Post for TacosMom

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rachel

Very Active Member
@TacosMom here is your own thread so more people will see it and hopefully answer! I'll post below this with my thoughts. :)

Hello, I'm new here. Our cat Taco was diagnosed with diabetes 2 months ago, he's 12 yo. His BG at the vet was 425, they started him on DM . I went all out and immediately got my own meter and did a curve a couple days into the food.Cut him off cold turkey from his free dry and 1 can little friskies chicken and gravy. Nothing changed. Took him back and in addition to the DM Pate he was put on 1U twice a day. Curve again, and he's all over the place, no rhyme, no reason, but NEVER under 300. Into that a few weeks and he is now on 2U twice a day since 4 days. Again all over the place on his curve and stick. Last night before he ate , 12 hours after his first meal he was at 275. This morning 12 hours after last night he was at 400. I'm completely stumped. Any suggestions? Please Forgot to say that Taco is on Prozinc, and can someone show me where I can find all the abbreviation you all use here, I'm lost :(
 
Hi Taco and Tacos Mom! Welcome to the best place you never wanted to be! It sounds like you guys have been going through a whirlwind lately. First off, great job that you're home testing! That's one of the hardest hurdles to get past and you're already a pro! That 275 you got is not a bad number at all...it's hard to say what's going on for sure without more data, but my GUESS is that he may be bouncing. That happens sometimes when a kitty gets a lower number than they're used to. All it means is that the kitty had a lower number than used to and that caused them to get a much higher number next time. I could be totally wrong, but it's one possibility.

To really help you, we'd like to get a spreadsheet set up for you. That way, you can record all your numbers and we can look at it. That helps us see patterns...you can see mine in my signature (it's very old, but it still works the same). The instructions are here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/. If you find it difficult, let us know! We have a few techy people who can definitely help you out. It'll make it much easier for us to advise you and to help figure out how to get Taco in better numbers!

So, to clarify, he's eating the DM right now and is on 2 units a day? The DM isn't really needed...he can be on much better quality food that's a LOT cheaper. You want to get a food that is under 10% carbs...most people use friskies or fancy feast here. If you click on this Food Chart you can see all the foods that we have data on. The carb % column is the one you want under 10. But make sure you're home testing and able to be there if you do decide to switch food...getting to a lower carb food can drop them over 100 points in a night sometimes!

What meter did you get? I just ask because human meters and pet meters have different numbers somewhat.

How often/how much are you feeding?

One last question. Are you testing him before each shot? You want to do that before he eats (at least 2 hours past any food so the number isn't food influenced).

I'll try to find our old guide for the abbreviations...not sure where it is, but someone should know. I'll link it if I do. For now, though, are there any questions about specific abbreviations you have?

I don't want to overwhelm you with too much info, so I'm going to stop here. But do let us know if you have ANY questions (we all had a million when we arrived!). Take a deep breath and don't worry. We are here and we CAN DEFINITELY help you get Taco in better numbers. We've done it tons of times. We can and will help you figure this out! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Here is the slang dictionary.

Even with that, there are a few things we use that aren't in there, or are hard to find, so never ever hesitate to ask if someone uses a word or acronym that you don't know or don't remember. It takes awhile to learn the lingo around here!

Rachel gave you some great info, so I'll just say hi and welcome!
 
Hi Taco and TacosMom!
This is definitely the best place...everyone here is so sweet and helpful. The above info is so great. The spreadsheet really helps see patterns and track data.
I just wanted to send you my support! I know how stressful this can be! Xoxoxoxo :bighug:
 
Hi Taco and Tacos Mom! Welcome to the best place you never wanted to be! It sounds like you guys have been going through a whirlwind lately. First off, great job that you're home testing! That's one of the hardest hurdles to get past and you're already a pro! That 275 you got is not a bad number at all...it's hard to say what's going on for sure without more data, but my GUESS is that he may be bouncing. That happens sometimes when a kitty gets a lower number than they're used to. All it means is that the kitty had a lower number than used to and that caused them to get a much higher number next time. I could be totally wrong, but it's one possibility.

