Oreo Joe and Bonnie / We said Goodbye today

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Bonnie Soderqvist, Sep 27, 2018.

  1. Bonnie Soderqvist

    Bonnie Soderqvist Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2018
    I can't post what I had says spam.
    I will begin testing several times a day.
    Last time on 8 units was in yellows now pink and red.
     
  2. Bonnie Soderqvist

    Bonnie Soderqvist Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2018
    If I make these shorter it will be 1 word at a post.
    SS is messy sorry. not good at this. 9- 16 and 18 wrong pmps showed up real value in blank to the left.
     
  3. Bonnie Soderqvist

    Bonnie Soderqvist Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2018
    Do I continue to to increase by ½ U every 5th shot? I have been back and forth between being told to raise his insulin to taking it down as I might have missed the right dose. That is why there is so much jumping around.
     
  4. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    At the dose level you're at I'd increase by 0.5 u after 4 or 5 cycles if you don't start to see at least some yellow. The longer he stays high the harder it'll be to get his BG down because of the insulin resistance that builds. The excess glucose in the blood impairs the cells' ability to respond properly to the insulin. It's called "glucose toxicity".
     
  5. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Hi Jean! Can you clarify the PS number on 9/23? Was he really that low? Any idea what might have caused him to be so different that day?
     
  6. Bonnie Soderqvist

    Bonnie Soderqvist Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2018
    Not a clue. Nothing was different the day or night before. He was normal, not sick, going from window to window to check out his domain. That day he was low for the 4 tests he still ate and drank etc. Didn't act sick or shocked at how he must have felt.
    I thought my prayers had been answered. I checked him at +10 now and he is way up 430. His biggest drop was at +3 going from 425 to 326.
    Jean
     
  7. Bonnie Soderqvist

    Bonnie Soderqvist Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2018
    His 4th injection at 8 U would be tonight. He gets the injection at 7:30 pm and I can stay up and test +5 can I give him 8½ at pm dose?
     
  8. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Hi Jean. I think we missed you (sorry...this is the week at work we have all day meetings so I can't be around much). I think you'd be fine to increase to 8.5 now. I see you already shot tonight which is fine...can you monitor some tomorrow? You could do the increase then.
     
  9. Bonnie Soderqvist

    Bonnie Soderqvist Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2018
    Look at those numbers! I believe from the look on my little mans face that thinks he just pulled off a miracle!!! Last pm was PMPS 441 +2 310 +4 202 set alarm +9 250

    I think I read somewhere that I should shoot unless he was below 162 - I will start reading I maybe can find it again. Otherwise I will shoot and check more often this AM.
    :cat:
     
  10. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Yay for yellows! The rule for new cats is that you don't shoot below 200. Felix isn't new to insulin (it looks like he's been diabetic for a while), but given how high his dose is, and his normal PS numbers, if you get anything below about 250, I would either reduce his dose, or make sure you can test him every couple of hours until you're sure he's going to stay in his usual ranges. He's been pretty consistently in the pinks and reds, so anything out of the ordinary will mean extra tests and care.
     
  11. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Yellows!! Woohoo! I agree with Djamila. I'd probably avoid skipping if at all possible, but if you can't be up to test him (which we do get...you have to sleep sometimes!) I'd reduce to be sure he stays safe.
     
  12. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    It's great to see yellow!! :)
     
  13. Bonnie Soderqvist

    Bonnie Soderqvist Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2018
    My little man, Felix the cat, hit yellows during the night and this afternoon. Whooo hooo!
     
  14. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Excellent! I'd keep 8.5 u AM and PM tomorrow and then go to 9 u if you don't see better numbers. Be on the lookout for potential big drops like the recent ones. A +2 test is a good idea, followed by others as needed.
     
    Rachel likes this.
  15. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Great job Felix! Get those yellows!
     
