Phoebe's Rebound pt.14

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by EricH., Apr 4, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    323 @ AMPS
     
  2. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Ok Phoebe, new thread so let's get some pretty blues and greens!
    Eric, on your next day off try to get some mid cycle numbers.
     
    EricH. likes this.
  3. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    288 @ PMPS
     
  4. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    537 @ AMPS
     
  5. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    318 @ AMPS
     
  6. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    20170405_203022.jpg Phoebe reaaaaly thinks she can put a spell on me for more treats! She doesn't realize that her wand is a broken ice fishing pole! Hahaha!
     
  7. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    When will you be able to get some new mid cycle readings, Eric? :cat:
    Aren't we all wrapped around their paws :rolleyes:
     
    EricH. likes this.
  8. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    This weekend for sure! As for wands Phoebe doesn't need one to work her magic on me! Look at her! How could you say no to that face! Hahaha!
     
  9. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    She is a cutie!!!!!
     
    EricH. likes this.
  10. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    239 @ AMPS
     
    Yong & Maury GA likes this.
  11. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    I couldn't say no!!! How adorable!
     
    EricH. likes this.
  12. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Yeah Rachel she's a real charmer!!!
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  13. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    468 @ PMPS
     
  14. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    266 @ +4.5
     
  15. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    228 @ AMPS
     
  16. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
  17. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    :cool:!!!
     
    EricH. likes this.
  18. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    346 @ PMPS
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  19. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    187 @ AMPS
     
    Rachel and Sharon14 like this.
  20. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Wow, Phoebe showing off :woot:
     
    EricH. likes this.
  21. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    :eek::D!!
     
    EricH. likes this.
  22. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    127 @ +7.5
     
  23. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    473 @ PMPS
     
    Rachel likes this.
  24. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Quite a jump!
     
  25. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Would had guests. Hours of playing.
     
  26. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    465 @ AMPS
     
  27. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Playing is good!
     
    EricH. likes this.
  28. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    214 @ +3.5
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  29. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    20170408_162718.jpg Phoebe enjoying the sunshine yesterday!
     
  30. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Aww I love that zen look on her face!
     
    EricH. likes this.
  31. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    20170408_155223.jpg I told Phoebe that St. Patrick's Day was over and she gave me this look... I was like ok, ok you can wear the hat! ☘
     
  32. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    That's right Phoebe, think green:D
     
    EricH. likes this.
  33. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    130 @ +6.25
     
  34. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    409 @ PMPS
     
  35. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    177 @ AMPS
     
    Kris & Teasel, Rachel and Sharon14 like this.
  36. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
  37. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
  38. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    She and Colin (in his avatar) could be bookends!
     
    Yong & Maury GA and EricH. like this.
  39. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    EricH. likes this.
  40. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Hahaha! You're right!!! They both got the paw cross down!!!
     
  41. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    She's my Queen and I'm her servant!
     
  42. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    259 @ PMPS
     
  43. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    254 @ +3
     
    Yong & Maury GA likes this.
  44. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    368 @ AMPS
     
  45. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    476 @ PMPS
     
    Rachel likes this.
  46. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    450 @ AMPS
     
  47. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
  48. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    211 @ +4.5
     
    Yong & Maury GA likes this.
  49. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    187 @ AMPS
     
  50. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    581 @ PMPS
     
  51. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Phoebe is getting some trampoline time ;)
     
    EricH. likes this.
  52. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Phoebe likes the trampoline!
     
    EricH. likes this.
  53. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
  54. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
  55. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Much better than last night!
     
    EricH. likes this.
  56. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Now that's a nice PMPS!
     
    EricH. likes this.
  57. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Go Phoebe! :bighug: And of course, Eric ;)
     
    EricH. likes this.
  58. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    27 @ +6.75
     
  59. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Awww....thank you Yong and Maury!!!
    ❤❤❤❤❤
     
  60. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    27?! Is that a typo?
     
  61. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    @EricH. I see you've been at this FD dance a while now...
    Are you giving honey or syrup after the 27 reading? That's a dangerously low number. Did you retest to see if it was accurate?
     
