Newbie seeking a vet in Augusta GA

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by evakot, Jan 30, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. evakot

evakot Member

Hi All,

I am VERY new to this, my 8 year old male cat was diagnosed with diabetes YESTERDAY (his blood sugar was 400). As you may imagine I feel overwhelmed and lost. I've been reading different websites for hours, as I knew very little about the illness. I could not sleep most of the night, and when I did I had a nightmare about Big Kitty having a diabetic seizure. Awful.

Anyway, onto my question. Through reading the info I became aware that my vet is NOT UP TO DATE with the most effective protocols. She prescribed the Humulin N insulin at 4 units, twice daily, and the W/D diet. When asked about the insulin type she stated that there are NO OTHER OPTIONS available. Clearly, this is not accurate.

Questions:
    1. Does anyone know a vet in the Augusta, Georgia area (Atlanta is too far- 2.5 hours away) who is knowledgable about feline diabetes?
    2. If not, how do I go about finding another vet? I am guessing that the vets will not be willing to discuss their treatment protocols over the phone...

I appreciate any suggestions.

All the Best to all who are going through this,

Eva

2. Sue and Oliver (GA)

Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

Your gut is right, Eva. The dosage your vet prescribed is too high to start with, and of course, Humulin is not the only insulin. My thought is that most vets are like GP's; they know a little bit about a lot of things. But they should be open to learning and first, do no harm. Hopefully we have someone in Georgia with a good vet.