Newly diagnosed: bought Novolin N, vet made me buy ProZinc

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by charliewarlie, Mar 28, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. charliewarlie

charliewarlie New Member

Hi friends,

My cat Charlie has just been diagnosed on the 24th. He is about 10 years old and I adopted him this past August. I am a college student. When I first got him he was 15 lbs and over the course of the past few months he has been losing weight and now he is 9 lbs. Figured something was up so I took him to the vet and found out he is diabetic. My vet didn't tell me what insulin to buy or give me any instructions to take home with me when she diagnosed him, she wanted me to go in again 2 days later to have me practice injecting him but with saline under her supervision and only then tell me what his treatment would be.

So that night and the next day I did my research and found this website. On a Facebook group I am in for cats I asked about how other people were treating their diabetic cats. I found out about Novolin N and how it has worked for plenty of kitties so I went and bought it from Walmart for $25 along with U-100 syringes and lancets. My grandma is diabetic and she happened to have a spare glucometer for me, an Accu-Chek glucometer, so I gladly took her up on that offer.

I figured it would be just fine for Charlie and I cancelled the follow up appointment with her. So she calls and says how Novolin is dangerous for cats since it's a human insulin, that I should not give him it, that the Accu-Chek is wrong since it's for humans, that the syringes are wrong... Went in and got ProZinc and a box of syringes but paid an arm and a leg for it.