Phoebe's Rebound pt.3

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by EricH., Sep 22, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    236 @ PMPS
    1.50u
     
  2. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    179 @ +2.5
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  3. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    404 @ AMPS
     
  4. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Hi Eric, looks like Phoebe is bouncing around for you. Maybe she dipped into some lower blues last night and thus the ugly red start. Hope she slides down for you. Would it be possible for you to get a 12 hour curve this weekend?
     
    EricH. and Sharon14 like this.
  5. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Ugh, red! Bobbie has a good suggestion if you can get that curve this weekend.
     
    EricH. likes this.
  6. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    265 @ PMPS
     
  7. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    301 @ AMPS
     
  8. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    This weekend will be tough too get the curve. Working.
     
  9. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    95 @ +7.25
    We have green!
     
    Rachel, Kris & Teasel and Sharon14 like this.
  10. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    326 @ +12.5. PMPS
     
  11. Carol & Murphy (GA)

    Carol & Murphy (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    glad you saw green today - nice dip - hopefully her preshots will start coming down some
     
    Sharon14 and EricH. like this.
  12. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    224 @ +2
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  13. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    384 @ AMPS
     
  14. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Come on Phoebe, down!
     
    EricH. likes this.
  15. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    She will. She seems like she always does. Now Bobo's not acting like his normal self. I need too get him into the vet this week. :(
     
  16. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    What's wrong with Bobo?
     
    EricH. likes this.
  17. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Oh no, what's going on with Bobo?
     
    EricH. likes this.
  18. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    290 @ PMPS
     
  19. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Bobo hasn't had much of an appetite, runny eyes, and rather weak. He's been laying in his cat bed as well as on my bed. He usually eats a whole can of food. As of the last 5 days he hasn't. He licks his food and nibbles here and there. He drinks water and he has been using the litter box. I checked him out and he has no tender spots on his body or his mouth, teeth, and gums. I'm not sure if old age decided too show up recently? He's 14. I'm gonna take him to the vet this week but l wanted too see if he'd come around. His blood glucose was fine but thankfully he's not diabetic. He's purring and responsive too pets and affection. Any advice? Kitty cold?
     
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2016
  20. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Hmmm could be a cold. If he can't smell the food he won't be interested as much. Try heating it to make it stinky.
     
    EricH. likes this.
  21. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Thanks for the advice Rachel! He's been a tank his whole life. Never ever getting sick! I hope it's just a cold.
     
  22. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Hopefully! I'd try a few different things for eating...sprinkle treats on the food, heat it to make it smelly for him, fortiflora, maybe a bit of tuna or sardines or something...if he won't eat, I'd probably visit the vet.

    It does really sound like a cold to me (though I don't have a ton of experience with this). It doesn't sound like he's in pain or anything...the purring and being responsive is good. :) Keep us posted!
     
    EricH. likes this.
  23. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    I will thank you. I tried tuna for dinner before l posted about him. He licked and nibbled a little. Than l gave him some chicken & chicken broth baby food. He actually ate a little more and was slightly interested. I'll try heating up his food. Ive never tried that before but I've never had him feeling like this. Thanks again!
     
  24. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Sorry Bobo's not feeling well. Do try heating the food a bit and stir it up good to release the aroma.
     
    EricH. likes this.
  25. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    98 @ +3
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  26. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    70 @ +4
     
  27. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    65 @ +5
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  28. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Wow! Nice numbers!
     
    EricH. likes this.
  29. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Very nice!
     
    EricH. likes this.
  30. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    394 @ AMPS
     
  31. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Did you get any more tests last night after the +5?
     
  32. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    No that was it.
     
  33. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    367 @ PMPS
     
  34. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    216 @ +2
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  35. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    270 @ AMPS
     
  36. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    How's Bobo?
     
