Newly diagnosed questions about dosing

Discussion in 'Caninsulin / Vetsulin and N / NPH' started by Jwhitrn, Dec 19, 2018.

1. Jwhitrn

Jwhitrn New Member

I might not be attaching the spreadsheet the correct way so if you want to see it and can't, please let me know.
    Ricco came home on 7u of Novolin N twice a day. (I realize it is not the best choice, I even took the articles to the vet... but I agreed to try it and they agreed to change if it doesn't work). I am a nurse. I realize cats are not humans but I do at least have some working knowledge of diabetes, thankfully. (I am sure I drove the vet crazy over the initial 3 day span). I am using the Alpha Trak 2 monitor, I also have a ReliOn Premier Blu as a back up.

So, thankfully, I decided on Sunday to do more than spot checks... it took until about 6pm (with no insulin) to get over 300... (I am trying to wean 6 cats from kibble to wet food so I am sure he occasionally sneaks some in. Although, he does now seem to prefer the wet food. He is not eating a whole lot though... but he gained back a little weight so I am just watching that. It is all just so new and I am trying to monitor everything, while working 40+ hours per week.)

So, I adjusted his insulin lower and the next morning-80! So I skipped the insulin. Next night I went even lower because his glucose was even lower. Yesterday morning, 108. So I did not give insulin. His glucose was initially 247 but dropped before I gave his insulin, despite eating...

So this morning it was 243, but with him having those drops, I was afraid to give him any insulin... if it was the weekend where I could watch him, I might have given a reduced dose.

But I definitely do not think he needs 7u anymore... I am SOOOO glad I checked him Monday morning because if I had given him 7u without checking it... :(

Am I doing this right? is the main question behind this novel I wrote...