Pearl 1/4 YIKES! PMPS 153 2.5u +2 155 +4 135

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Karen & Pearl, Jan 4, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Karen & Pearl

    Karen & Pearl Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Well, she ate some. Probably a normalish amount though it took some coaxing. I'll test again in a few minutes. I'm having a difficult time deciding if she is not eating enough. Honestly, I think I generally over feed Pearl, so she just may be eating a more normal amount, though that is unusual for her. I've been picking up Sugar's food immediately so there is no dish to go over to and eat more. I know, I'm not a very good FD mom. I should have been more vigilant about that. I guess we will see what we will see. I've shot her normal amount on a 210 and her nadirs have really come no where near a danger zone, so, I'm thinking whatever we get here in a minute will be ok. I still can't figure out teeth vs itch. If I rub along her mouth she is fine with it, but the moment you get near her chin ( the little point right under the lips) or neck/throat, she is obviously bothered and when she licks her lips it bugs her. I'm going to weigh her and give it a couple of days before I call for an appointment. I wish it weren't so darned COLD out. Well, just kind of rambling on waiting to take another test.

    (yesterday's condo)

    viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1049
     
  2. Heather and Jasper

    Heather and Jasper Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/4 +11.5 198!!!!!!!!!

    Nice blue!

    I'm sure she will be fine with her regular dose, you've shot a 160 back on 12/25. Any chance of spot checks today?
     
  3. Karen & Pearl

    Karen & Pearl Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/4 +11.5 198!!!!!!!!! AMPS 253 3u

    AMPS 253


    OK, so she ate enough food and the insulin pooped out apparently. I probably waited about 15 minutes too long. Mebbe I am worrying too much? SHe just acts a weee bit off. I will mention too, sometimes her balance seems a bit off. Just barely for fleeting instances. *sigh* I'll shut up now. I sound like a hypochondriac mom.
     
  4. carolynandlatte

    carolynandlatte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/4 +11.5 198!!!!!!!!! AMPS 253 3u

    One thing that has really helped me with this is to get a baby scale. The hard part is not to get obsessive over weighing/numbers. Weigh her 1-2x week when she is eating 'normall'y, at the same time of the day. This should give you a good idea after a few weeks what she needs. When you really think she is not eating enough, weigh a few more times/week to see if there is a downward trend after about 7-10 days.
     
  5. Karen & Pearl

    Karen & Pearl Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/4 +11.5 198!!!!!!!!! AMPS 253 3u


    Yeah, we have one under the bed. I'll dig it out today.

    I forgot to mention, I will get a +5.5 or so at lunch.
     
  6. Pat+Raja+Shadow (GA)

    Pat+Raja+Shadow (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/4 +11.5 198!!!!!!!!! AMPS 253 3u

    Morning Karen...maybe you could amend your first post to show Pearl's name....
    You are a good Mama...now stop it... :mrgreen:
    I ended up buying a digital scale for myself...lucky you to have a baby one....when I have to get on the scael first, it is always rather depressing to me...but, I will think about that another day... :roll:
    Let us know the updates when you get them...hope you and Pearl have a great day!
     
  7. Roni and Moonie

    Roni and Moonie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/4 +11.5 198!!!!!!!!! AMPS 253 3u

    Great amps today!! This could go somewhere--Hope you can do spot checks--If not, leave out food so in case she drops, she can eat..
    I dont believe in taking food away, diabetics need it..You can however, cut down at some point..
    You did really great on community, spoke eloquently & with finesse about the current fdmb situation!
    I'm thinking Pearl has a dental( Moonie moved her mouth & jaw ina a strange way before dental), chin, & allergy problem combined--My civvie has inhalant allergies(no candles for us) so I know how you feel--

    All in all you are doing great, attending to what needs attention!
     
  8. Karen & Pearl

    Karen & Pearl Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/4 +11.5 198!!!!!!!!! AMPS 253 3u

    I hate when I forget that!
     
  9. Pat+Raja+Shadow (GA)

    Pat+Raja+Shadow (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/4 +11.5 198!!!!!!!!! AMPS 253 3u

    Well, we can't think of EVERYTHING all of the time, right? :lol:
     
  10. Karen & Pearl

    Karen & Pearl Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Pearl 1/4 +11.5 198!!!!!!!!! AMPS 253 3u +5 232

    She is chasing Sugar even though her itches are bothering her. That"s good anyway.
     
  11. Ronnie & Luna

    Ronnie & Luna Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Pearl 1/4 +11.5 198!!!!!!!!! AMPS 253 3u +5 232

    I read about the allergy issue you're having. I went thru similar thing with Luna. And only after DX. Never had any allergy issues before that.
    Pearl's does sound much more complex than Luna's, thou.

    His was first with the beef and fish flavours of fancy feast, then the FF chicken, turkey, liver, then Wellness fish flavours... he would get all itchy/scratchy/twitchy/wacky after eating.
    Luna did thou always have a fetish for plastic, but again, only after DX did it start to become an obvious allergen. He use to lick plastic bags, like shopping bags. Again, itchy/scratchy reactions after...then I really began to rule out everything around the house, the cleaners I was using, replaced with vinegar/hot water for the floors, the detergents, replaced with earth friendly ones...so that was changed, still the same..he had developed a "pimple" thing just under his chin around month 2 after DX, one day it really flared up ..I did some digging in the old board and came across a post about PYREX and Corelle dishes...I replaced his food dish and food storage container with PYREX dishware and stainless steel measuring spoons for dishing out the food.

