Recently Diagnosed

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by HillaryKitten, Oct 22, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. HillaryKitten

HillaryKitten Member

Hi, my 15 yr old female spayed cat Hillary was diagnosed October 14th. I am a registered Vet Tech but have not worked in the field for the past 15yrs. I feel a little overwhelmed and frustrated that I seem to have forgotten a lot of things I used to know. Fortunately I found this forum last night and with all the suggestions I found here I was able to successfully get two good BG readings this am. At 7am Hillary's BG was 182, after feeding half a can of fancy feast and 3 units of Lantus at 8am her BG was 78. I called the vet and will be rechecking her around 11am.

2. Sue and Oliver (GA)

Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

Please check her again in 20 minutes. 78 an hour after the shot gives you very little room before she is too low. 50 is heading too low; under 40 is hypo territory. If she is in the 50s, give her some regular food and retest in 20 minutes. If she is still dropping and nearer 40, give some gravy. If she continues to drop, rub some honey on her gums and head to the vet.

I am very concerned that she is headed to a hypo.

3. HillaryKitten

HillaryKitten Member

Update, I checked her BG at 11 it was 47, I feed her FF w/Karo syrup, rechecked at 11:30 BG is 62, was able to get her to eat some more FF w/Karo syrup. She is alert, moving around, purring. I will recheck her in a little bit.

4. Sue and Oliver (GA)

Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

Yes, keep rechecking. With Lantus, lower numbers can continue for longer than the usual 5-7 time frame of a usual nadir. And the numbers can go up and then go down and then go up. You really need to continue to test for several hours. Our usual protocol is three rising numbers but we do hope those rising numbers are in the 1oo+range.