To really help you, we'd like to get a spreadsheet set up for you. That way, you can record all your numbers and we can look at it. That helps us see patterns...you can see mine in my signature (it's very old, but it still works the same). The instructions are here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/. If you find it difficult, let us know! We have a few techy people who can definitely help you out. It'll make it much easier for us to advise you and to help figure out how to get Taco in better numbers!

So, to clarify, he's eating the DM right now and is on 2 units a day? The DM isn't really needed...he can be on much better quality food that's a LOT cheaper. You want to get a food that is under 10% carbs...most people use friskies or fancy feast here. If you click on this Food Chart you can see all the foods that we have data on. The carb % column is the one you want under 10. But make sure you're home testing and able to be there if you do decide to switch food...getting to a lower carb food can drop them over 100 points in a night sometimes!

What meter did you get? I just ask because human meters and pet meters have different numbers somewhat.

How often/how much are you feeding?

One last question. Are you testing him before each shot? You want to do that before he eats (at least 2 hours past any food so the number isn't food influenced).

I'll try to find our old guide for the abbreviations...not sure where it is, but someone should know. I'll link it if I do. For now, though, are there any questions about specific abbreviations you have?

I don't want to overwhelm you with too much info, so I'm going to stop here. But do let us know if you have ANY questions (we all had a million when we arrived!). Take a deep breath and don't worry. We are here and we CAN DEFINITELY help you get Taco in better numbers. We've done it tons of times. We can and will help you figure this out! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thank you so much! So, Ill try to number my answers to your questions.

A little about Taco, as you can see from my avatar , Taco was a big boy, he was putting on weight in the last year, in fact we called him bigger boy, then, about 4 months ago, I noticed he was losing weight, and his fur was shedding alot and had alot of dandruff like, still I really didnt pay attention, because he goes to vet regularly. One night I saw him drink about a 1/2 a cup of water, which was unusual , because I always added a tablespoon of water to his Friskies wet.
So , I took him in the next day, and his BG was 400 something. The vet said he was diabetic and needed to lose weight , even tho by this time he was 14 pounds instead of 19-21. He said he also needed a curve done, so I took him in the next am for that, but they told me he wouldnt eat for them. So to me that curve was useless, That's when I did some homework, and decided to do my own. He was quite surprised that I was going to do that on my own, but, I'm WHERE"S THERE's A WILL THERE's A WAY person.

After you read this, do you think I should try the Friskies PRIME FILET with CHICKEN in GRAVY again and do a curve with that, ? It would be nice to have all 3 cats eating the same, plus, nothing ever changed with the DM??


1) Taco had been eating the Friskies PRIME FILETS with CHICKEN IN GRAVY (ONLY) for 11 years. any other he wouldnt eat. 1/2 can in the AM , 1/2 can in the PM with 1 tbs water added to each 1/2 can. My 2 other cats, one tacos liter mate and 1, 2 year old stray dont like any other friskies either. Talk about fincky!!

2) He was also getting free feed Purina CAT Complete, but really didnt eat a whole lot of it, maybe total 1/2 cup daily, mostly at night.

3) I've been using the Pet Test ADVOCATE, I just ordered another, because for a little extra I can get the whole kit, I've brought it in to the vets and the numbers match with his more enpensive meter.(twice)

4) Taco eats 3/4 of a can of DM, then gets 2 U. twice daily 12 hours apart. Started on 1/2 can DM and 1U for about 1 month.

5)I liked that 275, but then the next feeding 12 hours later, it was 400.(before the feeding)?

6) I test, then immediately feed, and immediately give 2 U prozinc.

7) He's down 1 more pound, so 13 pounds, I have a difference of opinion with the vet about his weight, maybe because I'm not used to seeing him that small.

8) He goes around meowing like he's starving, yet, he has a hard time finishing his 3/4 can of DM ?