    Within a day, it began to clear, within a couple of weeks the chin thing was gone, now about a month later, no more itchy/scratchy/chin things.

    So my point is, narrow it down, as I learn from the "suggestions" I got in the old board.

    I noticed Cassandra mentioned start with the food, especially the fancy feast - I agree on that - did you know that even the chicken and turkey flavours contain fish? I had to stop all FF for Luna. We went with EVO for a while, only for lower carb reasons, then Wellness chicken/turkey only.

    I know it can be frustrating ruling each and everything out, it takes some time, if you don't see changes, your best bet would be to consult with a specialist.
    And don't be so hard on yourself - you ARE a very caring mummy to Pearl. ((HUGS))
     
  12. Karen & Pearl

    Karen & Pearl Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Pearl 1/4 +11.5 198!!!!!!!!! AMPS 253 3u +5 232

    Well, I've done most of that, pretty much everything I can do environmentally, because of her asthma. We are doing all Wellness chicken and turkey (one day only). I really think I am going to try a half a tablet (5 mg) of zyrtec. I'm just desparate to get her some relief. I'm going to put a call in to my vet and see if I can't conference with one of them. See if they can look it up in VIN as I know there is a discussion out there on it. I know that for me, with itchy skin, no other antihistimine works as well. Saw an article on Dr. Doolitler that really crowed about it's use in her feline patients. I just hate her being so miserable.
     
  13. Karen & Pearl

    Karen & Pearl Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
  14. Steph & Cuddles (GA)

    Steph & Cuddles (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Pearl 1/4 +11.5 198!!!!!!!!! AMPS 253 3u +5 232

    Let us know what the vet says! I'm interested too at knowing what may give Pearl relief. Has the vet checked her since this ichiness has gone on? Can you look in her mouth? Like in the back of her throat? Just to make sure it's not all red & inflamed? I know it's not normal for a cat to get stomatitis at a later age, but it happened to Bandit at 8 yrs old, and that's what bothered her. She'd scratch at her neck & chin.. because her gums were so inflamed, and it traveled down into her throat. Just wondering if your vet has ruled anything like that out first.

    I'd also ask about the food thing. Not sure if just one day will do anything, as it takes awhile for the irritants to get out of their system I believe. I thought if you were taking something out of the diet (or doing a bland food, and adding 1 thing at a time back in) - then you had to do it for 7-10 days or something like that. So I wouldn't be changing the foods you try with her every other day or anything like that. May not be enough time to see a difference..

    You can also start her with one of the low allergen foods (yes, she'll most likely have a higher BG tho :cry:) - then add certain foods back to her diet, and see what she reacts to. I'd see what your vet recommends though, about how to go about that. I know there's a process of eliminating allergens, then adding one back at a time to see what causes the reaction. Don't know about timeframes or anything like that though.
     
  15. Karen & Pearl

    Karen & Pearl Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Pearl 1/4 +11.5 198!!!!!!!!! AMPS 253 3u +5 232

    I can't seem to look in her mouth. however, that article does say that some cats even find relief from stomatitis with zyrtec. Probably those experience allergy to their own plaque (like my boy Grant had). The last time they looked, my vet said, while they didn't look great, it didn't look like it hould be causing any truoble. That was probably the last year or so. We'll see. Just have to keepdoing trial by error.
     
  16. Cassandra and Sasha

    Cassandra and Sasha Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Pearl 1/4 +11.5 198!!!!!!!!! AMPS 253 3u +5 232

    Shouldn't necessarily elevate BGs - there are many low carb options available. The usual time frame is at least 8 weeks for a food trial, although some cats many not see a response until 12 weeks or longer.

    Here are some of the websites I found helpful when looking into a novel protein elimination diet:

    http://www.littlebigcat.com/index.php?a ... giesincats
    http://www.sniksnak.com/cathealth/allergies.html
    http://www.merckvetmanual.com/mvm/index ... /70400.htm
    http://www.veterinarypartner.com/Content.plx?P=A&A=652
     
  17. Jamy & Indy

    Jamy & Indy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Re: Pearl 1/4 +11.5 198!!!!!!!!! AMPS 253 3u +5 232

    I can't really offer much advice, but was compelled to offer some support. Karen, don't beat yourself up so much. You are doing a good job. The best we can do for our babies is be observant, ask questions when we see something change in their behavior and do whatever we can to help them fell better and have a better quality of life.

    My Indy has just developed what I "think" are food allergies. Unfortunately, it appears that he was allergic to the ONLY food that my civie would even consider eating. (The civie is very stubborn and will starve before she eats something else.) Add to that, my civie won't eat on command and won't eat if she thinks it is someone else's idea. My point here is that it is a royal pain in the butt to have to remember to pick up the dish of "toxic food" so that Indy wouldn't get into it. Every time that I forgot and he got into it I felt like a failure and the worst mom in the world.

