Pita's Dosing Party: 5

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Caitlin M, Jul 9, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    We'll say 95 - 105, don't shoot?
    ME NEITHER! :D It's like someone at the factory wound it up before it shipped! I'm going to have to break down and just use it soon o_O
     
    Rachel likes this.
  2. Caitlin M

    Caitlin M Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
    Thank you Djamila! I was reading through posts and saw you had suggested that last weekend I believe. I'm with you. I think I may be brave tomorrow or Sunday and just give the .2 (hopefully on a higher PS) and test from there. He's been fairly consistent even with the NS and .1 but I am curious as to what would happen with .2 again. Fingers crossed everyone! And thank you for always erring on the side of caution regardless. It's a good reminder :)
     
    Rachel likes this.
  3. Caitlin M

    Caitlin M Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
    Happy Saturday! AMPS was 146 and I gave .2 units. +3 was 66, +6 was 74 and +9 was just 75. So far so good!
     
    Rachel, Yong & Maury GA and Djamila like this.
  4. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Yeah! It went okay! (I was :nailbiting: about that!)
     
  5. Caitlin M

    Caitlin M Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
    Lol I was too, but I hope what you predicted, will happen! He didn't seem to dip any lower than he has before and hopefully we'll get a nice/NS PMPS!
     
    Yong & Maury GA likes this.
  6. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    VERY nice!!!!
     
  7. Caitlin M

    Caitlin M Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
    146 PMPS. So, the 140's seem to be his happy place lately. I'm thinking I should stay at .2 units as long as it's 140 or above. Anything lower than 140 might stay a NS. Thoughts?!
     
    Yong & Maury GA likes this.
  8. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    If he gives you a lower pre-shot tomorrow, you might consider shooting on it (if you'll be home) and see what happens. A non-diabetic cat is usually between 50-80 most of the time, with only occasional numbers up to 120. So Pita is doing great mid-cycle, but he's still popping up to numbers that are too high at the end of each cycle. Giving him a little insulin support might help get him over this stuck place and into those lower numbers. (see previous post for all of the caveats and warnings that go along with this, of course o_O)
     
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2017
    Yong & Maury GA and Caitlin M like this.
  9. Caitlin M

    Caitlin M Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
    Do you think I should stick with the .2? Or go with .1 under a certain PS?
     
  10. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    I'm super opposed to sliding scale dosing on the way up the dosing scale since i think it often leads to under dosing, but on the way down the dosing scale, I think it's helpful. So I guess I would say maybe 135+ give 0.2, 120-135 give 0.1, and NS under 120. But that's completely a guess since we don't have recent data to show the impact of that. And also, use your mama sense. If that doesn't feel right, trust your instincts.
     
    Caitlin M likes this.
  11. Caitlin M

    Caitlin M Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
    Thank you for the input!
     
  12. Caitlin M

    Caitlin M Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
    161 AMPS. Gonna do .2 and monitor throughout day again.
     
    Rachel and Yong & Maury GA like this.
  13. Caitlin M

    Caitlin M Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
    We all fell back asleep and woke up just a bit ago! +6 was just 85. I'm going to assume he probably went lower before then but so far so good!
     
    Yong & Maury GA likes this.
  14. Caitlin M

    Caitlin M Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
    82 @ +9
     
    Yong & Maury GA likes this.
  15. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    That's a nice long run in the greens.

    You know, just in case it was helpful to have someone post something completely obvious. :rolleyes:;)
     
  16. Caitlin M

    Caitlin M Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
    Hahaha it always helps :p I'm interested to see his PMPS!
     
    Djamila likes this.
  17. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Instead of considering it as obvious info, look at it as an admiration society...pretty greens! :)
     
  18. Caitlin M

    Caitlin M Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
    Haha! Well we got a 93 PMPS. So NS!
     
    Djamila, Rachel and Yong & Maury GA like this.
  19. Caitlin M

    Caitlin M Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
    169 AMPS, gave .2 - 106 PMPS, NS
     
    Yong & Maury GA and Rachel like this.
  20. Caitlin M

    Caitlin M Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
    179 AMPS. Gave .2 units.
    I'm reluctant to do this during the week because of work/sleep- but I'm wondering if .1 might help give him a lower AMPS, even if his PMPS is a bit low as well. Basically, he's getting higher for his AMPS and I know for whatever reason, he tends to go higher at night. I'd want to wake up multiple times to test, but maybe if he has a lower PMPS this weekend I will shoot .1 and see how it goes. Hope that all made sense. I currently have a kids show blaring in my ears. :rolleyes:
     
  21. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    I can understand hesitating to shoot on those lower numbers. I did it a few times and it's :nailbiting:. But you're probably right that the lack of insulin at night is what's causing those high AMPS numbers. Sam drops fast enough that I could get a before bed test and sleep soundly. Looking at the 7/22 AM cycle, it kind of looks like you could get a +3 on Pita and have a pretty good idea where he's at for the evening. I think it's worth a try over the weekend if you can to see if it's safe for Pita.
     
  22. Caitlin M

    Caitlin M Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
    77 PMPS. My experiment won't happen tonight!
     
    Yong & Maury GA, Djamila and Rachel like this.
  23. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Still a nice number though!
     
    Djamila and Caitlin M like this.
  24. Caitlin M

    Caitlin M Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
    116 AMPS, 73 @ +2. No insulin since yesterday morning, so I'll see where he is tonight!
     
    Yong & Maury GA likes this.
  25. Caitlin M

    Caitlin M Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
    96 PMPS, another NS
     
  26. Caitlin M

    Caitlin M Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
    I'll make a new thread next week. Just wanted to update. Pita's been doing great! No shoot for three days in a row, both AM and PM and still hitting some nice low numbers. That's all. Wooo weekend :)
     
  27. Wesley and Spicoli

    Wesley and Spicoli Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2017
    Looks like you guys have been doing awesome!!! I'm so jealous of your spreadsheet :)
     
  28. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Keep going, little pancreas! You've got this!
     
    Caitlin M likes this.
  29. Caitlin M

    Caitlin M Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
    Lol don't be jealous! And thank you :joyful: I didn't realize we joined around the same time! Hello!
     
  30. Wesley and Spicoli

    Wesley and Spicoli Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2017
    Yep just a few days apart. And hello:)
     
  31. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Woohoo!!!!!!
     
  32. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    *quietly whispering* yay Pita! :woot:
     
    Caitlin M likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page