9) He was taken off dry food and friskies cold turkey, he seemed to like the DM, the one with the pieces, but, he was doing the same as friskies and licking the gravy and leaving alot of the meat, wasting it, so I traded it for the pate, Thats what he's been on now for the 2 months, except maybe 1 week at first. I was trying to mimic his chicken filet and gravy.

10) All three of our cats have never been outside, and all 3 eat in different rooms, so, never any stealing ;)

11) He hates Fancy feast, tried a few, and wont eat it :)

12)Which Friskeys are most people using?
Thank you so much for the concern.
 
Okay! From what you've said above, my guess is that he doesn't really LIKE the DM. Most diabetics are more hungry, but if he doesn't like the DM, he might just eat enough of it to not feel starving then beg for other food! The Friskies with gravy is higher carb than you want for a diabetic...the classic pates are what most people use. Any chance of switching to one of those? You could do it slowly...mix the gravy food with the classic pate. Might help him get used to it?

The pet meter is fine! We just need to know...can you add that info to your signature so we'll remember?

My suggestion would be to try to switch his food to lower carb friskies over some time and then run a curve if you could. Until then, are you willing to set up the spreadsheet we use? :)
 
Welcome Taco and Taco's Mom! :) Rachel has given you great advice. We can certainly help you get your boy on track. :) BTW "where there's a will there's a way" is a great mind set to have for treating feline diabetes.
 
Okay! From what you've said above, my guess is that he doesn't really LIKE the DM. Most diabetics are more hungry, but if he doesn't like the DM, he might just eat enough of it to not feel starving then beg for other food! The Friskies with gravy is higher carb than you want for a diabetic...the classic pates are what most people use. Any chance of switching to one of those? You could do it slowly...mix the gravy food with the classic pate. Might help him get used to it?

The pet meter is fine! We just need to know...can you add that info to your signature so we'll remember?

My suggestion would be to try to switch his food to lower carb friskies over some time and then run a curve if you could. Until then, are you willing to set up the spreadsheet we use? :)
Yes, I can do the spread sheet if you tell me where I can find it ;)
I'm starting to think that the 2 Us were given too quickly, because I just stuck him after 8 1/2 hours after eating and he was down to 172. That's the lowest ever.
As far as the DM, he liked it at first, but, since about 1 month he seems tired of it, we have to keep sticking the plate up to his nose for him to finish most of the 3/4 can.Twice daily, about 12 hours apart.
I should be getting my new meter any day (I only have 4 test strips left)the new meter comes with 75 strips.
I will find a friskies classic pate and do a curve when I get my new meter and strips.
I think he's just so used to that gravy for 11 years ,that , that is what he wants, but, this Mama is not giving in :)
I'll add all I can to my sig, later on tonite.
Is there any way I can just scan what I have in my note book, and put it somewhere where you can access it, it would be so much easier for me, I have 3 cats , 4 dogs and a 41 year old son that requires 24/7 care, so, I'm like Taco, ALL OVER THE PLACE ;) If not, ill try to get it all in my sig and try to find the spread sheet.
Thank you again.
 
My new meter and strips( Same one I have now, ADVOCATE PET TEST, is due to arrive 25th-27th , so Ill have to wait till then to do a new curve with friskies, It will give me time to see which friskies to get. In the mean time he'll have to "suffer" with the DM.
 
Sure thing! The spreadsheet instructions are here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/. Let us know if you have trouble with it..we can help you set it up.

Once you get the spreadsheet up, it's super easy to maintain. Just when you do a test, have your computer open and you pop the number in...it color codes and everything! If you want, you could scan in your notebook and show us what you have so far. It's just that when a crisis arrives (and I'm not saying you'll have one but...) we are all really used to the way the SS looks and can scan it in minutes to help. It's so much faster and time can be of the essence...to make it easier, we can get the SS up and running FOR you if you want? I can tag a few people who can help with it so you just have to start filling it in from the day we get it up on.

Once you get the sig up, you're good to go with that. You don't have to change it unless something changes. Just do that when you can, you have a TON on your plate!

