Newly diagnosed and lost

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Julie mueller, Apr 18, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Julie mueller

Julie mueller Member

Hello ! I have a 10 year old cat who was just diagnosed diabetic. I started him today on Royal Canine food . The vet prescribed him 1 can of "satiety" in the morning and 1 can at night and mid day I am giving him a small handful of glycobalance hard food. Before now he was on regular friskies hard food (not a great diet). He was 18 pounds last year at his check up and 14 pounds yesterday. He does have an increase in urination and thirst but I was taken by surprise because he is a very happy, friendly and energetic cat. They gave me a prescription for Lantus and we are planning on starting it next week. Is it recommended to start Insulin right away or should I see if the better diet helps first? I am very new to all this but have been reading alot about it.

2. Idjit's mom

Idjit's mom Well-Known Member

Julie, hi again. I was trying to find out about the Royal Canin Satiety food you are feeding Smokey and I can't find that on our food chart: https://catinfo.org/docs/CatFoodProteinFatCarbPhosphorusChart.pdf
    So, I can't say if that is high or low carb food. Many of us start out with Fancy Feast or Friskies pates because it's accessible at the grocery store, and costs less than food you get at the vet. We don't recommend feeding any dry.

I learned that an unregulated diabetic cat can't properly utilize food and that it's better to offer more frequent small meals to help with the hunger issues.