Newbie needing help please - need to know what to do in the next 15 mins or so - by 7.45pm/8pm PST

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Sugarpegger, Oct 30, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sugarpegger

Sugarpegger New Member

Hi there - I am new to this - my lovely 13 year old cat Jake was diagnosed this past Friday with a glucose level of 600. This after a pancreatitis diagnosis 2 weeks ago for which he is on cerenia and also an appetite stimulant.

I have been giving him insulin injections - it is called Lantus U-100 3ml and I am only giving 1 unit twice a day. I have done this exactly as instructed since Friday. 7.45am and pm. Friday he wolfed down his new diabetic food (yey) and Saturday he ate some too. But yesterday he hardly at that much and today he has hardly eaten at all. I gave him an insulin shot this am (it is a very small dose) - should I give it tonight? Help.

I am due to go to the vets again in 10 days so they can see what 10 days of insulin does to his sugar levels. I do not have a home meter - it is coming in the mail but not here yet. Not sure what to do. He is ok, but very tired and has spent most of the day in the basket. Ugh.

Any help so much appreciated.

Lucy

2. Gussie's mom (GA)

Gussie's mom (GA) Well-Known Member

Giving you a bump up! Sorry you have not had help yet if you are still waiting..

3. Stacy & Asia

Stacy & Asia Well-Known Member