We can definitely be flexible with you too..if you have like 5 min to fill out the SS each day, you can do it once a day and if you need help, just post your numbers. We can work with you. :)
 
I had a kibble addict/gravy lover when he was first diagnosed and it can be a tough transition. One thing that helped was fortiflora. It's a probiotic, but I just use it because it has a flavor that many cats absolutely go nuts over. I sprinkled about 1/8 of a packet on the low carb food and he would eat until it was gone, then I would add a little more and on and on. Eventually I was able to just sprinkle some on top, and then stop doing it altogether. It took awhile (months) to get him to eat low carb food on his own, but we got there eventually.

You can buy it from a vet or off Amazon or Chewy's.
 
Scan_Pic0006.jpg
Here's a scan I did with info and last curve. Meter Pet Test ADVOCATE
 
What do you think of my plan?
What would you do different?

My plan, for next Monday 10/30/17

Switch to a low carb Friskies, have my list ready to go buy this week-end, picked out ALL the low carb Friskies pate on your food list here, all under 9 carbs.

Will do curve, every 2 hours for 12 hours

take BG reading before his first meal.

Feed 3/4 can , hopefully will eat it

Do 1U
Start curve 2 hours after meal
continue curve every 2 hours for 12 hours

Take BG reading before night meal

feed 3/4 can Friskies pate low carb

Do 1U if reading is close to 300

Do 2 U if reading is past 400.
 
I need a little help if someone is still up. Taco BG today at 8 1/2 hours after his am meal was 172, at feeding time tonite it was 119 , I havent given him his 2U because I'm scared to, should I wait a couple hours and test again? and how much should I give him with what number BG? My husband says dont give him any, I'm thinkung anything over 300 give him 1U, I called the vet and he said give him his 2Us, but, I'm not listening, he's on call and has never seen taco, PLEASE HELP :) I dont have a chart here yet, but, a couple of posts up I have his last curve from a few days ago. can get an idea of his roller coaster.
 
Definitely don't shoot tonight. I hate skipping shots, but it's just not safe. First because we don't usually shoot prozinc on numbers that low until there is a lot of collected data, and second because you'll have no way to monitor if he rises or goes lower. It's just too risky. So give him a chin scratch, tell his pancreas to do its best tonight, and sleep well!
 
My husband has a people meter, with alot of strips, and it tested at 74, but, I dont know how to convert it, and if it would be right for a cat. My new one should come 2-3 days,
 
I'll be up for quite some time, so I could do one test say at 2am, and then if hes high should I give him 1u or leave it till morning?
 
Ah! People meters work great! That's actually what most of us use, and our protocols were written for using people meters. There isn't any way to convert, but they still work just fine for our purposes.

74 is still too low to shoot. If you shoot off schedule, you will need to slowly work your way back to being on schedule. You can't shoot at 2am tonight, and then again at 8am (or whatever is your usual shot time) tomorrow. It would take about a week to get back on schedule, and isn't generally recommended.

One thing you can do in the future, is to stall. So you take the PS test, and if it's too low you wait 20-30 minutes without feeding, then test again. Sometimes in the last hour of the 12 hour cycle, the numbers will rise quickly, so waiting even 20 minutes can make a big difference. If they are still too low, you stall again, still without feeding. Then test again. If the numbers are rising enough, you can shoot. If they are rising a little, you can at least usually shoot a reduced dose. If they aren't rising, you skip.

But assuming you've already fed since the PS test, it's going to be better to skip. In general newer folks don't shoot if the PS is under 200, and even more experienced folks will rarely shoot below 120 on a human meter/150 on a pet meter.
 
