Orion is curvin'

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Airway, Feb 26, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Airway

Airway Member

The vet recently suggested increasing Orion to 3.5u. Today we are doing a curve. His +3 seems to be quite a drop from his preshot. Would appreciate any thoughts you have. I'll be updating as the day goes on.

2. JanetNJ

JanetNJ Well-Known Member

that is a steep drop. test again at +4.

3. Airway

Airway Member

His +4 is in. He ate between +3-+4.

Last edited: Feb 26, 2017
  4. Djamila

Djamila Well-Known Member

That does seem like a really steep drop to go from 324 to 56. I'm still learning how this all works: will you test more than every hour since he's so close to being in the hypo range? Or wait until +5 since he ate?

5. Airway

Airway Member

I'm more concerned with his behaviour than his number, and right now he is acting completely normally. Unless that changes, I will test at +6.

Djamila likes this.
  6. Yong & Maury GA

Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

I'm still new as well but thought I might chime in. That's what I was doing with Maury's first record lows a few days ago :cat: But because it was my first time seeing those numbers I did test a couple times before the next hour. His behaviour was really good which is what kept me from going 100% panic mode. Angela definitely has more data on Orion and knows him best :)

Side note: Not sure if I've said anything yet but he is a handsome kitty! Your avatar picture looks like a painting of brush-stroked silky fur!

7. Djamila

Djamila Well-Known Member

Thanks to both of you for taking time to help me understand! I haven't dealt with dropping numbers yet, so I'm trying to learn so I'm prepared if it ever happens. It sounds like it's really a matter of knowing your cat to decide the best course of action - and that will make some time.

And I agree about Orion: such a beautiful kitty!!!

8. Sue and Oliver (GA)

Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member