Pooper's Glucose Mystery

  • Thread starter Thread starter rbrumbaugh82
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
R

rbrumbaugh82

Okay so I woke up this morning thinking I'd be testing his glucose and seeing a number above 200 since it was 181 before I went to bed last night. However, I woke up and tested his glucose roughly around 8:15am and it was 148. +2 hours later and it was 128. So for the time being his pancreas seems to be kicking in when he eats. 2 days ago it wasn't happening and that day I had to give him 3 doses. Yesterday he didn't get any insulin because his numbers were too low to shoot.
 
That's a puzzler for sure.

Would you help us out a bit please? On any cycle where you do not give insulin, it's important to note that on your SS (spreadsheet). If you would please put 0 in the U column whenever you skip the shot, we sure would appreciate it. Thanks.
 
Today has been one of those days with Pooper's glucose that makes me scratch my head. His recent BG test reveals that he was at 90. Previously it was 177 at 130pm so +5 hours later it tested at 90. This is all without any glucose. This is the 2nd day now without any insulin due to his numbers being below 180. If anyone has a good explanation to why he tested at 90 and he NEVER has been that low without any insulin.
 
Today looks great. Can you think of anything different? Food? Any chance of high carb food on those higher days?

I don't know why the numbers are better. Or why his pancreas sometimes works. Guess just appreciate it when you get the low numbers?
 
Well I spoke too soon because about 30 mins ago I tested it again and it was 191. Fed him shortly after so waiting a bit more and will test again to hopefully see it go down. Just not understanding it one bit. lol
 
Okay a new day and a day his pancreas wants to work. Pooper's AMPS was 166 at 8am. +1 later I checked it again after he had eaten and it dropped it down to 114. +2 hours later I believe he ate more in between and it went to 83!!!!! He has never been this low before without insulin! I wish I can say his pancreas is working and that it will keep up but I won't say that. I am feeding him just Turkey and Giblets Fancy Feast Classic Pate only.
 
If anyone knows this mystery to why he suddenly goes to 83 without insulin please let me know! lol
 
The only explanation I have is that his pancreas has decided to join the party again. I have seen it become active for several cycles for other cats, and then go away for a cycle or two and then come again. It is like it needs to rest for a while after it has worked and then it "wakes" up again. I am sure there is a scientific explanation - maybe BJ knows.
 
They call it a 'sputtering pancreas'. It is intermittently functioning. You may get to the point you're chasing numbers, that is, waiting for him to be high enough to shoot safely. These periods can be more or less than 12 hours.
 
Last edited:
Well so far on 3 days now when he goes high enough I just give him more wet food to eat and then check his numbers about an hour later and it has been lower then when I tested him.. Wish it would stay this way.
 
I may just keep him just eating the Turkey and Giblets kind because that is helping to get his glucose to go down. Looking at the chart it was 148 an hour ago. I had him eat and then checking it now it was 130! Just would love to see this be an everyday thing now and no insulin. :)
 
118 is what I just got on his glucose! Very proud of my boy and his pancreas! Going to keep feeding Turkey and Giblets since it seems to keep his glucose lower. Goodnite everyone!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top