Panic AMPS 121 - Need dosing advice!!

Panic

Member Since 2019
I can stall but I am leaving in a half hour and won't be home until an hour before PMPS so I can't monitor. How much she I give considering?

EDIT: Retest is 129 after 20 min
 
Last edited:
Leaning toward skipping since I don't know what an appropriate token dose would be since I can't monitor.
 
As we tell people, the choice is yours, since you hold the insulin syringe.

Been too long for me to remember what a token dose should be. Maybe tag Sienne?
 
I think I'll skip, much as I want her to get some insulin I'd rather not be stressed at work until sundown wondering how she's doing. Hopefully she'll do this again tomorrow when I can actually be home!
 
We're still fairly new to these blue preshots so we'll figure it out eventually! Thank you for your input Deb.
 
From the SLGS sticky a token dose is 10 to 25% of the regular dose.
How to handle a lower than normal preshot number:

Until you collect enough data to know how your cat will react, we suggest following the guidelines in the FDMB's FAQ Q4.4:
Q4.4. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?A4.4. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines.
  • Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.
  • Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options:
    • a.) give nothing
    • b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose)
    • c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value
  • Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise.
  • In all cases, if you are reducing or eliminating insulin, it's wise to check for ketones in the urine.
  • Above the normal pre-shot value, give the usual dose, but if the pre-shot value is consistently elevated, it's a good idea to schedule a full glucose curve to see whether a change in dose or insulin is appropriate. In most cases, the target "peak" value should not be below 100 mg/dl (5.6 mmol/L), and for some cats it might be higher.
Keep in mind these are general guidelines, and they should be personalized to your own cat's response to insulin. If your experience is that your cat does not became hypoglycemic with a dose which is close to her usual, then personal experience should be your guide.
 
Please do not put updated test numbers in your initial post. It gets lost. You need to update your spreadsheet and, for the sake of those who may be reading but don't open the spreadsheet, in a subsequent post. If people are following your thread, once you read what's there, the thread automatically opens to the point where you stopped reading. That means anything additional in the first post is not seen. The 129 should be on your SS in the AMPS box at +0.3. (See Gabby's spreadsheet to view how numbers are stacked.)
 
I didn't find the result relevant enough to add to the title as it was essentially unchanged and only 20 minutes of stalling. That edit was also made prior to anyone posting else I would have made a new post.
 
Last edited:
When you have a moment, could you please add today's date to your title? We have a format that we all like to use because it's helpful for all to see which date, which cat, what AMPS - then your question about dosing advice.

1/19 Panic AMPS 121 - Need dosing advice!

Thanks so much!
 
Back
Top