Plz do a look over mister chart...is he bouncing?

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Mister's Owner, Aug 18, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mister's Owner

    Mister's Owner Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2015
    I haven't been able to give insulin the past 2 nights because he was only 119bg at pmps

    Today he was 256 at amps I gave 1.0u on prozinc
    At +6 only 51 ?
    I freaked out and gave half a 5.5oz can of high carb food and at
    +7 he is now 143bg.

    Am I stupid to freak out ? He dropped over 200 in 6hrs.
    Also I have u-40 syringes so guessing below .50 Is hard
     
  2. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    51 is time to pay attention, and especially the first time you see it, scary. Next time, you might try a little regular food and retest to see if that will being him up. If not, then a teaspoonful of the gravy off a higher carb food. Dropping 50% midcycle is a good thing; dropping 50% in 2 hours would make us more nervous.

    He will probably be high tonight. I would consider one unit minus a drop or two (because he earned a reduction)and checking for a before bed test. If you can't monitor, you could give 0.5 but it could be too little. Either way you will learn something about what dose will work next.

    Scary but really good news!
     
    Mister's Owner likes this.
  3. Mister's Owner

    Mister's Owner Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2015
    Thank you !
    I just wish he wasnt all over the place because im trying to train my 19yr old daughter how to take care of mister because im scheduled for a full hysterectomy and fixing of a bladder and bowel prolapse on sept 22nd. and she isnt focusing because she has a 16month old son and he keeps her running.
    anyways any advice on quick notes for the fridge.
    Im guessing im going to have to tell her to never give insulin if he isnt 200bg because she has no clue and im worried to death. :(
     
  4. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    By then he may much more stable. He really is looking good.
     
    Mister's Owner likes this.
  5. Mister's Owner

    Mister's Owner Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2015
    So I'm trying to decide if I should skip insulin again?
    Were at +12 and he is only 161bg even though he had half a can of friskies shreds turkey and cheese earlier to bring him up...so he should be high
     
  6. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I think I would wait the two hours (so the effect of food is gone). By then, I'd guess he will be high enough to shoot.
     
  7. Mister's Owner

    Mister's Owner Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2015
    It's been 6 hrs already
     
  8. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I thought the number was +12. Is it 18 hours since the am shot?
     
  9. Mister's Owner

    Mister's Owner Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2015
    Oh no ...I was saying at +6 he was 51bg and I gave high carb food than.
    Tested at +7 he was 143bg
    Its now the +12 and he still is only 161bg
    That's not even only a 18 bg gain in 6hrs
     
  10. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Sorry. Now I get it. That is a slow rise, especially with high carb food.

    So have you fed him tonight?
     
  11. Mister's Owner

    Mister's Owner Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2015
    I'm just now feeding wellness chicken wet food ...guess skipping insulin because it just doesn't feel safe
     
  12. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I think that's fine. Tomorrow he is likely to be high because he will have been 24 hours since a shot but I'd reduce. Maybe 0.5? (Assuming he is over 200)
     
  13. Mister's Owner

    Mister's Owner Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2015
    Thanks ...I'm just so confused lately.
    He was hitting 300bg s at amps and I started giving small meals at 2Am which is +6 after pmps.
    So if he has mini meals at +6 after amps and +6 after pmps "2Am"
    He is lower in the am.
    So instead of 300s were getting 160bg-190bg lately.
    Logically more food and lower numbers means he is getting to much insulin right?
    I thought about just trying to stick with .75u
     
  14. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    That sounds good.

    Lower numbers - too low to shoot and/or nadirs under 50 - generally mean too high a dose.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page