Old/New member

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by TreySpot, Jun 15, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TreySpot

TreySpot Member

Several years ago I had a tortie girl that i wasn't able to help and I lost her. Now I have another cat diagnosed and i've forgotten everything i knew before. Michael is 14 and he had been fighting a URI so I was very slow to realize he had another problem.

My vet said he showed 'off-the-scale' on his readings. He is on Novolin 1 unit twice a day. Don't have any $$ until this Wednesday when I hopefully will have enough to go get a meter and strips and a different insulin. I'm very nervous about this as it really hurt to lose Rusti and I tried so hard with her.

Kate and Kloever likes this.
  2. Kate and Kloever

Kate and Kloever Member

Welcome welcome welcome!!!! I'm very new to this...so I can just offer moral support! The people in this group are AMAZING!

3. Lisa and Witn (GA)

Lisa and Witn (GA) Well-Known Member

The insulins that work best for cats are long acting. ProZinc and BCP PZI are pet insulins. You will order these through your vet's office. Your vet can also order your first vial of BCP PZI for free. There is a discount coupon on their website. http://www.bcpvetpharm.com/products_bovine.htm

The other two insulins we recomment are Levemir and Lantus. Both of these are human insulins that work well in cats. If your vet prescribes either of these, ask for a prescription for the pens instead of vial. It will last longer. With a vial, the insulin becomes ineffective long before you can use it all and you end up throwing a lot of it away. With the pens, because they are packaged in smaller containers, you will be able to use almost every drop. Depending on your dose, one pack of pens could last 9 months or longer. Also, if you live in the US, ordering the insulin from Canadian pharmacy can also save you a lot of money.

4. Nancy & Cootie (GA)

Nancy & Cootie (GA) Member