Newly Diagnosed Cat

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Morningstarlet (GA), Jul 20, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Morningstarlet (GA)

Morningstarlet (GA) Member

My cat has just been diagnosed with Diabetes. Camille is 11 yo and tomorrow I go to my vets office to learn how to test her blood and give injections. She's on Purina DM. I also have an 18 yo cat with kidney disease that I give sub-q's to three times a week, so I'm a pro at giving cats needles. What I'm really concerned with is the testing and giving the correct amount of insulin. I'm not looking forward to this at all. :sad:

2. Sue and Oliver (GA)

Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

I hope it helps to know that every single one of us was overwhelmed and very scared at the beginning of this sugar dance. But the more you know, the more confident you become.

Whe you go to the vet, I hope he/she prescribes one of the milder., longer lasting insulins like Lantus, Levemir or ProZinc. And we would urge you to start low and go slow, with a starting dose of .5 to one unit twice daily. We hope your vet will encourage you to test your kitty at home, just like you would do with your 2 legged child. We also advocate a wet low carb diet but it is best to wait until you are confidently testing at home to change because it can mean a drastic reduction in glucose levels. See this website by a vet to understand why: www.catinfo.org

We would love to help you help your kitty. Do lots of reading and ask questions.

3. Morningstarlet (GA)

Thanks for the encouragement. I've ordered an Alphatrack monitor and the strips so I can test her at home. I'll be giving her Lantus insulin which I picked up today and put in the frig. I'm assuming I can start her on her shots early next week. She's on wet food, the Purina DM and fed twice daily. My vet was hoping that switching her to the DM would regulate her without insulin, but unfortunately it didn't.