Newly diagnosed

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Rardito, Jul 20, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rardito

Rardito Member

Hello everyone!

I have two cats: Bitsy age 10 and Mitsy age 9. Mitsy was just diagnosed with diabetes this week.

She had been peeing on the floor for about a month and the vet had stated it was behavioral due to her having normal bloodwork in March. However, she kept getting worse (pawing at the water dish/knocking it over, peeing EVERYWHERE on the floors, acting zoned out) so I took her back and had them redo the blood work. Due to her high blood sugar, she was diagnosed with diabetes and possible pancreatitis.

They started her on insulin - 2 units on Monday. She stayed at the vet during the day on Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, and today for blood sugar testing. He has now increased her to 5 units of Vetsulin twice daily and her blood sugar was at 130 today when we left the vet.

I am very new to this and slightly overwhelmed - but I wanted to make an introduction in the meantime.

Thanks for reading!

Rosa

2. Bron and Sheba (GA)

Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

Hi Rose, Mitsy and Bitsy and welcome to the forum.:)
    The first few weeks after diagnosis are always overwhelming but it does get easier!
    There is a steep learning curve in the beginning.....ask lots of questions and read all you can..there are yellow stickies at the top of all the forums for you to read.
    Here is a link to FAQ
    http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/health-links-faqs-about-feline-diabetes.14/

I was alarmed to read your vet had increased the insulin to 5 units. That is a HUGE increase for a cat just starting on insulin.
    I would NOT give that amount of insulin. You are risking a hypo. I would stick to two units until you are testing the blood sugars.