Phoebe's DKA Rebound

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by EricH., Sep 1, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    PMPS 510
    Administered 2.0u at 4:10pm central standard time.
     
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2016
  2. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Not surprising after the skipped shot. No worries- you'll get her back on track, Eric.
     
    EricH. likes this.
  3. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +2 377
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  4. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Yep, we knew it would be high. I think 2 units was fine for a shot. That's not a bad drop at all for +2.
     
    EricH. likes this.
  5. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    What do you recommend for tomorrow morning if l have a shootable number? Would you go 2.0u?
     
  6. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    I'd probably give 2 if over 200. What's your no shoot number? Can you monitor tomorrow?
     
  7. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +4 187
     
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2016
    Sharon14 likes this.
  8. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    I'll be out of the house at 7:00a.m.
     
  9. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Hmmmm considering how much she's dropping I might give a lower dose then.
     
  10. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Nice drop @+4! What time do you plan to shoot in the AM?
     
  11. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    91 @ +8.5
     
  12. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    4:10a.m. but the way she's going l think l can go back too 5:30a.m.
     
  13. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    82 @ AMPS
     
  14. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Too low again?!
     
    EricH. likes this.
  15. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    116 @ +1
     
  16. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Yes. It's crazy how all of a sudden 2.0u have become too much for her. Is this normal? I've read that with the YA diet sometimes cats can get off insulin. I'm going to scale her back too 1.75u when l can shoot her again.
     
  17. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    She has definitely earned a reduction. We'll see where she is this evening, but you'll give less than 2u. Will you be around over the weekend for testing? This is good Eric, she's really responding. We just have to find the right dose.
     
  18. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Yes I'll be off till Tuesday. She's doing great. All bushy tailed (more like racoon tail hahaha) this morning playing with her toy mice sprinting back and forth through the house.
     
    TempestsMum likes this.
  19. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Great that she's feeling so good. Remember where she was the last 3day weekend!
     
  20. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Oh believe me l thought about that Sharon before you ever mentioned that. I don't want her to regress back too that. That was the ultimate nightmare.
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  21. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    PMPS 435
    Shot at 1.75u
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  22. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    A better number than last night! Hope this dose does the job.
     
    EricH. likes this.
  23. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Yes. I got her a dose of 1.75u once l got home and hopefully Sharon in the a.m. I'll be able too shoot again.
     
  24. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Hopefully so!
     
  25. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    How is she enjoying the young again? It's made a HUGE difference for us. As a matter of fact I didn't even give my cat a shot today.

    What does FCAF stand for in your signature?
     
    EricH. likes this.
  26. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Great @JanetNJ ! Hope the low numbers continue!!!
     
    JanetNJ likes this.
  27. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +4 325
    Not the greatest number but I've scaled her back too 1.75u also....might take her a few days to adjust.
     
  28. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    100 pt drop isn't too bad and she'll probably go down a bit more. Did you get that ketone test?
     
    EricH. likes this.
  29. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Hello Janet. Phoebe and Bobo love YA. I had them both on Petcurean before l made the swith. And before the Petcurean Phoebe was on the Purina diabetic food which was higher in carbs than YA and Petcurean if that makes any since? FCAF stands for Free-Choice Abundance Feeding. And that's the way Young Again recommend you use there product. You can check it out on there website and they'll tell you the detsils and what type of bowls too use. Actually it's a pie dish.
     
  30. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Yes and she's negative. Thank god! Sharon have you ever had an issue when one day there were no ketones and then the next bang! Ketones were back?
     
  31. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Fortunately my cat has never had ketones. They say that once a cat has them, they are more prone to it. That is why you should test Phoebe often. Right now, with the dose decreases, I would test daily. The sooner you catch them, the easier is the treatment.
     
    EricH. likes this.
  32. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Thanks Sharon! I will! She's not the easiest too test. But l do it. No choice.
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  33. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    182 @ AMPS
     
  34. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    A nice PS. What time did you shoot?
     
  35. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    530am
     
  36. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    188 @ +1.85
     
  37. Carol & Murphy (GA)

    Carol & Murphy (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    You around to watch her closely today, Eric? With that low pre shot, she will need some monitoring
    You are so lucky your cats will eat the Young Again, as I said before, I wish Murphy would go back to eating it
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  38. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    It looks like the trend is down, which is great. The YA may be affecting the numbers and bringing her levels generally down.. Your dose today should give you an idea of how much for that 180 range. I would definitely monitor. 1.75 brought the 435 pmps down 300 points. You don't have that kind of room today.

    We could set up a sliding scale for you if you want, based on her spreadsheet - giving you some general guidelines about what to shoot when you see a particular range.
     
    EricH. and Sharon14 like this.
  39. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    200 @ +6.5
     
  40. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    I had to help a friend on his house and I'll be in and out today. But she's doing great.
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  41. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    That sliding schedule would probably be pretty helpful. But l don't want to inconvenience anyone.
     
  42. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    308 @ +10
     
  43. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    311 @ PMPS
     
  44. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    65 @ +4
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  45. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Big drop. A little snack and retest?
     
    EricH. and Sharon14 like this.
  46. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Yes.
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  47. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    43 @ +4.5
    I've been giving Phoebe her favorite treats. Now l just added honey too them and will retest in 15 minutes.
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  48. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Good. Hope she starts up.
     
    EricH. likes this.
  49. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Yes. I as well. These low numbers she's been putting up lately are kind of scary to me. But she's happy and herself. Is this normal?
     
  50. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    46 @ +4.75
     
    TempestsMum likes this.
  51. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Coming up - good. Three rising tests.
     
