Problems with the ReliOn glucometer and the strip not being able to take up any blood

Discussion in 'Lantus / Basaglar (glargine) and Levemir (detemir)' started by Paula Nowak, Mar 2, 2019.

  1. Paula Nowak

    Paula Nowak Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2018
    Hi, I'm wondering if anyone else on here had problems getting enough blood on the strip. I know there was enough blood because I tested Elvis with the pet glucometer. It is the advocate PET test glucometer. The advocate PET test glucometer with its test strip seems to be very easy to get the blood on the strip. I could not get the blood on the strip with the ReliOn and I only have two more test strips for the pet test glucometer and I had to order those before and I can't order any cause they will not get here in time for me to test with them. I have the ReliOn meter and 100 test strips but they are not working well or maybe I have to do something different, I don't know. I know things are a little hectic around here now because my roommate has company and Elvis's number was 336 this evening because I think he was aggravated that there was company and to tell you the truth I don't like company because Elvis doesn't really like company, because it's different and he just doesn't fare well with company around. I'm on Elvis's side .What Elvis wants Elvis gets and if Elvis doesn't like something, I don't like it either!
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2019
  2. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    I don't know about the advocate meter, if it's like the alpha Trac the ports are on the side.

    Relion port is on the end. So need you to have end of strip in the drop.
     
  3. billysmom (GA)

    billysmom (GA) Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2015
    I found that with the meter I was using I had to approach the blood drop at an angle. I tried it on myself until I figured out what worked best.
     
    Willow likes this.
  4. Paula Nowak

    Paula Nowak Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2018
    Thanks, that is a great way to do it but then I was watching a tutorial on YouTube and the guy was saying that the ReliOn requires a lot of blood, so I f that's what it is, then I'll have to to deal with it and make it work.
     
  5. Erin & Scott

    Erin & Scott Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2019
    No, the ReliOn doesn't require very much blood at all. But you need to kind of lay the strip down flat next to the drop of blood, and it will suck it right up. There should be a manual that you got with the meter showing how to approach the blood droplet; if you can't find it, you can look it up on line - just google for Relion prime manual.
     
  6. Idjit's mom

    Idjit's mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2018
    The ReliOn Prime just requires a slightly larger blood sample than some of the other meters, it's still a fairly small bead of blood. Practice on yourself, load the strip into the meter, but not all the way, use a lancet, press a little to get that drop of blood about the size of a seed bead (like in Native American beadwork) and then push the strip firmly into the meter, watch the display until it is ready, then touch the tip where the dark line is to the blood bead. You should be able to get a reading on the meter.
     
  7. Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

    Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Did you put a little vaseline on the testing site beforehand? That will help the blood drop to bead up and it will be easier to get the blood onto the test strip.

    You'll be comfortable with it in no time. Hang in there!
     
    Bear & Lora likes this.
  8. Amina&M'row

    Amina&M'row Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2019
    I just put the end of the test strip right down into the middle of the drop of blood (relion prime). Allow a second or two for the blood to get siphoned up; you can tell this has happened when the display on the meter changes. Carry on--you'll get it in no time.
     
  9. Amina&M'row

    Amina&M'row Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2019
    And the end of the strip with more markings goes in the meter; the end with less markings sucks up the blood. :)
     
    Bear & Lora likes this.
  10. Amina&M'row

    Amina&M'row Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2019
    How are you doing now with the relion, Paula? Hope better :)
     
  11. Paula Nowak

    Paula Nowak Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2018
    Yes, much better. Also I was wondering, how much should cats eat? I know it has to do by their weight and he does have to lose weight. Elvis is 20.4 pounds. the previous vet that I went to said that he should be eating no more than three cans of the 3 oz cans of Fancy Feast, but not less than 2 cans. Do you think that is a right amount because I don't want him getting fatty liver disease, but then on the other hand Elvis rarely eats 3 cans of Fancy Feast which are the 3 oz cans, the little ones. He only likes Fancy Feast turkey and giblets feast classic pate. I tried some of the other flavors and he doesn't like them as well. Whenever I need to buy the Fancy Feast, I always buy in terms that he will be eating 3 cans a day,
     
  12. Bob & Simon(GA) & Arthur

    Bob & Simon(GA) & Arthur New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2019
    This is a late reply but - be sure you are placing the tip of the test strip in the drop of blood and make sure you don't push the tip into the surface of the ear.

    Think of the test strip as a straw, the open end must contact the drop of blood. If you push the opening against the ear, it will be blocked. When the test strip is properly placed in the drop of blood, capillary action (related to surface tension) draws blood into a narrow channel where it encounters chemicals in the test strip. The glucose in the blood reacts with the chemicals and produces a small electrical current which the glucometer reads as the amount of glucose in the sample.

    However, you have to properly place the tip of the test strip in the drop of blood for all of this to occur correctly.

    When we got a glucometer (Bayer EliteXL) I tried it on myself and then Sharon did herself. I was reading the manual and she says, "I didn't get any blood in the strip." I glanced over and saw that she had put the side of the strip on top of the drop of blood, not the end in the drop of blood. It turns out this is a rather common error.

    Here's an image that shows how its done correctly:
    [​IMG]

    Here's an image showing it being done incorrectly
    [​IMG]

    The one thing that makes a great difference in how much blood your get is the temperature of the ear. We used some reusable chemical hand warms at first but after only a couple of months, we abandoned that and never had trouble completing a test.

    But, if you want to heat the cat's ear, put a handful of rice, in a white sock (white just to eliminate any potential problem with any dyes) and microwave it. You want it fairly hot but not so hot that you can't hold it in your hand indefinitely. Push the ear against the cat's head with the rice-sock and warm the ear until it is nice and toasty warm.

    Prick the ear and you should see what we call a gusher - a large amount of blood.

    Simon's home testing page is at http://www.sugarcatsimon.com/original/hometest.html

    Bear in mind that Simon's site, was primarily written in the Summer of 2000. I've updated a bit it and corrected any errors but it is still pretty much as I wrote it in 2000.

    It was my first website and it shows it - the format is far from optimal but it contains good information on a variety of subjects concerning diabetes and feline diabetes in particular.

    His original site is at: http://www.sugarcatsimon.com/original/

    I started a total replacement a few years ago but I never followed through and finished it.

    Hope this help.

    Bob & Simon(GA) & Arthur
     

Share This Page