Quick dosing question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vannypack

Member
Hi everyone! So I'm trying test Tommy every 2 hours while I'm home all day this weekend (at least waking hours and probably +2 after PM shot). His BG has been pretty good today (258 pre shot and 225 +2) and was wondering...if he gets below 200 before his PM shot, should I lower his dosage? He's currently at 1 U Vetsulin.
 
I don't use Vetsulin, but my understanding is that usually you are hoping for mid-cycle lows between 100-200. It's if he hits under 100 that you might want to lower the dose-- very experienced Vetsulin users who are very familiar with their cat's response to a dose may be comfortable with the lower numbers, but below 100 doesn't leave a big enough safety buffer for new users.
 
lets see what it does through the day. are you using a human or pet meter? If it's below 200 i would reduce the dose, but lets wait and see.
 
Looks like I was being optimistic. His PM pre shot was 315.

I was able to get 5 BG readings today. Does it look like his diabetes is controlled with 1 U of insulin a day? I am also still transitioning to Fancy Feast and plan to keep testing to see if that helps at all.
 
Looks like I was being optimistic. His PM pre shot was 315.

I was able to get 5 BG readings today. Does it look like his diabetes is controlled with 1 U of insulin a day? I am also still transitioning to Fancy Feast and plan to keep testing to see if that helps at all.
Good for you getting those readings. They suggest that his dose will have to go up a bit. Do your U40 syringes have half unit marks on them? If so, you can eyeball a dose of 1.25 u. If his AM BG is high enough you can try that dose. I suggest you try for one more before bed test to see how he does in the evening.

A controlled or regulated diabetic should have PS BGs in the low to mid 200s and nadir in the low 100s approximately. This pattern would be sustained over time with little fluctuation in insulin dose. It's early days for you and Tommy has a way to go yet to reach regulation. You're doing the right things to help get him there.
 
Last edited:
Good for you getting those reading. They suggest that his dose will have to go up a bit. Do your U40 syringes have half unit marks on them? If so, you can eyeball a dose of 1.25 u. If his AM BG is high enough you can try that dose. I suggest you try for one more before bed test to see how he does in the evening.

A controlled or regulated diabetic should have PS BGs in the low to mid 200s and nadir in the low 100s approximately. This pattern would be sustained over time with little fluctuation in insulin dose. It's early days for you and Tommy has a way to go yet to reach regulation. You're doing the right things to help get him there.
Thank you! I will try to get a reading before bed. I will also try that dose in the morning if his BG is high. Thanks again :)
 
Looks like I was being optimistic. His PM pre shot was 315.

I was able to get 5 BG readings today. Does it look like his diabetes is controlled with 1 U of insulin a day? I am also still transitioning to Fancy Feast and plan to keep testing to see if that helps at all.
Well done. I'd try 1.5 when it's a similar preshot.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top