  52. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Well this is a first since Phoebe's pre-dka days. She's actually eating some chicken feast classics from fancy feast at this moment!
     
  53. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    I'm going to let Phoebe finish eating her first wet food since July 1st and test once she goes too her comfort spot.
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  54. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Looks like she gets a reduction. :D Hurray for wet food!
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  55. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    60 @ +5.5
     
  56. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Good. She may be higher tomorrow bouncing from the low, but I'd still reduce - maybe 1.5. If she'll eat wet food, even less.
     
    EricH. likes this.
  57. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    I'll go with 1.5 tomorrow and hopefully she'll take wet food tomorrow. She's laying next to me on the couch purring up a storm! So I'm super happy that she's happy! :) I was getting worried a little with those low numbers and it's probably been going on the past few days when l was at work.
     
    TempestsMum and Sharon14 like this.
  58. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    63 @ +6
    Goodnight Sharon and Sue! Thanks for everything tonight!
     
  59. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    226 @ AMPS
    Administered 1.50u of Prozinc.
     
  60. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Glad she came up for you last night, and you could shoot this AM. Hope this dose is a good one. It's exciting that she's responding so well!
     
    EricH. likes this.
  61. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Sharon it's exciting to say the least! Phoebe and her holiday weekends! :) I just pray she keeps trending in the right direction! This is gonna give me gray hairs!
     
    TempestsMum and Sharon14 like this.
  62. Carol & Murphy (GA)

    Carol & Murphy (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    Hi Eric - you are doing such a great job - so what I learned with Prozinc is that their insulin requirements are less with a lower preshot than with a higher. If she is at 400 (except if it is a bounce) she will probably need a little more insulin than if she is at 200. When she is at those lower preshots, I'd think about cutting back. I'm glad you only gave her 1.5 - let's see what she does but her numbers might be wonky because she is probably going to be bouncing
     
    EricH. and Sharon14 like this.
  63. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    98 @ +3
     
  64. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    I agree Carol. After getting her 1st reading after her preshot 3 hours ago I wish I would of gave her 1 unit.
     
  65. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    I agree Carol. After getting her 1st reading after her preshot 3 hours ago I wish I would of gave her 1 unit.
     
  66. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Agreed. I assumed (and you know about assuming) she would be high after last night. Steer with food again - hope it just takes regular low carb. Hopefully she has reached the point where they start going down - whether because of finally getting their body to use the insulin efficiently or because of the food change, or a combination of both. Scary but encouraging. Glad it is the weekend.

    Any sliding scale we would try won't work until and if she stabilizes.
     
  67. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Wow! That was quite a preshot number after those low numbers last night.
     
  68. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    60 @ +5
    She's doing great! Playing with my friends shoe laces hahaha!
     
  69. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    104 @ +6

    Without a food curve and just watching Phoebe be Phoebe! ❤❤❤
     
    TempestsMum and Sharon14 like this.
  70. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    So that turned out to be an okay dose. Good to know.
     
  71. Carol & Murphy (GA)

    Carol & Murphy (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
  72. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    325 @ +14
    Had a family emergency to tend too.
    :(
     
  73. Carol & Murphy (GA)

    Carol & Murphy (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    Oh no, Eric I hope everything is okay
    good luck with Phoebe - I hope you have a calm night with her
     
    EricH. likes this.
  74. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Hope everything is ok. Don't forget in the AM that you shot later tonight, so adjust your time.
     
    EricH. and Sue and Oliver (GA) like this.
  75. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Sorry to hear that Eric. Hope it all turned out okay!
     
    EricH. likes this.
  76. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    183 @ AMPS
     
  77. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    276 @ +2
     
  78. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Thanks for the well wishes. Little nephew took a bad fall on his bike and broke his collar bone. But he'll be ok!
     
  79. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Ouch! Glad he's ok!
     
    EricH. likes this.
  80. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    232 @ +4
     
  81. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    293 @ +10
     
  82. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    418 @ PMPS
     
  83. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    280 @ +2
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  84. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Nice drop after that high PMPS! Hope she continues downward-but not too far down Phoebe!:cat:
     
  85. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    355 @ AMPS
     
  86. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    432 @ +1.5
    Not liking this number as l leave for work.:(
     
  87. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    No, neither do I. At least you don't have to worry about a hypo. When you get home be sure to get that ketone test and we'll see where she is at PMPS, maybe she needs a bit more juice.
     
  88. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    311 @ +10
     
  89. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    282 @ PMPS
     
  90. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Glad she came down some!
     
  91. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    That was a nice decline today. It looks like 1 unit isn't enough for a pink pre shot. Do you have a sliding scale that Sue worked out for you?
     
  92. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Nope. Sue said "Any sliding scale we would try won't work until and if she stabilizes."
     
    Bobbie And Bubba likes this.
  93. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    That makes sense. Glad she came down for you.
     
  94. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    209 @ +2.5
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  95. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Bobbie l have more good news. Phoebe started eating wet food again on Saturday.
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  96. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    362 @ +5.5

    Maybe l shouldn't of lowered her to 1u? Her numbers were great before.
     
  97. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Do you know the carb value of the wet food she's eating? It may be higher than the YA. That and the lowered dose came at the same time, so one or the other or combination of the two.
     
  98. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    482 @ AMPS
    Upping Phoebe too 1.25u
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  99. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Good morning Sharon! It's Fancy Feast chicken feast classic.
     
  100. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    That should be fine then. Hope the increased dose gets her back down.
     
  101. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    237 @ +7.5
     
  102. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    PMPS 333
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page