Please read! amps 188

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Kya’s Mom 1983, Jan 9, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kya’s Mom 1983

    Kya’s Mom 1983 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2018
    I’m technically at the 10 hour test mark with Kya but it’s also her amps. 188. She got 1.5 last night. My question is i have to leave for work in an hour. Should I skip the shot this morning or just give low dose. It will inevitably rise I know that. She is eating now.
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2019
  2. Kya’s Mom 1983

    Kya’s Mom 1983 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2018
    I made the decision to give her .75 this morning at 450am based on that number and previous numbers on her spreadsheet. I also left small snacks in times feeder for +2 hours and +4 hours. This cat.... she must have gone into the dark greens during the night or the 1.5 dose last night is the correct dose. Throwing me for a loop. I didn’t want her going without anything all day. I hate my schedule sometimes.
     
  3. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Good call! You're doing well and figuring out her patterns. Thank heavens for that spreadsheet! :smuggrin:
     
  4. Kya’s Mom 1983

    Kya’s Mom 1983 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2018
    Thank you. I have seen it’s worse to not give a dose at all. Does high preshot numbers mean I should be concerned with ketones? I did do a ketone urine text the other day and it was negative
     
  5. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    No, a high PS is not a big problem ketone wise. It's being in high BGs constantly that increases the risk. It usually involves something else to tip them over the edge - vomiting, infection, etc.
     
  6. Kya’s Mom 1983

    Kya’s Mom 1983 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2018
    Noticing today more water bowl visits and more wet spot in the litter box this evening when I cleaned it out. About 5 or 6 spots. Its been 1 or 2 a day for awhile now since she was put on 2 doses a day Is this attributed to the higher numbers?
     
  7. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Yes, the will usually drink and pee more until they become better regulated.
     
  8. Kya’s Mom 1983

    Kya’s Mom 1983 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2018
    Ok thank you. I really thought .75 was the right dose but she threw me a curve ball. I hope I can get it back to good numbers soon. Still trying 1.25 except for this morning. Just trying to be extra cautious and watch for any changes. The 2 days she had to be in the hospital was not fun.
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page