Newby seeking answers

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Laura & Bundy, Mar 24, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Laura & Bundy

Laura & Bundy Member

Hello, I've read and absorbed much of the information on this site, although there is much, much more. I have a few basic questions: this is my first time administering to a diabetic cat although I have lots of experience with other procedures and illnesses. This is a 16 yr old FeLV+ cat with CRF Stage 2 and elevated liver enzyme. I was really in a quandry about whether to order the Alpha Trak or the Human Glucose Monitor as has been suggested, but ended up ordering the AT which I have not received yet. Bundy the cat under discussion, was diagnosed on Friday, I received ProZinc to give 1 unit 2x a day. I gave one injection and then stopped because after reading everything I felt like I was groping in the dark not knowing what his actual BG reading was. Is that OK to wait for the kit? or should I just give the insulin regardless.