? Pablo 8/31

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Nicole dorsey, Aug 31, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Nicole dorsey

    Nicole dorsey Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2017
    No insulin last night, didn't eat much. Vet has upped it to 2 u but was throwing up three days on a row in am. Thus morning gave 1-1.25 units and bg at +4 was 90 and +6 191. How many hours do I test before evening insulin to decide if to give? Should I also stop feeding at a certain pony before evening insulin and food? and should I be waking to feed and test? Waiting for vet to call but she's in and out with maternity leave
     
  2. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    We usually test, feed and shoot in 15 minutes. Pick up all food two hours before shot time so the pretest isn't food influenced. That was a good +4 but she may have dropped even lower. I would not shoot 2 units with that test. I'd shoot whatever you shot this morning.
     
    Nicole dorsey likes this.
  3. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    The routine we recommend is test/feed/inject insulin. There should be no food for at least 2 hours before the test so the BG isn't elevated from food. Lantus is slower in onset so he doesn't have to eat a full meal, only be willing to eat. Other than the 2 hour no food rule, he can graze or be fed small meals at various times, whatever he's happiest with.
     
    Nicole dorsey likes this.
  4. Nicole dorsey

    Nicole dorsey Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2017
    his bg is 145-150 before evening shot. Should I even give the insulin? I think he's been getting way too much and I'm certain that's why he was throwing up the previous three morning.
     
  5. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Sorry. I went out. He's working from tge larger depot I think. With so little info I would skip tonight. If you can test about a half hour before you want to shoot in the morning I would and ask for advice. That way if under 200 you can test again plus will give others time to respond. I really think when you do shoot it should be 1.25.
     
    Nicole dorsey likes this.
  6. Nicole dorsey

    Nicole dorsey Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2017
    Thanks so much. When you say he's working from the larger depot what do you mean? I decreased it thus morning from the 2 to 1.25 and tested today and was 90 at 4, 190 then 45-150. I was also thinking I should skip tonight and test before in am
     
  7. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
  8. Nicole dorsey

    Nicole dorsey Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2017
    Thank you!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page