Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Djdebrisha, Jan 19, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Djdebrisha

Djdebrisha New Member

Hello Everyone,

I took my 14 year old cat to the vet this past Friday and yesterday I was informed that he has both diabetes and pancreatitis.

In one day I was buying syringes, insulin, fancy feast and then learning how to administer shots of B12 and insulin. In addition to that an IV drip.

Yesterday was quite overwhelming but today is a new day. My first shot alone went well but I cannot confirm if it was administered successful. I hope this evening I can get better with that.

It is already a life style changing experience however I love Chester and I am willing to do what I can to ensure his remaining years are the best they can be.

I am an open book and ready to receive and tips and knowledge on this topic.

2. Olive & Paula

Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

Hello and welcome. I am not experienced with pancreatitis myself. More knowledgeable people will pop in to help you.

Just wanted to say hi.

Djdebrisha likes this.
  3. Mogmom and Goofus

Mogmom and Goofus Well-Known Member

Welcome! Sounds like you had a pretty rough day yesterday! It's all pretty overwhelming (you'll see that word used frequently here, lol) but it really does get better, I promise. :) I'm not too experienced with the pancreatitis thing (had dog that had it years ago) so I can't help with that, but I'm sure someone will be along soon to answer your questions. :cat:

If you go to our search bar and type in pancreatitis, lots of posts regarding it will come up and that should give you some pretty good info to get you started. :cat:

Djdebrisha likes this.
  4. BJM

BJM Well-Known Member

Djdebrisha likes this.
  5. Critter Mom

Critter Mom Well-Known Member

Hi there. Welcome to you and Chester. My, but you two have had a baptism of fire! :(