So if I understand it correctly, a human meter is about 3o whatevers :) lower ? My pet meter read 119 and my husbands Relion read 74, does that make sense? or are one of our meters way off? Needless to say, we didnt shoot tonite, waiting till AM. Thank you :)
 
No, that's about the right amount of difference. Pet meters just read higher than human meters. I'm not sure WHY, but it's just how they're calibrated I guess. 74 was definitely too low to shoot...so glad Djamila was here! We recommend not shooing under 200 on a human meter or 220 on a pet meter when you're new. As Djamila said, the stall technique is used often here! If you want, you can definitely continue to use your husband's meter on Taco...strips are way cheaper! And if you'd rather use the pet meter, feel free to use the human one when you are out of strips and go back to the pet meter once you get strips..just make sure to specify which meter you're using to us so we know! :)
 
One of the research reports that was used to create the protocol here said that human meters are approximately 30% lower than pet meters, and I believe one of the stickies somewhere still says that. However people who have run side-by-side comparisons at home with both types of meters have said over and over that it's just not true. The differences can be pretty random. My guess is that since every meter is allowed a 20% variance from the "true" number, if you compare a pet meter that is 20% high with a human meter that's 20% low, you would have a larger than 30% difference. Reverse that, and you'd have smaller than 30%. So there just isn't a way outside of the lab to have any way to convert from one meter to the next.

There are a few benchmark numbers that we rely on, and beyond that, we just don't try to compare the two systems
1. Take Action (BG going too low for comfort): 50 (human)/68 (pet)
2. Top of "normal" range: 120 (human)/150(pet)
3. Safe to shoot: 200 (human)/220 (pet) <-- this changes as you gain data and experience

All the rest of the numbers pretty much just tell us if the kitty is too high, too low, going up, or going down. It doesn't really matter if they are 340 or 390, they are too high either way, so that's why the exact numbers aren't really that important.

Some people use a human meter for daily numbers, and then use a pet meter for curves so they can talk with their vet. It used to drive my vet a little crazy that I was using a human meter, but I've won him over now. :):p
 
You all are VERY helpful, Thank you so much!!!
So I got a package in the mail and thought, GOOD, just in time, didnt open it, went on to take BG with last strip ,5 1/2 hours after 1 U and its 377 on pet meter as my husband had taken BG this 10AM (422) I instructed him last night to give him 1U instead of 2. Open box and it's the 100 syringes, I dont need right now :(
SO, no strips for pet meter today.
When I test him with the Relion Prime until I get my pet strips, I should expect the meter to read about 30 LOWER, right?So add about 30 right?
Also, since I got scared last night , I told husb to only give 1U, should I go back to 2Us tonite?OR choose UNIT according to number before meal tonite ??
Im pulling my hair out!! :(
One more question , Tomorrow I have to take my son for testing about 4 hours away and his test is at least 4 hours long. My daughter knows how to give units, but I'm afraid she wont be able to monitor him like I do. We will most likely be gone for 12 hours. Should I stay on the safer side and instruct her to give Taco 1U instead of 2Us? We will be leaving too early in the AM to test accurately. What do you think??
 
Last edited:
When I test him with the Relion Prime until I get my pet strips, I should expect the meter to read about 30 LOWER, right?So add about 30 right?
Don't rely on that as a conversion. The difference could be much more at higher BG levels and less at lower BG levels. The most important numbers are the "take action numbers: 50 on a human meter or 68 on a pet meter. If you see a number near 50 on the ReliOn Prime, Taco is getting too low so you'd give him a snack of higher carb food. Similarly, if he's near 68 on your pet meter he's getting too low.

One more question , Tomorrow I have to take my son for testing about 4 hours away and his test is at least 4 hours long. My daughter knows how to give units, but I'm afraid she wont be able to monitor him like I do. We will most likely be gone for 12 hours. Should I stay on the safer side and instruct her to give Taco 1U instead of 2Us? We will be leaving too early in the AM to test accurately. What do you think??
It would be safest to give only 1 unit then. After that start your routine testing schedule and we can help you figure out his dose. When you can think more clearly, consider setting up the spreadsheet we use here. It'll help us to help you. Rachel gave you the link in post #2 above.

