repeating DKA - help with suggestions please?

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by nikkiaz, Jan 21, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nikkiaz

nikkiaz Member

Hello -

I'm Nancy and my cat Anabel (about 10 years old) was diagnosed with diabetes in the fall of 2008. After the usual "learning" period, we finally got her "regulated" on Lantus at 3 units 2x/day.

(please excuse me if I do not get all these medical terms right, I am still learning!).

So basically she was fine for a year until October 2009. She was on the Royal Canin dry diabetic food 2x/day and seemed fine. We did home testing to get the insulin levels set up, and once she seemed "stable" she was fine so we didn't do a lot of testing (which our vet said was ok). When we did test, however, her bg were really never that low - maybe 200-250.

Anyways, to make a long story short, she went through a hypoglycemic episode this October. Then she became very picky about her food. So we (on the vet's advice) were feeding her anything she wanted to get her to eat. At the same time he was ajusting her insulin dose. Her bg levels were usually between 150 and 400 (which we sent to our vet every few days).

She was also diagnosed with a thyroid problem before Christmas and put on the thyroid ear cream for that. She was down to 1.5 units 2x/day and seemed to be eating okay, then just stopped eating. She went into the emergency vet with DKA on 1/10 after she missed two meals and was "out of it." She spent four days at the emergency vet, where they got everything all straightened out with fluids, short-acting insulin, etc. They did not find any underlying cause of why this would happen and it seems they ran the gamut of tests, including ultrasounds. She did not receive her thyroid medicine while in the er.