Raw food v. wet canned food

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Mr.Sparkle, Nov 9, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mr.Sparkle

Mr.Sparkle New Member

Hello!
    I am new to to this group but I am not new to feline diabetes. Mr. Sparkle was diagnosed in 2014. Started him on Purina DM wet food diet and Lantus insulin and within 1 year he converted! Yippee! Unfortunately the vet never warned me that it is quite common for cat's to revert back and become diabetic again...
    He was doing so well for about one year and I had initially kept him on the Purina DM wet food diet. But it was becoming REALLY expensive and very inconvenient to even buy it because I could only seen to find it at vet's offices. Plus a case of 24 cans is really heavy to carry on the bus! So I did more research, through this forum and other websites, and found that raw food diets work well too with diabetic cats. So I started feeding Mr. Sparkle Primal Nuggets frozen chicken + salmon, advertised at containing 90% protein. He loved them, they are more affordable, I could buy them at my local pet store that had extended opening hours and a rewards program. He even seemed healthier in other ways, shinier coat, more energy. A new man! But then 1 year after switching to the primal nuggets he started urinating more and sure enough he was diabetic again. I did my own spot test at home, blood glucose was 29!