  16. Bonnie Soderqvist

    Bonnie Soderqvist Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2018
    I look like a raccoon, I stay up late to get a glucose and then in my mind I should be getting up around 3 or so to get another. "Then I will go right back to sleep" Well the getting up works but not going back to sleep. 3 hours of sleep isn't doing it. But Felix loves it. He has been laying so he sees if I get up and comes running for a cuddle test and the need for a refreshing bite of food just to jazz up his dish. We stayed pink all night but yellow at +6 today. I think I need a more proactive vet and will start to look around. He would keep us on ProZinc forever.
    :cat::D
     
  17. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Hopefully you can get some rest tonight! Yes, most cats at those high numbers are on Lantus or Levemir (most frequently Lev for high dose). Perhaps another vet would be more likely to help you move to one of those? Even a second opinion can help.
     
  18. Bonnie Soderqvist

    Bonnie Soderqvist Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2018
    Our Doctor really suggested I stop at 8½U and hold for a couple of weeks. BUT I didn't and now wonder what to do. If you can check the spread sheet maybe you can tell me if I should drop back to 8½U or if he is being fluky again. I was shocked to see him pop up in 2 hours. Is this normal? TY
     
  19. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    That is a pretty big food spike since he doesn't usually do that at +2. Sometimes if you get an unexpected test result it's good to do another test and see if it's just an error. Has your doctor seen the numbers you're getting, and still wants you to hold the dose? I do hope you can find someone who will let you switch to Levemir. Felix is getting to a pretty high dose, and Levemir often works better for these kinds of kitties.
     
  20. Bonnie Soderqvist

    Bonnie Soderqvist Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2018
    I have been told about a small animal hospital in a town not so far away. Tomorrow morning I will call at 8 when they open and ask about their treatment and hope I can get an appointment by Thursday. I don't know how to get there plus it is to far to drive. I have a back injury so wait until my husband Kent is home. He does come home Wed and this place even has evening hours so if nothing else maybe Wed pm. He has had me go up and down on this insulin way to many times. Really tired of it all.

    I went to the spread sheet and saw I hadn't put in the other tests. I don't feel good today and ...... I added them. Lucky I have my trusty notebook.
    Will tell you what happens tomorrow with that new place. They advertise that they have specialists for cats. Felix has been so good letting me test him but after days of doing this all the time he is not happy with me. He will come and look at me from a distance and I have to go and get him and then he starts to act like a bobble doll Wish I had found that place first. But it is in another county.
     
  21. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    I hope it works out to get to the new place, and hopefully this vet will be able to help. Good luck tomorrow and please let us know if you can get an appointment.
     
  22. Bonnie Soderqvist

    Bonnie Soderqvist Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2018
    Such good news I called a large Animal Hospital and found out that the one close to us also had diabetic cat specialists. I called them right away and I will be seeing a lady doctor on Thursday Morning. My baby could be on Levemir by Friday, or I suppose new blood work will be done and it will be next week but even so it will be much better. Also as an added bonus the smaller clinic/hospital will be over $50 less. Will help buy the insulin and new syringes I will need. Felix wore me out and I didn't wake at 3 to test but did at 5. He stayed the same all night or so it looks. By morning AMPS he had only gone up a little. He picked my finger good this morning by one fast bobble head and I got me and not him. It made a slice. He just wanted to share the fun. Felix keeps me on my toes and getting more gray hairs by the minute.
     
  23. Bonnie Soderqvist

    Bonnie Soderqvist Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2018
    Such bad news now. The appt from the hospital near us canceled they will take Felix as a patient once he is seen at the big hospital . Very unhappy.
     
  24. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Wow! Did they say why they won't see you after all? That's odd that they agreed and then changed their mind...
     
