Pita's Dosing Party: 4

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Caitlin M, Jun 22, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    I believe the idea is that when their pancreas is mostly working and they're getting close to OTJ, then the pancreas pumps out natural insulin after they eat. So if you feed them a little before shot time, then the natural process brings the BG down a bit and gives you a better PS. It only works close to the end though since before that the pancreas isn't making much on its own.

    It seems to be working in the afternoons when he tends to run lower anyway, but I set an alarm and fed him at 1:45 this morning and ended up with a totally normal AMPS and probably should have given him a shot. I was being stubborn though because I had woken up in the middle of the night and was a little sleep deprived. ;)
     
    Yong & Maury GA likes this.
  2. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Giving a snack closer to nadir is the right thing to do earlier in the process. But the "rules" change when you get closer to the end.
     
    Yong & Maury GA likes this.
  3. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    I think it's a trick they learned in Lantus land but we've brought it over here :smuggrin:
     
    Kris & Teasel and Djamila like this.
  4. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Yep, one of the signs of OTJ we've always seen is that they go down after eating...so the little snack at +9 is probably a very good thing once they're close! :)
     
  5. Caitlin M

    Caitlin M Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
    Thanks everyone!! We'll keep our fingers crossed for whatever it is we're talking about ;):p
     
    Yong & Maury GA likes this.
  6. Caitlin M

    Caitlin M Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
    Slightly higher PMPS at 117. He was also in the catio, so who knows what he was doing! Going to stick with the .1 units again.
     
    Djamila likes this.
  7. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Don't mind us, Pita! We're not talking about anything here :rolleyes::p
     
    Caitlin M likes this.
  8. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    I read once that sitting in the sun can raise their BG. So maybe you can blame it on that?
     
    Caitlin M and Yong & Maury GA like this.
  9. Caitlin M

    Caitlin M Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
    He has also become more adventurous outside lately because he climbed up on something pretty high that he never has before. It was earlier in the day but I had to get him down. So who knows!
     
  10. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Sounds like he's feeling good! That 0.1 looked good this morning. Hopefully it will do just as well tonight.
     
    Caitlin M likes this.
  11. Caitlin M

    Caitlin M Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
    157 AMPS. This could be very wrong, but given that his +5 was 60 last night, I just have a feeling this is a bounce, so I NS this am. Could be wrong, but worse comes to worse, I just shoot tonight!
     
  12. Caitlin M

    Caitlin M Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
    Ok, I officially left for the day. His feeder will open at +9 and I did a +3.5 and he was at 77. So it's up to Pita now!
     
    Yong & Maury GA likes this.
  13. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    At +3.5 he was down to 77? Nice job, Pita! (and good job, Caitlin, opting for the NS!)
     
    Caitlin M likes this.
  14. Caitlin M

    Caitlin M Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
    78 PMPS, no shot tonight :)
     
    Djamila, Yong & Maury GA and Rachel like this.
  15. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    That's right, Pita, keep it up!
     
    Caitlin M likes this.
  16. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Go Pita, Go Pita, Go Pita! :bighug::cat:
     
    Caitlin M likes this.
  17. Caitlin M

    Caitlin M Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
    You are all so awesome. It puts a smile on my face every time you all cheer and support us om and it calms my nerves when I need help with any issues. Thank you thank you all :kiss:
     
    Yong & Maury GA and Rachel like this.
  18. Caitlin M

    Caitlin M Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
    99 AMPS. No shot this am. Will test throughout the day!
     
    Yong & Maury GA, Djamila and Rachel like this.
  19. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Wow! Look at Pita go! :D
     
  20. Caitlin M

    Caitlin M Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
  21. Caitlin M

    Caitlin M Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
    Just quietly putting this here..... (((96 PMPS)))....okay bye!
     
  22. Caitlin M

    Caitlin M Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
    Today was a 116 AMPS. No shoot. +6 was 66.
     
  23. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
  24. Caitlin M

    Caitlin M Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
    +9 was 74. PMPS was just 93. No shoot. :: Big sigh ::
     
    Rachel likes this.
  25. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
  26. Caitlin M

    Caitlin M Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
    Anti-jinx. But the countdown has started....
    :cat::eek::nailbiting::)
     
  27. Caitlin M

    Caitlin M Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
    Shame on me. I forgot to leave a midday snack. PMPS was 158. I no shot, just to see where he lands for the am. Will dose tomorrow if necessary. :: Bonking my forehead::
     
  28. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Pita's been doing a good job of bringing the numbers down on his own mid-cycle, so hopefully he'll get back on track before bed tonight!
     
    Yong & Maury GA, Rachel and Caitlin M like this.
  29. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    He'll get back on track I'm sure!
     
  30. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Come on, Pita! He's still come down a little on his own! :cat:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page