Rapid breathing, recent hypo- Any advice?

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Casey and Zero, Aug 13, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Casey and Zero

Casey and Zero New Member

Hi everyone! I just joined the boards today, but I have been coming to the website since 2004 to get info for my 11 yr old diabetic cat, Zero. This is the first time I couldn't find a solution to a problem, so I signed up! :)

Anyways, Zero had a hypo episode on Wednesday night. I don't know what his numbers were because he doesn't let me test him, but all of his symptoms were in line, except he had no seizures. I called the ER and they told me to give him a tablespoon of honey, (which didn't go over well, but we got through it!) and then get him to eat some dry food. He wouldn't eat his dry food, which is very rare for him. but I was able to give him half a container of Pounce treats that we usually give our other kitty who isn't diabetic. Around 4am he finally stopped roaming the apartment sniffing every inch of the floor, calmed down and went to sleep.

The next morning (yesterday) I took him to the vet before food and shot, and his blood sugar was 71. The vet told me to feed him his normal amount, but give him NO INSULIN at all for 24 hours, and then to decrease his shots from 3u to 2u for the next 3 weeks, after which we will do a new Fructosamine test. That sounded a bit severe to me, but I did read on here that hypo episodes can make kitties a little sensitive to insulin, so I'm doing exactly what I was told.

The Dr told us to being him back this morning before food and shot to test his numbers again, and this time it was 351. His Fructosamine test came back at 270, which I understand means he has been borderline hypo for a little while? Anyways, he told us to feed him like normal and start the reduced insulin.