So - in summary the keys to FD management are:
  1. feeding low carb wet food
  2. testing BG regularly at home
  3. logging BG test data to look for patterns and assess doses
  4. screaming for help here on FDMB when it all gets to be too much ... ;)
 
Cant get the hang of the SS, been trying for 1 hour

I'd be happy to set it up for you, but will need some information from you first. Just send me a private message by clicking on my name and choosing "Start Conversation" and I'll get it as soon as I can.

You will need to decide which meter you're going to use going forward though. The spreadsheets are different for pet meters and human meters.

Our protocols were all written with human meters in mind....If I were you, I'd just go with the Relion from now on....Save the pet meter for emergencies or when your Relion's battery dies or something
 
I'd be happy to set it up for you, but will need some information from you first. Just send me a private message by clicking on my name and choosing "Start Conversation" and I'll get it as soon as I can.

You will need to decide which meter you're going to use going forward though. The spreadsheets are different for pet meters and human meters.

Our protocols were all written with human meters in mind....If I were you, I'd just go with the Relion from now on....Save the pet meter for emergencies or when your Relion's battery dies or something
I'll message you maybe Friday, I've got a lot to take care of in the next 2 days, I also plan on still using the Advocate -pet meter until I run out of strips, which should be about another 7 weeks. It should be here by Friday. Thanks so much for the help.
 
Sorry, havent been here in a while. Putting this here because signature was too long. Taco 11yo Diagnosed 9/1/17- Started with just DM ,9/12/17 started 1U Prozinc x2 daily ,12 hours apart after 3/4 can x2 daily, 10/5/17 1 1/4 U 2x daily 10/19/17 2U x2 daily ADVOCATE meter, taken own curves since 9/7/17. Brought meter in to check accuracy twice with vet. Previously ate Friskies chicken in gravy,1/2 can with 1 tbs. water 2x daily and free fed dry Purina complete,didn't eat so much of dry. taken off cold turkey when diagnosed and started DM . Last curve on POST 12, Doing much better, explanation in new signature. Thank you for the tips, more or less started over with Friskies low carb Pate. Taco seems to like the variety and 2 other cats non diabetic also eating pate, so all cats eating the same thing :)
 
I 've been overwhelmed lately as Tacos 11 yo litter mate , George, has been sick for the last few days, with multiple vet visits. Vomiting, not able to go to bathroom and not eating.
Tonight the vet told me to bring him back Monday AM and it seems to him that he may also be diabetic. Georges blood lab=good, xrays =good, but said his BG was 398. I checked it when I got home, and same thing. He said it may be high because of stress, so, we shall see. Just a while ago he licked his food a few times but, that's it as far as food in the last 3 days. He also has terrible leakage from his bum that has required me to clean him up about 6 times now. Very fowl. So I'm really stumped and surely don't look to having 2 on the needle :( praying he gets better soon . As I've mentioned before I have a 41 yo , 24/7 care son, to take care of with multiple disabilities, and I spend all my time caring for him and the pets. so , I don't come on here too often , but, I appreciate the support and recommendations. I'm trying to work with a relion meter and the pet advocate and it's very confusing as I'm getting numbers that dont compare, this is with Taco, right now, Taco is still holding out at 1 1/2 U. X 2 daily and seems to be doing alright.
 
You do have a lot on your plate! If you can give George a few more tests at home before going back to the vet, it will help to see if it was stress, or if he might really have diabetes. Are they both on Friskies pate? If not, getting George on a low carb wet food as soon as possible will be important. As for the relion vs. pet advocate, the numbers on a human meter and a pet meter can't be compared. There is no conversion for them, and they can be quite different. They tend to read a bit closer together in lower numbers, but can be rather far apart as the numbers get higher. So it's best to just pick one meter and stick with it. The numbers just need to be consistent within a single meter, not in comparison to another system. The protocols used here are written for the human meters, so many folks around here use a human meter to track their data at home since it's so much cheaper and matches the protocol, and then do occasional tests or curves with a pet meter just to report to their vet (if the vet wants some home data). I hope that helps. I'm glad to hear Taco is doing well!
 
