Newbie Q - Accidently Shaking Insulin

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by jaybee_bug, Jul 30, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jaybee_bug

jaybee_bug New Member

Hello everyone,

A newbie here! -- I've just joined the forum a few days ago (my cat was recently diagnosed) and have been working on reading all the info at this forum & website. There's a lot to take in!

I had a quick question for now which I haven't been able to work out yet from all the FAQs and so forth. A few days ago when I was carefully rolling and tilting my insulin vial (ProZinc) to mix it up, I accidently dropped the vial -- it bounced off the table and landed on the floor and rolled for a little bit. Thankfully it didn't break but it obviously got shaken up from falling.

Should I be worried that the insulin is now useless ('denatured')? I called and asked my vet this question, but my regular vet is out of town right now and so the other vet answered my q, and to be honest she does not seem as well versed in these matters. (She read the insulin package insert and told me, 'well, it doesn't say anything about it getting ruined by shaking')

Thanks for any input. I also wanted to say I'm encouraged by the extensive resources this website and forum offer and you all seem like a great bunch of people, I'm glad to be here! It really helps to see how many others are 'in the same boat' so to speak.

-Jay (and her cat Tornado :smile: )

2. Sue and Oliver (GA)

Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

Jay,

It should be okay. What you would notice if it wasn't is flaky stuff inside and it would lose its potency.

3. kate and lucky

kate and lucky Member

Hi Jay and welcome to FDMB :mrgreen:

I agree with Sue.