  37. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    My beautiful boy Bobo has been taken from me. My heart truly hurts.
    March 31, 2002 - September 27, 2016
    20160923_123851.jpg
     
  38. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Oh Eric I'm so very sorry. Rest in Peace sweet Bobo:rb_icon:
     
    EricH. likes this.
  39. Alexi

    Alexi Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2016
    Eric I am so sorry for the loss of your beautiful boy :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    EricH. likes this.
  40. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Oh no, Eric. I am so sorry.
     
    EricH. likes this.
  41. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    I'm so sorry for your loss, Eric.
     
    EricH. likes this.
  42. AJHJ

    AJHJ Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2016
    I am so sorry to hear of your loss. My heart breaks for you.
     
    EricH. likes this.
  43. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Thank you all for the condolences. This is honestly hard for me to comprehend at the moment? Bobo has been in my life since his first breath of air and now too his last. He's always been healthy and never ill. That's why l was shocked beyond words when l found out he had terminal liver cancer. He showed no signs of illness nor pain. What l thought last week was just Bobo experiencing a stomach bug was much worse. I didn't want too let him go today but I didn't want him too ever suffer. 14 years doesn't seem long enough to me? I feel cheated that Bobo is gone. I feel he should still be here. I'm crushed .
     
  44. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    You made the very best decision in not letting him suffer. This is the ultimate kindness we can show our beloved pets. I've been there many times and I know how hard it was for you.
     
    EricH. likes this.
  45. AJHJ

    AJHJ Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2016
    He was so lucky to have you--who clearly loved him so much--throughout his entire life. I've never had a pet from the moment they enter this world, but know how hard it is on the last. It is one of the bravest, loving, courageous, and hard things we do for our pets--protecting them from pain and suffering, even though it means we suffer as a result. You did the right thing but of course you know that.
     
    EricH. likes this.
  46. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Thank you Kris.
     
  47. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Thank you :(
     
  48. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    259 @ PMPS
     
  49. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Eric, from the day we 'met' I knew you were a great cat dad. It's been obvious throughout this journey how much you love Phoebe and Bobo. It's the hardest thing when we have to let them go, but you did the unselfish thing and set Bobo free from his pain.:bighug:
     
    EricH. likes this.
  50. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    OH Eric, I am just seeing this now about Bobo, and I am so very sorry. What a shock it must have been. That is every kittie parent night mare. Sending you lots of hugs during this very sad time. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    EricH. likes this.
  51. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Thanks again everyone for the kind words and having Bobo, Phoebe, and me in your thoughts. I'm truly touched by all your kindness. I miss him beyond words.
    cat_wings>o
     
  52. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    133 @ +2
     
  53. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    93 @ AMPS
    Holding shot
     
  54. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Wow Phoebe!:D Wonder how low she went last night?!
    How are you this AM, Eric? The first morning is always so hard...:(
     
    EricH. likes this.
  55. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Phoebe has given you a very nice number!
     
    EricH. likes this.
  56. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    171 @ +1
    1u administered
     
  57. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Thank you Sharon yeah hit me pretty hard again this morning I can't bring myself to pick up Bobo's food bowl.
     
  58. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    That's the thing that gets me when I lose one, that empty food bowl...:(
     
    EricH. likes this.
  59. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Leave it there as long as you need, Eric. I get it.
     
    EricH. likes this.
  60. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    His is full of young again. :(
     
  61. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    I'm so sorry Eric. We know the pain you are feeling. You did the best you could and since it was his time, you unselfishly helped him over the bridge. That's true love.
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  62. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    PMPS 507
     
  63. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Thank you Rachel.
     
  64. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    299 @ +2
     
  65. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Wow 200 point drop in 2 hours!
     
    EricH. likes this.
  66. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    367 @ AMPS
     
  67. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Looking at Phoebe's spreadsheet,Eric, I wonder if it's time to change the dose around a smidge. It looks to me like 2 units is okay for 350+ but maybe a bit too much for the -250. It took 2 cycles for the lows to show up, although the first shot of 2 on 270 on 9/27 could have had a lower nadir. Any way you can avoid the bounce into the blacks helps.