You do have a lot on your plate! If you can give George a few more tests at home before going back to the vet, it will help to see if it was stress, or if he might really have diabetes. Are they both on Friskies pate? If not, getting George on a low carb wet food as soon as possible will be important. As for the relion vs. pet advocate, the numbers on a human meter and a pet meter can't be compared. There is no conversion for them, and they can be quite different. They tend to read a bit closer together in lower numbers, but can be rather far apart as the numbers get higher. So it's best to just pick one meter and stick with it. The numbers just need to be consistent within a single meter, not in comparison to another system. The protocols used here are written for the human meters, so many folks around here use a human meter to track their data at home since it's so much cheaper and matches the protocol, and then do occasional tests or curves with a pet meter just to report to their vet (if the vet wants some home data). I hope that helps. I'm glad to hear Taco is doing well!

Hello, George has been on the low carb friskies pate I guess for about 1 month or more as I wanted all 3 cats on the same food, George did NOT like it, but, I continued to give it to him, he would eat about 1/2 can total in 24 hours. He had been eating the chicken and gravy for 10 years and nothing else. I have repeatadly checked his sugar and it has been quite normal every time except for when we came back from the vets. I really think putting him on the pate messed him up, not enough to eat and stressed combination. I dont believe he is diabetic, when I go back in Monday am I will take my meter with me and compare with theirs again.
I'm so dissapointed that not 1 vet out of 4 in that office will do anything in front of me, they always take the animals in the back and wont allow anyone to go back there.
I really think it's time again for the 6th time in 12 years I have had to find another vet. I'll let you know what happens Monday. Thanks again
 
I dont believe he is diabetic, when I go back in Monday am I will take my meter with me and compare with theirs again.

You might ask them to do a fructosamine test.....it's useful in diagnosing diabetics since it shows an average blood glucose level over the past 3 weeks instead of a single test result in the vets office.

It's not really useful in cats we know are diabetic and are home testing (because it does only give an average).....it can't show a cat going from 400 to 40 and back to 400 again like home testing can, but it can help show what's going on over a longer period of time when the cat isn't stressed
 
Last edited:
I agree with the fructosamine. That'll give you a better idea of what's going on. I hope it turns out George isn't diabetic!

I know you have a lot on your plate (thank you for reminding us...we try to remember everyone, but it's easy to forget!). Just do what you can...I'd grab tests on George when and if you can...for your own peace of mind.
 
I'm going to bring George in one last time tomorrow at 8:30 to check his BG against my meter(advocate) with theirs IN THE ROOM. It has always matched theirs -2. I've taken Georges BG twice and tonights at 11:30 was 196 on pet meter. That is BEFORE I force fed him about 2 tbs. of Friskies pate poultry platter, watered down, with a syringe and tubing attached, and put on his tongue with the help of my husband. I did that last night by myself, what a job!! He still will NOT eat on his own, but, the fowl dark stuff coming out his bum has stopped. Hallelujah!!!!
He has only gone a few drops of poop, I guess from what I fed him last night.
The problem I'm having with the vet(S) I go to is they will NOT perform anything in the treatment room with me there, THEY ALWAYS have to take my 7 animals to the back and now they have even darkened the small window so that no one can see back there :(
I know this is a diabetic forum, does anyone know of a forum that you would recommend for other cat ailments.?? Such as mega colon and not eating ect...
Thank you, will let you know what happens tommorow AM as soon as I can :)
And BTW I surely dont expect anyone to remember me,l that's why I put my little history up there, The unfortunate thing with George is that it is my special needs sons cat, and he constantly worries about George, when I took him into the vet Friday, all he kept saying was bring him back, Mom!! While he sat in the van with his 18 yo sister :(
I've got to get George better SOON, this is killing me!!
 
Glad he's not diabetic, but sorry to hear there are other problems. We have a lot of cats with different health issues on the board...we'd be happy to help out if we can.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top