  62. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
  63. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    475 @ PMPS
     
  64. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Eric was that a 27?! If so maybe she's been doing that and that would explain the high PS's. She needs a reduced dose.
     
    Djamila and EricH. like this.
  65. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    473 @ AMPS
     
  66. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    261 @ +3.75
     
  67. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    I'm not a fan of the rodeo. Excuse me for being concerned.
    I think Sharon14 is right.
    Good luck.
     
    Djamila likes this.
  68. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Eric, I'm a little concerned about shooting 2.5u this morning after that lime green last night. As Sharon said, I think Phoebe needs a reduced dose. Right now it looks like you're dosing kind of like Vetsulin with a broad sliding scale. Prozinc is an in-and-out insulin, so there is some flexibility on dosing, but the protocol recommends a more consistent approach to the dose with only small changes that are closely monitored. The 473 this morning was a bounce number, not a "real" 473. I wonder if Phoebe wouldn't get some more consistent numbers with a lower and more consistent dose?

    This is an excerpt from the protocol:
    Changing the dose will depend on both the pre shot levels and the nadir (lowest point of the cycle, usually 5-7 hours after the shot.)

    When adjusting the dose, it is wise to check with your vet and with forum members for guidance. In general, the following guidelines can be used. Be cognizant of the over riding principle for ProZinc/PZI : Every Cat is Different (ECID)

    If the cat is in the 250+ range at pre shot and does not drop 50% or more for nadir, a small adjustment could be considered, if monitoring is possible. A small adjustment is likely to be 0.25 units per shot.

    If the cat is in the 250+ range(or higher) at pre shot and drops below 50% at nadir, bouncing is a possibility.

    Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, releases glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". (Adapted from the Lantus sticky by Jill)

    If bouncing is suspected, any increases in dose should be tiny and monitored carefully.

    Doses are best held at least 3 cycles, unless the nadir is too low. In that case, it should be adjusted down. NOTE: A cycle is 12 hours. So, when we say 3 cycles, we mean (3) 12 hour cycles.
     
    EricH., Sharon14 and Yong & Maury GA like this.
  69. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Oh my! Eric did you test again when you got that 27? Or use any honey?
     
  70. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Eric, can you update us crazy ladies on Phoebe? And your thoughts on what Sharon said? That 27 is a dangerous low. Djamila took some time to write you that post as well. :)
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  71. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    172 @ +6
    Phoebe is doing great! Currently can't fully respond in depth with a long drawn out answer as I'm tending to family issues at the moment. As for Phoebe's low number yesterday I believe it was an anomaly.
     
  72. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Also if people would read my posts and those that have followed Phoebe and I will realize that I curb Phoebe's numbers when they're low. I find it insulting to me and those that have helped me from the start too assume that I'm just not going to do anything too help her!!! I can read Phoebe extremely well from her actions, meows, and purrs.
     
  73. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Hope everything is ok Eric. No one here meant to insult you. We know you know what to do when Phoebe is too low, we just worry about her like she was our own, and are thinking maybe she needs a little less insulin. Glad she's ok.
     
    EricH. likes this.
  74. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Eric, this is a community of wise and caring people who help each other out. In asking what happened, no one was insulting you or insinuating that you don't know what you're doing. We are just invested in each other and care about what happens.
     
    Rachel, Sharon14 and Kris & Teasel like this.
  75. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    We did not intend to put more stress on you while dealing with family issues. Hope everyone is OK :bighug:. I don't think anyone doubts your ability to handle the situation if Phoebe really goes low. As a newer member, I am just always curious to see what others do :):bookworm:. It's how I learn and try to help even newer members :D.
     
    Rachel, Sharon14 and EricH. like this.
  76. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    I just want to apologize if I came across rude. It was not my intentions. I do my best to respond too every posting on here. Sometimes it's difficult when I'm at work or when I'm not worrying how I'm gonna keep a roof over Phoebe's and my head. Things are extremely rough at the moment for us. Never thought being 45 and trying to find a job with pay comparable to the one I was let go from last June would be so difficult? I'm working currently but it's a 1/4 of what I was once earning. And as all of you know caring for a diabetic animal isn't cheap. That being said Phoebe always comes first. Her needs are always taken care of no matter what. She's my girl. I only want the best for her. Sometimes I'm hard on myself when I feel I'm not doing enough.
     
