PMPS in Blue should I dose?

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Hales + Comet, Mar 22, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hales + Comet

    Hales + Comet Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2019
    We just started monitoring BG daily and Comet's BG was 169 and he hasn't eaten as much food as normal because it's not the kind he likes but it's all we have right now. He is slowly working his way through it though. I don't know if I should give him his insulin (1U Lantus) because we had to skip last night due to an emergency (not with Comet) and I'm worried about doing that two days in a row.
     
  2. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    I can't access your spreadsheet. Did you press the share button?
     
  3. Hales + Comet

    Hales + Comet Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2019
    I apologize I updated it so it should work but like I said we only started checking today so it may not be very helpful
     
  4. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Ok I can see it now thanks.
    Did you do any testing during the am cycle today?
    It is not a good idea to keep skipping the doses?
    Are you able to test frequently tonight if you give the insulin?
    Do you have plenty of strips to test and some high carb food and honey?
     
  5. Hales + Comet

    Hales + Comet Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2019
    I am really low on test strips and have to do a curve this weekend which is why I haven't tested this week I am waiting for my strips to arrive. I can test throughout the night if I give him some but it may mean I can't do his curve.
     
  6. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Who did the tests during the day in the 17th
     
  7. Hales + Comet

    Hales + Comet Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2019
    That was the first curve we did and then the vet had us lower the dose but that is why I am low on strips
     
  8. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    @Hales + Comet
    I think probably itwould be best to SKIP the shot as you have no data really and the 169 is with the Alphatrak meter.
    Comet has no history of ketones or DKA has he?
     
  9. Hales + Comet

    Hales + Comet Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2019
    No he does not
     
  10. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Great. Ok Skip the shot.:)
     
  11. Hales + Comet

    Hales + Comet Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2019
    Thank you. you have been very helpful
     
  12. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    My pleasure. Keep asking lots of questions. I am so glad you are home testing and keeping Comet safe!
     
  13. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    When you have some time, have a look at the yellow stickies at the top of the Lantus page.there are 2 dosing methods we use.....the tight regulation(TR) and the Start Low GoSlow method (SLGS). Link below. Have a look at both and see which one you think suits you better. Following one of those will make things much easier. Once you decide, pop the method into your signature so we can see.
    You might like to start posting over on the Lantus page where most Lantus users post and there are manyexperienced people to help and guide you.
    http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-basaglar-glargine-and-levemir-detemir.9/
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page