Question about my BG curve - Newbie here

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Michelle & Prudence, Feb 23, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Michelle & Prudence

Michelle & Prudence Member

Hi,

My cat Prudence, was diagnosed late last week. My friend told me about this site and I have been reading and reading everything. Thank you for all the information & help everyone gives.

I’ve just ended my BG curve for 24 hours. My question is about finding the midpoint. Do you only take the highest point and the lowest point, add the numbers together then divide by 2 ?… to get the midpoint? Next question – You do nothing with the lowest point back up to the high point, right?

I’ve attached my chart. You will notice that when I started 9am her high point was 296, dropped to 126 = midpoint 211 – but two days prior to doing the BG I was having trouble giving her shot, so she was only getting one shot per day not two two shots every 12 hours.

9am that morning until 9am this morning she has been given 1unit of ProZinc 2xday and I’ve only fed her before both shots. At 9pm to 3am her numbers were 427 (highest) 132 (lowest) = midpoint 279.5

Am I doing this right? Should I continue the curve until mid day? When I took her BG at 9 this morning… it was 534.

I need sleep confused_cat Michelle

Attached Files:

2. Jen & Squeak

Jen & Squeak Well-Known Member

Oh wow! A 24 hour curve! You are ambitious! And definitely deserving sleep

Not sure where you got the midpoint idea from'; what you want to see is preshot values, nadir or lowest point, and next preshot. Also good to see when things start to wear off, etc.

What I see is quite a rollercoaster with pretty high preshots and decent nadirs (for early stages anyways). That rapid rise to today's preshot likely doesn't feel too good...

So, questions - how was she diagnosed? Simple BG test or fructosamine? And what food are you feeding?