? duplicate: see "Dosing Help"

Status
Not open for further replies.
Pat, when are you due to shoot? In about 15 minutes? Here are the instructions for SLGS low pre-shot numbers. This applies to the test you take right before injection. I imagine Tut will still be below 150, so you wouldn't inject following SLGS.

"Q4.4. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?
A4.4. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines.
  • Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.
  • Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options: a.) give nothing; b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose); c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value.
  • Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise.
  • In all cases, if you are reducing or eliminating insulin, it's wise to check for ketones in the urine.
  • Above the normal pre-shot value, give the usual dose, but if the pre-shot value is consistently elevated, it's a good idea to schedule a full glucose curve to see whether a change in dose or insulin is appropriate. In most cases, the target "peak" value should not be below 100 mg/dl (5.6 mmol/L), and for some cats it might be higher."
 
To get more eyes on this, you might also change your title to include that you are seeking dosing help. So "12/11 Tut PMPS +9 63 Dosing help please".
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top