  25. Bonnie Soderqvist

    Bonnie Soderqvist Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2018
    I think after the vet read his chart, my letter and his blood work she decided she didn't know enough to say she would treat him. The gal that called said that Felix had a lot going on and needed someone more experienced. I asked if after we went to the big one if he could then be treated at their clinic as we just can't handle such long trips and long days. we Also can't afford $150 to walk in the door each time.
    She kept saying I understand but you must to to the other place now. I kept saying I understand and I will go but can we then come back here and she sort of mumbled it depended on what the hospital said. I honestly get the feeling that they are going to say that he is either so bad that they can't help and he will have to be put to sleep. Or that we have to go to them every few weeks. I don't want to go through this long trip. Felix howls the entire time he is the carrier he is panting and shaking by the time he is in the car for 20 minutes. Do I want him so terribly unhappy and after all of the trauma have them put him down? His tummy is huge - his weight is 11.9 pounds He was heavier than that when he first got sick around 14 pounds. Had him down to 9 pounds but now he looks like a pregnant cat. I don't know what to do. The place near us was sure not hopeful.
    The trouble of living so far out in the middle of nowhere, love the quite and wild life and safety living far enough away from shootings and everything. I know I can't say what should I do as if this were you in this mess I wouldn't be able to tell you.
    There won't be any more cats for me and that is so hard. The shelter near us says on their website (and I agree) that if you are elderly you must show them that you are healthy enough to live 20 years if you adopt a young cat. That is mostly what they have. But if we found an old cat we would bring home health problems. We won't do that again. I feel so sorry for Felix and me. Hugs thanks for listening.
     
  26. Bonnie Soderqvist

    Bonnie Soderqvist Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2018
    Since yesterday and phone calls to the few places within an hour drive of us asking if once Felix was seen and diagnosed at the specialist if they would take care of him. Every vet said if Felix was bad enough to need a specialist they weren't equipped to do so, they had no experience in all of the health problems he has and he needed to always be seen by the specialist. This morning I called the hospital. I asked if there were any clinics closer to us that they worked with. Shocked the person said absolutely not. Your cat has lots of problems and he needs a specialist to see him every visit. If you want a diagnosis and how it is suggested we treat him then it is on your own you find a clinic that will take over his care. Well we know that isn't going to happen. I think the vet we are seeing is so incompetent I can't see continuing to see him. He won't go from ProZinc and he doesn't believe in keeping high dose cats alive it isn't good for them. Since no one else will take over a cat needing Specialist care I have decided we need to go somewhere to have him put to sleep. I can't have him bouncing around with his blood sugars and I have no option. We scrounged up enough money for the specialist thinking it would be a 1 trip thing. The initial visit will be over $1000. We are both on small pensions. Trips every 4 to 6 weeks are out of the question. The trauma for Felix of the trip and he refuses to eat or drink when in the car or carrier, not even favorite treats. I will have to give him fluids by the time we get home! The two of us don't travel in the car well with back injuries and arthritis and heart problems etc after something like this all day trip we are sick for days. Last time I had to go to this town for a doctor appointment I was in bed for a week. Hubby was on the sofa. Felix got to stay home and was happy. I only have ½ bottle of insulin left and no prescription for more. I don't want to pay the old vet for refusing to help so will go elsewhere and say goodbye to my precious boy. I am beyond crushed.
     
  27. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Oh Jean, I am so sorry.
     
  28. Bonnie Soderqvist

    Bonnie Soderqvist Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2018
    :bighug:
     
  29. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    I'm so sorry you've been forced into a corner like this. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Bonnie Soderqvist likes this.
  30. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Oh Jean, I'm so sorry. Sending you and Felix so much love as you make this difficult decision.
     
  31. Bonnie Soderqvist

    Bonnie Soderqvist Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2018
    Thank You. After he is gone I will post his supplies. some meds and almost new box of syringes. Feeding syringes too.
     
  32. Bonnie Soderqvist

    Bonnie Soderqvist Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2018
    :bighug::bighug::bighug::(
     
  33. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Do you still have the appt on the 10th? I would keep that and maybe you will get some insulin.
     
  34. Bonnie Soderqvist

    Bonnie Soderqvist Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2018
    It will be checked and if he doesn't go he will be put to sleep against my will. No sense in hiding the dirty work has been done to me. Insulin will be tossed when it comes in the mail. It will never be delivered.
    Treating your own cat is illegal.
     
