Newly Diagnosed Diabetic

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by MustLuvCats, Dec 29, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MustLuvCats

MustLuvCats Member

Hi, my 9 yr old cat Rylee has just been diagnosed with diabetes :(....Since I am afraid to monitor her when she initially gets her insulin dosing she is going to be hospitalized with glucose curve monitoring. Does anyone have any other ideas/suggestions that maybe could ease my fears and I will monitor her at home. As with everyone else who gets this diagnosis for their beloved pet I am devasted, confused and don't know what to do. Any help will be appreciated.

Thanks!!

2. Michelle & Dusty

Michelle & Dusty Member

Welcome to the board! I'm a relative newbie here. My cat - Dusty - was diagnosed at the beginning of December and has been receiving treatment for a month. Like you, I was pretty overwhelmed, frightened, and unsure of my own abilities. Just to offer a bit of reassurance - it does get easier. Testing has become quick and easy - a process that takes less than a minute usually. It took about a week to get used to the injections of insulin, but that, too, has become part of the routine. For me personally, the hardest part is dealing with the treatment protocol and knowing what to dose, when to increase, when to decrease, and the like. Fortunately, there are real pros on the board who are happy to answer whatever questions we newbies throw at them...so even that is pretty manageable. :smile:

Is everything kittens and roses at this point? Dear lord, no. Indeed I've spent much of today worried that Dusty is not drinking enough, not eating enough, too sluggish, too jittery, too much of all sorts of things. When I get like this (i.e. convinced that everything is wrong with Dusty all at the same time), I go reread this: viewtopic.php?f=28&t=33671
    It helps, a bit.