Newly diagnosed unregulated diabetic with CKD - HELP!

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by ElaineL, Jun 11, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ElaineL

ElaineL New Member

Hey all,

I've recently taken in a foster/rescue from a situation where the family was not able to properly monitor his diabetes despite a lot of guidance from their veterinarian. He is 4 year old newly diagnosed diabetic (April of this year) and has been through 3 DKA episodes with the previous family when proper insulin doses were not given, insulin was still being given despite concerning behaviours at home which were later revealed (was hospitalized and re-stabilized on IV fluids each time). His story is long one but basically through my veterinary clinic he has landed in my home as a foster as the veterinarian did not feel this poor boy should be euthanized given the family could no longer cope - I have no experience with a diabetic cat but I felt his best chance at getting back to a normal life in a home as opposed to in a busy animal hospital. I have done a lot of reading and am quickly learning that this is not an easy fix but I'm willing to give him the love and patience he needs right now.