reading about feline diabetes and I'm pretty overwhelmed. I became aware of some weight loss about a week ago and weighed him with myself to confirm it. There had been more urine in the one box for the past few months but I have 3 cats and one other box seemed to be getting less use, so that alone didn't really tip me off. These factors combined with what seemed to be a more than healthy appetite (increased mooching) is what made me think diabetes. So I made an appointment for Monday and we just got the results today.

I have been instructed to administer 2 units of insulin twice a day. The insulin prescribed is PZI. He goes back for a check-up and blood work in a week. All of his other levels (kidney's, etc.) were within normal ranges. I am still waiting for the results on a urinalysis.

Colby will be 8 years old in the spring (March/April?) and is a larger breed cat, possibly part Main Coone(?) He really looks more like a Norwegian Forest Cat. He was at 18 pounds his last check-up in October and is now at 12.5 pounds. I am so saddened that I didn't notice the weight loss sooner. But it wasn't apparent at first as he is a long haired cat and has a lot of fur.

His diet has been primarily Purina One Healthy Adult dry foot. The three of them also share a can of canned food at supper time as a treat. As for the canned food they have been getting a mix of Friskies and Fancy Feast.