newbie with questions-- update on Soccer

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by MicheleS, Jan 25, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MicheleS

MicheleS Member

Hi, New here. I'm a vet but not in private practice anymore... So, I have a medical background. In any event, we went out of town for a week and one of our cats was not well when we returned. (We have a pet-sitter who says she didn't notice anything.) So, the cat's glc is 493. Liver and kidney fcn are fine (based on bloodwork). He's dehydrated and I'm giving him subQ fluids. He's eating lots (big, fat cat).

I picked up PZI and a glucometer (+ supplies). I purchased canned food (ick) and a bag of Wellness core. We have 5 cats so I need to figure out how to juggle feeding... I figure that I'll wean everyone off of the stuff they are on and give them Wellness (10% carb content). Soccer can have canned. I know he'll swipe from the other cats...

So, here are my questions:
    1. I'm going to start with insulin twice daily. Should I change the food now or wait a week or so?
    2. Worried about hypoglycemia a bit. Will feed twice daily. SHould I try to come home at lunch to check a glc? (that'll be 6hrs post-insulin)
    3. I'm planning on starting with 3 units PZI, twice daily. SOund reasonable? Does anyone have good ctrl with once daily dosing?
    4. Going to check glc twice daily for a week or so. At what point do ya'll stop checking as frequently?
    5. The cat has lost weight along hind-end. Assuming good ctrl, when should I expect that to resolve?
    6. Any tips? It has been so long since I practiced med.... Hope it is like riding a bike!

thanks!
    Michele

2. Jen & Squeak

Jen & Squeak Well-Known Member

Re: newbie with questions

Hi Michele :) and welcome

I'll answer your questions first

So, here are my questions:
    1. I'm going to start with insulin twice daily. Should I change the food now or wait a week or so?