  35. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Make sure you keep the appt then. If you call any other vet I don't think I would give them so much info until you are in the office.
     
  36. Bonnie Soderqvist

    Bonnie Soderqvist Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2018
    They refuse to see us since I have to tell them why we are coming in. Once they hear he is on insulin and how I know he is diabetic they will not see him without either contacting the vet or getting his chart from me. Either way they get Ellens view.
    I haven't cancelled it but will have to a bit before so they can fill it there is a very long line waiting to see this doctor. I have called every vet clinic in a 1 hours drive and even into 2 hours drive. They learn the treatment is diabetic put them down or let a specialist handle it.
     
  37. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    So if you have the records, they can get them from you. Having previous vets view is something all vets want even here in the States.

    Personally I would exhaust all options before giving up.
     
  38. Bonnie Soderqvist

    Bonnie Soderqvist Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2018
    All of you have been so good to me and I can never thank you enough. The boy is being given his treats as he wants and he has said 20 or so at a time. He wants to finish them before he dies. Even though he got them 2 hours before testing he was high. I can't test all the times I was, I won't have enough test sticks if I do and no one is going to use the data and to buy an entire new bottle of sticks for 1 or 2 days I won't. $150 to put him to sleep. That one shot is darn expensive isn't it. It seems they have set prices for everything. I would think it being a small house pet they had been treating they certainly could just charge for the medicine. This is no cremation that is another bill so he is going to live under the apple tree. Hugs to you all. Thanks for being here. I will be back to talk

    I can't think of another option. We don't have many clinics around there are in big cities but we aren't even close to a big city. There are 4 or 5 in this area going from 20 minutes from home to 1½ hours and the others are farm vets working by going to the farm. I have called every single one of them. The only place that will treat a cat with acromegaly and possible, untreated now for 1½ months, hypothyroid are the special hospitals. One near Stockholm, one near the very bottom of Sweden, almost to Denmark. The other 3 hours from us who require if we come we have to continue treatment by bringing him in every 4 to 6 weeks. As I explained earlier that is totally out of the question both for my boy and for us.
    I of course couldn't just be left alone for a bit anger to prove herself right the authorities were called and I was reported for animal abuse and they are on me now with a final decision that I need to show proof by a vet sending them a paper that he has been put to sleep.
    The only way I could sneak by would be to find another poor feral and take him! I am not going to do that! Just in case I am still being stalked - But she knows he is going to be put down so she is happy. No one will see how she messed up over and over and refused to read what I asked her to until the end when she saw it was bad. She could have used the resources available but instead lied and wanted immediate put to sleep.
    I see no options. I brought out my 4 ft Christmas Tree and it is lit he likes the tree and sits or lays under it.
     
    PussCatPrince - GA likes this.
  39. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    I’m so very sorry you’re going through this. Sending prayers for peace to you and your kitty:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  40. Bonnie Soderqvist

    Bonnie Soderqvist Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2018
    Thank you! I keep waiting for that miracle but...... I hold him a lot and he never stops purring. He likes getting all the raw chicken and his nasty carb treats. Hugs
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  41. Bonnie Soderqvist

    Bonnie Soderqvist Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2018
    We tearfully said goodbye to Oreo Joe today. Somehow I heard Oct 12th but it was today and He had all the raw chicken and treats that he wanted. We held him a lot and we kissed him and told him about Heaven. He stayed dry and didn't cry once on the way to the vet and I held him in my arms and he laid in my arms and then in Roger's arms. He didn't go to sleep until he got a 2nd shot and then he got the overdose and just quietly slept deeper and deeper for about 5 minutes.
    We did our best and gave our all but he just couldn't be taken care of any longer. I rather begged Anika to work with us and I would provide the information and tell her everything I did, every increase in insulin etc. I even told her the treatment plan and she said no she didn't know how to treat him and she couldn't take care of him unless she knew it herself. My Hail Mary failed.
    But he went to Heaven knowing love. Here he is in Heaven. Thank you to all of you wonderful people - I had to change names to hide from that stalker. Hugs to you all and prayers every day for all of you in your fight for the best for your babies. View attachment 39561 View attachment 39561
     
  42. Bonnie Soderqvist

    Bonnie Soderqvist Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2018
    His picture disappeared!
     

