Newly diagnosed San Diego cat....vacation questions

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by oreosmom, May 2, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. oreosmom

oreosmom Member

Hello Folks,

My cat Oreo has GI Lymphoma and was also diagnosed with diabetes. We will be starting his insulin tomorrow. Since I am new to this, what do you if you need to leave town? I need to find somebody to help with his medication while we are gone. Also, should we leave at all...does insulin or diabetes need 24 hour management???? SOS!!!!

Thanks, Carol in San Diego

2. squeem3

squeem3 Well-Known Member

Welcome!

Most people here hire a vet tech from the vet's office to take care of a diabetic cat. Ask at your vet office. Many vet techs do pet sitting on the side.

Some people hire a pet sitter who has experience with diabetic cats.

Boarding is an option. Some vets will board cats. Some regular boarding places will take in pets who need daily medicine and other special care. Ask lots of questions before choosing a boarding place (Do they have a trained employee who can give insulin injections? Do they or are willing to learn how test a diabetic cat's blood glucose level before giving insulin? What are their procedures for handling medical emergencies? Is the place staffed 24/7? etc)

You're actually pretty lucky - there are FDMB members who do live in San Diego and the surrounding area. Someone may be able to help you out if you need to go on vacation. I'm sure the CA members will be posting shortly.

A diabetic cat doesn't need 24 hour monitoring :smile: It's overwhelming and scary for the first couple of days after the diagnosis. Just breathe and read all the articles on how to manage your diabetic cat at http://www.felinediabetes.com/ Diabetic cats need insulin twice a day, blood glucose testing at least twice a day (before the insulin shot), and lots of love :D

3. Ann & Maggie11 (GA)

Ann & Maggie11 (GA) Well-Known Member

Hi Carol.