    We think the renal threshold (the range at which the pancreas can heal) is -250 so any time she spends in that range is great.

    I hope you are adjusting to your new household, remembering the funny things Bobo did and how much he enjoyed living with you, and the wonderful, fun, love filled life you gave him. Is Phoebe missing him?
     
    EricH. likes this.
  68. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Thanks Sue I'm at work reading this. Can l message you when l get home to discuss in more detail? As for Phoebe and I we're adjusting to Bobo not around. There's been times I've seen her looking for him. Tuesday night after Bobo had passed. Phoebe ran full speed through the house upstairs and downstairs at full speed. She's never done the whole house like that. She does that too call Bobo out and get him to tackle her followed by wrestling, kisses, and licks. I'm hurting for her. :(
     
  69. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Thank you so much for helping Phoebe and l. I know we need it. I hope she can't feel my sadness. I'm doing my best to be upbeat. As for my units what do you recommend for 250 and below?
     
  70. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Maybe try 1.5?
     
  71. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    319 @ PMPS
     
  72. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    246 @ +2
     
  73. AbyResq

    AbyResq Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016
    I haven't been around lately. I just checked your thread and wanted to say I'm sorry about Bobo. You're a wonderful caregiver. Your cats are lucky you're their dad.
     
    EricH. likes this.
  74. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    125 @ +3.25
     
  75. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Thank you Aby. That's nice of you to say! I feel I'm the lucky one for they have found me! I just wish their time here on earth was longer.
     
  76. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    351 @ AMPS
     
  77. Carol & Murphy (GA)

    Carol & Murphy (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    Eric - I am just reading this thread and was just shocked when I came to the post about losing Bobo. Fourteen is so young. I am very sorry - that is not at all what I was expecting. Very very sorry for your loss - how is Phoebe coping with losing him?
    You are doing such a great job with little Phoebe
    again, my condolences, Eric
     
    EricH. likes this.
  78. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Thank you Carol for the nice words. Just got home with Bobo's ashes and it's saddens me to know that's all that's left of my beautiful friend. Phoebe's being Phoebe she's good. But I think she knows he's not coming back.
     
  79. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +9 @ 325
     
  80. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    386 @ PMPS
    5:30pm
     
  81. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    252 @ +2.5
     
  82. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    276 @ AMPS
     
  83. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    156 @ +4.5
     
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2016
  84. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    187 @ +8
     
  85. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    397 @ PMPS
     
  86. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    265 @ +3
    Just wanted to let everyone know that Phoebe and l are doing well. Thanks for the nice words.
     
    Alexi, Sharon14 and Kris & Teasel like this.
  87. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    165 @ AMPS
    Holding shot for an hour. I'll be gone most of the day.
     
  88. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    211 @ +1
    1u
     
  89. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Nice amps! The last few cycles have been nice blues and yellows, Eric. She really is a cat who takes awhile to react to a dose change, but eventually she drops. All this time spent below the renal threshold of 250 has to be good for her pancreas.
     
    EricH. likes this.
  90. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Thank you Sue! You're right!
     
  91. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    315 @ PMPS
     
  92. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    120 @ +2.75
     
    Sharon14 and Sue and Oliver (GA) like this.
  93. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    399 @ AMPS
     
    Rachel likes this.
  94. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Having that lower blue so early in the cycle, I bet she saw green last night.
     
    EricH. and Rachel like this.
  95. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    I'm certain she did. :)
     
  96. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    239 @ +4.5
     
  97. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    186 @ +6
     
  98. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    358 @ PMPS
     
  99. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    256 @ AMPS
     
    Kris & Teasel and AJHJ like this.
  100. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Your careful approach with Miss Phoebe is getting you somewhere, Eric.
     
    EricH. likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page