Numbers rising after insulin shot.

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by coldenburg, May 26, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. coldenburg

coldenburg Member

I tested my cat at 11:22 PM and he was at 303 so I gave him 1 unit. Its now a little over three hours later and he is at 416. This doesn't make any sense to me. I have been doing this for awhile so I don't think I did the shot wrong. At 11 AM today he was at 370 and I gave him 1 unit and he went to 40 after four hours.

Should I give him another shot of insulin? I have no idea if overlapping is okay or not. He seems to peak at 5 hours.

2. Holly and Pablo

Holly and Pablo Member

I am no expert, but I will say this in case no one else pops in: DO NOT GIVE MORE INSULIN! If you truly had a 40 earlier, the high numbers you are seeing are the result of a rebound because of the low blood sugar.

I don't know the specifics of your case or the insulin you're using, but with that 40, you should decrease the dose of insulin. This might sound weird since you're having such high numbers right now, but if you increase insulin, you may very well have a hypo since you nearly did earlier.

Hang on for more detailed advice from more experienced members.

3. Hillary & Maui (GA)

Hillary & Maui (GA) Well-Known Member

I agree with holly. NEVER give more insulin after giving the shot. Reason - you don't know oif you gave a fur shot and you don't know how much insulin got in when u gave the shot. By giving another before the 12 hour cycle you risk the possibility oif overdosing the cat and creating a hypo situation.

Regarding why the numbers are doing this woithout knowing history, seeing a ss and knowing what insulin u r using it is all conjecture.

But do not give another shot.

4. Vicky & Gandalf (GA) & Murrlin

Vicky & Gandalf (GA) & Murrlin Well-Known Member

5. Phoebe_TiggyGA_NortonGA

Phoebe_TiggyGA_NortonGA Well-Known Member