    Attached Files:

  43. Squeaky and KT (GA)

    Squeaky and KT (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    HUGS and hugs and hugs and hugs - this whole situation is just so sad. I'm SO SO very sorry. Always remember - he's not 'gone', you just have to hug him differently.

    Soar high on your new angel wings sweet boy....land softly back in your family's broken hearts.

    More hugs...
     
  44. Tuxedo Mom

    Tuxedo Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2014
    Jean ( Bonnie)

    I am SO SO sorry for everything you and Oreo Joe went through. You and Roger gave so much love to Oreo Joe and he returned it to you. Keep close the special memories you shared to give you some peace and strength at this sad time.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2018
  45. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    I have no words. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Bonnie Soderqvist likes this.
  46. Diana&Tom

    Diana&Tom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Words can't express the sadness we all feel... you have tried so very very hard and it has come to this... it doesn't seem fair.
    Oreo Joe is at peace and he will live on for ever in your heart.
    Thinking of you and sending love and hugs at this sad, sad time...
     
    Bonnie Soderqvist likes this.
  47. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    I’m so very sorry you had to let your kitty go. :bighug::rb_icon:cat_wings>o
     
    Bonnie Soderqvist likes this.
  48. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    I’m so very sorry. You went above and beyond and Oreo Joe knows it. Peace to you and Roger:bighug:
    Fly High Oreo Joe. You are loved:rb_icon:
     
    Bonnie Soderqvist likes this.
  49. Becky & Baby Girl GA

    Becky & Baby Girl GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2017
    I am so sorry!He was such a lucky cat to have you both for parents! Oreo fly free - healthy & happy - may you find peace at this time... :rb_icon: :bighug:
     
    Bonnie Soderqvist likes this.
  50. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    I’m so sorry to hear this. You did everything for Oreo Joe...no one could have done more. Fly free sweet Oreo Joe!
     
    Bonnie Soderqvist likes this.
  51. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    I am so very sorry. What a nightmare for you and Roger Peace.
     
    Bonnie Soderqvist likes this.
  52. Carol & Murphy (GA)

    Carol & Murphy (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    Bonnie I'm beyond sick and so terribly sad to read this awful news. What you went through is truly horrible - I so admire you for the lengths you went through for Felix. I am so sorry it ended this way. Thank you for letting us share this journey with you and Felix.
     
    Bonnie Soderqvist likes this.
  53. PussCatPrince - GA

    PussCatPrince - GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2017
    I am beyond gutted for you & am so sorry this was senselessly and needlessly forced to happen. Dreadful.

    You take care of you and please do not be a stranger.

    M
     
    Bonnie Soderqvist likes this.
  54. Bonnie Soderqvist

    Bonnie Soderqvist Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2018
    What a beautiful line. Land softly back in your family's broken hearts. Lovely. Thank you so much for the time you gave to us. Hugs, Bonnie
     
  55. Bonnie Soderqvist

    Bonnie Soderqvist Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2018
    I want to thank all of you for the love, support and letting me be angry. Oreo Joe benefited from all of the advise and it was the fault of the system that let him down. We had it in hand right? !! After I answered a couple of the notes I realized that one thank you would be better. You all have been in my prayers every since my first cat joined here so many years ago. Not by name of course but by asking blessings and miracles for all of the humans and the furchildren.
    I will continue that.
    Hugs, Bonnie
    :bighug: :rb_icon:
     
  56. PussCatPrince - GA

    PussCatPrince - GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2017
    You and Oreo came into my mind this NZ morning so I'm sending you a hug Bonnie.

    @Bonnie Soderqvist
     

Share This Page