reading of 39 but no symptoms?

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by static, Mar 7, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. static

static Member

I am new to home testing and so far have gotten very inconsistent results. I have a Bayer Countour device and am now out of test strips. I've wasted a lot of strips due to the blood samples being too small. Dale is on one unit of Lantus twice a day and I was feeding him Iam's. After reading around on how people got their cats OTJ I wanted to home monitor and experiment with another food. When I first tested Dale I mostly got readings in the 200's but even as high as 340. I switched him to Merrick and this +2.5 after shot got a reading of 163 which is the lowest I've ever gotten. After his evening meal and shot I wanted to test again and see if there was less of a food spike, and got a reading of 39. I don't know if this is significant, but I was testing on his ear but this time tried the paw since I was having a hard time. Since it was the last test strip, I can't retest at the moment. I'm wondering if it could be a fluke or if this device may not be accurate. I gave him a snack and he ate up, but he seems fine- energetic and purring. I can go get new test strips in the morning but do I need to worry now? Should I still give him his morning dose? confused_cat

2. Sarah and Velcro

Sarah and Velcro Member

you have replies over on the Lantus board. ;)

3. Gia and Quirk

Gia and Quirk Member

Please remember that if you get an unexpectedly low reading your first step is to retest immediately. If the first reading was in error you need to know fast so you can figure out the best course of action. I suggest keeping an emergency supply of strips separate from the batch currently in use. Being without strips in an emergency is avoidable.

4. Ronnie & Luna

Ronnie & Luna Well-Known Member

5. KarenRamboConan

KarenRamboConan Senior Member Moderator