Newly Diagnosed

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by mrsd4ever, Feb 16, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mrsd4ever

mrsd4ever Member

Hello. I'm new to this and had a question I thought someone here might be able to help with.

Our cat, MeowMeow, was diagnosed in late November 09 with diabetes. He started insulin in December and his numbers were all over the chart. So after looking on this board realized the Vetsulin our vet initially prescribed probably wasn't the best bet so since then he has been on Lantus (3u. twice daily) Since being on the Lantus his numbers stay in uppper 300's to 500's. He was initially diagnosed with only results from blood work. No other test were done. So my question is can diabetes be diagnosed with blood test only and what is the likely hood that he could have been misdiagnosed?

MeowMeow was a 14lb active cat. He is 11 yrs old. When diagnosed he was down to 8.5lbs and very lathargic. Any advice you might have would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance for your time.

2. Gia and Quirk

Gia and Quirk Member

Hi and welcome!

We need a bit more information from you before we can responsibly answer your questions, so please let us know:

Weight loss and lethargy can have many causes, was MM also ravenously hungry while losing weight? Peeing rivers?

Was the blood test a fructosamine? If so, it is definitive for diagnosing diabetes. If not, what other tests were done? Was MM checked for any other conditions?

Are you testing blood glucose at home? If so, would you please share your numbers with us. If not, please be aware that stress often levates blood glucose so tests taken at the vet clinic are often erroneous.

What was the starting dose of Vetsulin? Was it increased? On what basis? What was the starting dose of Lantus? Have you increased? If som how and why?