  77. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Thanks Yong. I curve Phoebe's low number with a teaspoon of fancy feast gravy and a few treats always works!
     
    Yong & Maury GA likes this.
  78. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    I feel like quoting myself fits here...

    This is where your SS notes would come in handy. I looked at your whole SS even from 2016 and didn't see any 20s. From first glance with not searching through almost a years worth of posts we can't tell how or when you address lime greens or quick drops.
    My comments were made from 100% genuine concern not to insult you or suggest you don't know what you're doing. I recently used the link I shared with you when Chuck hit 43. I needed it. My brain didn't function well once I saw that lime green. It was only shared for quick access if you needed it.
    That said... 27 is a nasty number and I still agree maybe a dose reduction is the best idea.
    :)
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  79. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Awesome! I'm sure a lot of us understand the financial struggle! I've been caring for Maury while unemployed :blackeye:. I'm truly thankful for being able to get his supplies and everything else I have, including credit cards :p. First pay cheques I start getting go there! lol :bighug:Sending hugs!:bighug:
     
  80. StephG

    StephG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    My dad is currently struggling with trying to find a 9-5 job that pays close to what his trucking job pays. It seems impossible. But at 60 he's hurting from the job.
    I'm sorry you have the added stresses of all that.
     
  81. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    I'm very sorry that you 're having such a hard time , Eric. We can see that you do everything you can to look after Phoebe really well.
     
  82. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    280. @ PMPS
     
  83. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Eric, please know that I was not trying to insult you or imply that you wouldn't do everything necessary to take care of Phoebe. I was just very worried and when I didn't see other readings on your SS, I panicked a bit. Trust me, I understand the financial stress...we've just had both ACs in the house go out, plus one car is now in the shop with a cracked radiator...been a rough few days and thats following the last few years of not enough money. It makes things a lot harder.

    I hope you find something VERY soon and that Phoebe continues to do well (as I'm sure she will).
     
    EricH. and Yong & Maury GA like this.
  84. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    246 @ +2
     
    Yong & Maury GA likes this.
  85. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    I'm sorry Rachel I was a little emotional earlier. But hey we're all part of the same cat loving family! I wasn't mad you or anyone on here. Just myself. I'm sorry. I'm sorry that you're having some hardships as well. I pray things get better for you and your family soon! Both ACs and a radiator thats rough. Hopefully it's not to hot their. I had a radiator go out on my old car a few years back and found it more economical to purchase an aftermarket and install it myself. That's if you have the garage, time, and space.
     
    Rachel likes this.
  86. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Thank you Djamila I find this most helpful! I'll definitely start referencing this moving forward.
     
    Yong & Maury GA likes this.
  87. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    169 @ +7
     
    Yong & Maury GA and Sharon14 like this.
  88. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    306 @ AMPS
     
    Yong & Maury GA and Sharon14 like this.
  89. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Happy Easter Eric and Phoebe!
     
    EricH. likes this.
  90. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    All kitties would like the Bunny (alive) instead of candies or eggs :p
     
    EricH. likes this.
  91. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015

    Unfortunately it wouldn't be alive long here....
     
    EricH. and Yong & Maury GA like this.
  92. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Horrible but true ... :nailbiting:
     
    EricH. and Yong & Maury GA like this.
  93. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Happy Easter Sharon and Colin!
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  94. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Happy Easter everyone from Phoebe and I! Phoebe is currently staring down the chipmunks!
     
  95. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Phoebe didn't like this little Easter egg I rescued from the highway this morning! 20170416_104420.jpg
     
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2017
  96. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    139 @ +7
     
    Yong & Maury GA and Sharon14 like this.
  97. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    I don't think my cats would like that either!!!!
     
    EricH. likes this.
  98. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Cute turtle, though! :)
     
    EricH. likes this.
  99. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    386 @ PMPS
     
  100. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page