Newly diagnosed

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Julie mueller, Apr 18, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Julie mueller

Julie mueller Member

Hello !
    I have a 10 year old cat who was just diagnosed diabetic. I started him today on Royal Canine food . The vet prescribed him 1 can of "satiety" in the morning and 1 can at night and mid day I am giving him a small handful of glycobalance hard food. Before now he was on regular friskies hard food (not a great diet). He was 18 pounds last year at his check up and 14 pounds yesterday. He does have an increase in urination and thirst. They gave me a prescription for Lantus and we are planning on starting it next week. Is it recommended to start Insulin right away or should I see if the better diet helps first? I am very new to all this but have been reading alot about it.

2. Idjit's mom

Idjit's mom Well-Known Member

Welcome to FDMB. I'm very glad you did some research and found the board. There is a wealth of information here on the board, but please do not let that intimidate you. As you become more familiar with navigating the forums, it will seem more like "home". The basics of effective feline diabetic treatment are proper diet, insulin therapy and home testing, just like with humans.
    We do recommend feeding a low carb wet diet for our sugar cats. Please visit www.catinfo.org for information on feline nutrition.
    Depending on where you are in the world (we have members from all over the globe) we can make some recommendations for low carb canned foods in your area.
    The Royal Canin Glycobalance canned food is a 14% carb value, and we try to feed wet food with a 10% or less carb value.
    The weight loss, increased urination and thirst are typical symptoms of feline diabetes.

I suggest two things, not in any particular order: