Question

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Harleygirl, Dec 28, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Harleygirl

    Harleygirl New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2017
    We started the vetsulin yesterday with 1 unit after her pre shot BG was 320. This morning before food and shot she was 198. Didn't give her a shot, was I being too safe?
     
  2. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    No, that was a good choice! We usually say that newbies shouldn't shoot under 200-- later, as you have more data on Harley's patterns and response to insulin, you may be able to move your "no shoot" number down, but for right now, this is definitely the safe way to go. It's also a good idea to get some mid cycle tests in when you do shoot-- not only to help hep her safe, but to see what a particular dose is doing for her.

    How is the food transition going? What are you feeding her now?
     
  3. nmveasey

    nmveasey Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2017
    Good call with the no shot. Can you take some readings throughout the day after you do give the insulin? Like Nan said, the mid cycle data is very valuable information.
    Have you started a spreadsheet?
     
  4. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    By the way, because it sometimes causes confusion: when we say "mid cycle" it doesn't necessarily mean smack in the middle, 6 hours post-shot. In fact, with Vetsulin, it would be more informative to get tests before that (and then go from there with further testing if necessary). Peak action of Vetsulin is usually 4 hours post-shot, but it can start to take effect very quickly, so it can be a good idea to get a BG reading at +2 (sometimes even +1 in some situations) to get an idea of where things are heading.
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  5. Harleygirl

    Harleygirl New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2017
    We are eating Fancy Feast classic pate and also Grainfree from Merrick...those seem to be her favorites. I will not be able to take any other numbers today until this evening, but will be home all weekend and will hopefully get some readings throughout the day. I started writing down her numbers in the book in the Alphatrak. Thank you all! I was worried about giving her a shot this morning and not being home to monitor her.
     
    Nan & Amber (GA) likes this.
  6. nmveasey

    nmveasey Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2017
    Here is the link to set up the spreadsheet: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/

    Make sure you choose the spreadsheet for the pet meter. Also, attach the spreadsheet to your signature. Directions should be in the previous link. This is very helpful when asking others for dosing advise. They can view your spreadsheet and see how Harley reacts to the insulin.

    Here is the link to understanding the spreadsheet: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/understanding-the-spreadsheet-grid.156606/

    It will also be helpful to add what you are feeding Harley and current insulin dose to your signature. Helps keep you from repeating yourself.

    FYI- here is the link to the food chart: http://catinfo.org/docs/CatFoodProteinFatCarbPhosphorusChart.pdf

    Some of the Merrick foods can be higher in carbs than is recommended for diabetic cats.
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page