    As someone else said, "If only they could talk...." Life would be so much easier! :roll: But since we don't live in a cartoon world, we just plug along and do the best that we can for our babies. Hang in there. You are doing a great job and are asking all the right questions to get relief for Pearl. You WILL find an answer.
     
  18. Karen & Pearl

    Karen & Pearl Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Pearl 1/4 YIKES! PMPS 153...... same dose?

    PMPS 153


    Hoadly Dean! What do I do with that? (I bet you guys would shoot a regular dose, eh?)

    Vet said go ahead and try zyrtec though she hasn't seen it make a difference when she tried it a few years ago. Suggested blood test for what kind of allergies. I've read that isn't that dependable but she says they've had great success.

    Wanted to mention, I've been meticulous about getting kibble pieces up. Itching seems a tad better and obviously numbers. ( I really didn't pick up the few pieces Sugar dropped around. I know. I know.... do not lecture :roll: :) )
     
  19. Karen & Pearl

    Karen & Pearl Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Pearl 1/4 YIKES! PMPS 153...... same dose?

    Test 25 minutes later and still 155. OK. Apparently everyone is freaked out about giving any advice now. I've been reading the protocol and really can't decide where she fits. I guess I'll drop .5u, shoot 2.5u and see what happens. I probably should have been brave and done the whole duck, but lacking support feel chicken.
     
  20. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Pearl 1/4 YIKES! PMPS 153...... same dose?

    sorry, not freaked out, just now coming on for the evening. I'll look at your SS right now (if you haven't shot yet).
     
  21. Karen & Pearl

    Karen & Pearl Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Pearl 1/4 YIKES! PMPS 153...... same dose?

    I shot 2.5u. Like I said. I'm a chicken. I guess we'll see what happens!
     
  22. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Pearl 1/4 YIKES! PMPS 153...... same dose?

    ok, back. :smile:

    if it were lucy, then yes I would shoot the full dose. Then I would get a +1 and +2 to see where she is taking it. You have shot at 178 before and she surfed, and you shot at 160 recently. She is surfing, not dropping, and since you're home, it's a good chance to collect data to help in the future (just like you did when you shot the 178).

    When you shoot a full dose at a lower than usual number, a few scenarios could happen. One, she could just keep on surfing (this is ideal, and leads to those beautiful flat Lantus/Lev curves we love). Two, she could head off to Rebound City and just keep going up (and in this case, the insulin can hopefully get into her in time to maybe cut some of that rise off at the pass). Three, she could drop. If she drops, you know what to do - test frequently and feed the curve as necessary. If she drops low enough, she can earn a dose reduction. Otherwise, maybe it will all turn into a beautiful green surf.

    Of course it is all up to you, but the way we eventually get to those flat Lantus/Lev curves is by teaching ourselves to shoot a little lower. When you shoot your lowest preshot, then always get a +1 and +2 so you can see which of the above options she is choosing, so you can respond accordingly. If you're home and available to test, and equipped with low carb and high carb food, then you know you are in control of the numbers.

    So anyway, that is what I would do with my kitty. :smile: Your mileage may vary. :lol:

    eta: I saw that you shot 2.5, but since I already typed all this I'm leaving it! lol. It's still a good opportunity to collect some data, so please get some early cycle spot checks (+1 and +2) if you can.
     
  23. Karen & Pearl

    Karen & Pearl Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Pearl 1/4 YIKES! PMPS 153...... same dose?

    Well, I could add another .5u couldn't I? It hasn't been too long. Or will that mess everything up?
     
  24. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Pearl 1/4 YIKES! PMPS 153...... same dose?

    I wouldn't, it could make the cycle confusing. Besides, we can still get good information from this cycle. We usually find that because of the shed, the cycle of a dose reduction can still carry some residual "action" from the cycle before. The 3.0 dose from this morning is still affecting this cycle somewhat, so we'll still be able to see whether she was about to head up, or head down, or surf. Plus it's comfortable for you, which is important too.
     
  25. Karen & Pearl

    Karen & Pearl Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Pearl 1/4 YIKES! PMPS 153...... same dose?

    So far she is holding. 155. Poor thing is acting miserable again though :cry: I fed her a dose of zyrtec. Not holding out a lot of hope though there. I couldn't be lucky enough for that to be the "key" to her itchies. Sometimes she feels quite good despite it though. She chased Sugar a bit last night and again at lunch today. She is eating pretty well though. Maybe I think about things too much.
     
  26. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Pearl 1/4 YIKES! PMPS 153...... same dose?

    cats are so incredibly resilient, I'm sure you feel worse than she does.

    Numbers are good, if you have to be stuck then 155 is a pretty darn good place to be stuck.
     
  27. Karen & Pearl

    Karen & Pearl Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Well, pretty stable. I may be able to get a test later. I usually get up later in the night.
     
  28. Cassandra and Sasha

    Cassandra and Sasha Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    That's some lovely blue paddleboating! :smile:

    Hey now....don't sell the med short just yet. ;-) I never thought I would find the right one either, but I did. Keeping fingers crossed for you and Pearl.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page