North Texas Senior Kitty

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Sanden, Sep 16, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sanden

Sanden New Member

My sassy, ever-mischievous part Siamese, all Tuxedo Chin-Chin is now my fellow diabetic. We are both on Lantus and while I'm a nurse? I have yet to test my little guys glucose out of fear of hurting his ears. He's getting his insulin twice a day, still demanding his treats, and refusing decent food.

Hoping to help out as I can here, perhaps donate some supplies to those having a tough time financially, and learn how to test Chinny's glucose as painlessly as possible.

I'm a nurse and full time Web portal developer for a large university system in Texas. I take insulin for steroid therapy needed for lupus.

Sanden

2. Idjit's mom

Idjit's mom Well-Known Member

Hi and welcome to the board, Sanden and Chin-Chin. There is a wealth of information here about feline diabetes, and we sure do want to help you get started home testing. I have read that it doesn't hurt the cat's ears so much to test, as cats perhaps just don't like having their ears handled. But, it is critically important to test his BG to be sure it's safe to "shoot", to be aware of how the insulin is affecting him and to prevent a hypo. And the more you test, the easier it gets to get that little blood drop.

If you would, please create a signature that gives Chin-Chin's pertinent information with each post, here's a link: SIGNATURE

You can post questions in the Main Forum, and be sure to read the yellow tagged stickies at the top of the Lantus forum. Here are a couple of places that you can read about home testing:
    http://www.felinediabetes.com/bg-home-test.htm and http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/hometesting-links-and-tips.287/