Newbie on Vetsulin

Discussion in 'Caninsulin / Vetsulin and N / NPH' started by Cloverbug, Feb 17, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Cloverbug

Cloverbug New Member

Hi, my cat was just diagnosed with diabetes and was put on Vetsulin. She's also on the diabetic food, though she's not very enthusiastic about it. I used to work in a vet clinic and have administered Prozinc so I have basic knowledge of the whole process, but how my current vet and my previous bosses monitor diabetes is very different. My current vet wants me to monitor her water intake, which wouldn't be a problem except I have 2 other cats and a dog. The only way I can think of is to keep her locked up in the spare room all the time. That to me is incredibly cruel to her and is only going to make her stressed out. She's a super cuddlebug (as I'm typing this she's curled up next to me) so her being separated all the time is just not going to work. I was wondering if anyone else has been in this situation and can give me some ideas on how to do this without my cat feeling like she's being punished. Thanks for any help.

2. Deb & Wink

Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

Wow, that does sound really tough on your kitty, keeping her locked up so you can monitor her water intake.

Most of us get a human glucometer and use that for home glucose testing.

Which diabetic food did your vet put your kitty on?

3. Cloverbug

Cloverbug New Member

That was what I was thinking but I wasn't sure if it'd work for cats. She's on the Science Diet food for diabetics. I think it's M/D which I worry won't help too much right now because she's underweight. Her long hair is devious and hid how much she's lost because I moved 6 months ago and put everyone on a diet because all of them were super fat and ironically I was trying to avoid them ending up with diabetes. She's also 9 years old just in case you were wondering.

4. Deb & Wink