Please,have a look we have switched from Caninsulin to Lantus

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Oksana, Feb 12, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Oksana

    Oksana Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2016
    We've switched Roma from Caninsulin to Lantus on 07/02/2017.I inject him twice a day 6 AM and 6PM 0.75U.He takes his bigger meal at 6AM and 6PM,smaller meal at 10AM,2PM and 10PM.From 7/02/17 till 9/02/17 his sugar was not to high(compare to previous numbers on Caninsulin),then on 10/02 after 6PM shot something has gone wrong at 0.00 hours his sugar has dropped to 3.5,then at 10AM jumped to 28.5.
    Would be appreciate to know your opinion.Thank you. :bookworm:
     
  2. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Hi there,
    looking at the ss it looks to me that Roma is quite bouncy.
    What I mean by that is that when Roma sees a number that is lower than her body is used to, or she has a fast drop in her BG (or both), it ultimately results in her liver 'panicking' and dumping a load of glucose into her system, resulting in the blood sugar levels being raised.
    There's not much you can do about the bouncing, often as kitty starts to spend more time in good numbers (blue/green) you will see them bounce less, they won't bounce so high, and their bounces won't last so long.

    Bouncing can last up to 6 cycles, but for some cats it can be shorter.
    From the new to the group sticky

    • Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
    So I don't think there is anything wrong at the moment, the bounce will clear, and you want to see if she will make it back to green when she clears. How do you know a bounce is clearing, I would say if you see a yellow number either at when you get your midcycle test or at amps, it would indicate the bounce might be clearing and you would want to follow up, possibly with a test an hour later, as it seems that she likes to gather speed when she clears and drops fast. If it's a midcycle test and she has dropped fast from amps sometimes a small snack (if it's not her mealtime) can help slow the drop, and this can, in some cats help control the bouncing.

    The big difference with Lantus versus the non depot insulins is that the dosing decisions are more based on how low that dose is getting Kitty, which is why the midcycle tests (anytime between +1 and +12) are so important, though we still look at the amps/pmps numbers to make sure kitty is high enough to safely give insulin.



    Just a question, have you read the two stickies on TR and SLGS, these are the two dosing methods we use on the site, advice given would be tailored depending on which of the methods you prefer to follow.
     
    Oksana likes this.
  3. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    In addition to what Gil posted, it also looks like Roma may need more insulin but you will need to decide on whether you are following Tight Regulation or SLGS.(Given the recent drop below 90, with SLGS, this signals a dose reduction whereas with TR, you don't reduce unless the numbers are below 50.) With either of the methods for dosing that we use, the longest a dose is held is one week. If the dose of insulin isn't bringing numbers into a desirable range, then the dose is increased by 0.25u. The reason for making these adjustments is that if the dose isn't getting the numbers into a better range, your cat's body begins to treat those high numbers as "normal." It gets more challenging to get the numbers down. This phenomenon is called glucose toxicity. Even with Roma's nadir (lowest point in the cycle) dropping into the high 100s, you still have room to increase the dose.

    Lantus is not as "potent" of an insulin as Caninsulin. What this means is that it doesn't grab on to the numbers and aggressively bring them down. Rather, it's typically more gentle but it works best if the numbers are not that high at pre-shot. In fact, the preferred Lantus "curve" is flat -- this is another one of the things that differs from Caninsulin.

     
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2017
  4. Oksana

    Oksana Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2016
    Thank you very much for the explanation!:bighug:The SLGS looks more suitable to us.I'll continue to inject him with 0.75U till 13/02 it will be 7th day and then will increase a dose by 0.25.Will keep you updated.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page