Possible Beginning Hypo?!

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by scienceofcats, Apr 2, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. scienceofcats

    scienceofcats Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2018
    Hi guys - Lola’s bG has dropped to 4.4 mmol/L (80 mg/dL) at 10:00 PM after receiving 1 unit ProZinc insulin at 7:45 PM. Her PMPS was 9.2 mmol/L (165 mg/dL), and I was advised in another post to proceed with insulin.

    I’m really worried it’s going to drop further. She wouldn’t eat the high carb food I have, so I’m giving her an extra wet food portion which she’s eating now. Hoping that brings her sugar back up. How worried should I be? Not sure what to do :(
     
  2. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    I answered on your ProZinc thread.
     
  3. scienceofcats

    scienceofcats Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2018
    Okay, her bG = 4.2 mmol/L (75 mg/dL) now (10:54 PM) after a small snake (she wouldn’t eat much)...
     
  4. scienceofcats

    scienceofcats Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2018
    Just retested this morning, and it was 7.8 mmol/L (140 mg/dL). I’m assuming I should skip the 1 unit of ProZinc insulin I’d normally give her now?
     
  5. scienceofcats

    scienceofcats Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2018
    Okay guys, I’m going to default to not giving her insulin this morning... I’m figuring I’ve skipped doses before (back when she was first diagnosed and I was nervous about numbers) and seen no clinical repercussions. I think it probably wouldn’t be safe to proceed with any amount this morning, as I won’t be around to test. I’ll retest her tonight when I’m back from work at her regular PMPS @ 7:15PM. For what it’s worth, she seems very bright and happy this morning, so that’s good at least :)
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  6. scienceofcats

    scienceofcats Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2018
    Her blood sugar is now 9.9 mmol/L (178 mg/dL). She was fed a serving of wet food 20 mins ago. Considering she skipped insulin this morning, what dose should I be thinking about right now? Maybe 0.75 units? 0.5? Advice would be great; I’ll hold off for 20 mins in hopes that one of you sees this.
     
  7. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    I answered on your PZ forum thread.
     
    Tanya and Ducia likes this.
  8. scienceofcats

    scienceofcats Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2018
    Her AMPS is 11.3 mmol/L (203 mg/dL). What do you guys think - shoot 0.5 units again? 1 unit? 0.75 units? I have to do the shot in 20 minutes, so hoping I hear from one of you... but if not, I’ll default to 0.75 units to see what that does.

    Thanks again for all the help, guys!
     
  9. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Answered on PZ thread.
     
    Tanya and Ducia likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page