Rocket - Update from ultrasound

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Karrie and Maverick, Jul 6, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Karrie and Maverick

    Karrie and Maverick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Claudia is at work and her phone is dead. She can't access FDMB until it gets a bit of a charge. Rocket has a large area of discoloured skin. She posted this on Loose Lips earlier:

    She doesn't know what the discolouration is. But when she goes to the ER - does she give a shot so he doesn't go high? Or not. She thinks without it he will go high. What is the expert opinion here? I'll call her with the responses.

    Here is a picture:
     

    Attached Files:

  2. mybuddybinks

    mybuddybinks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Re: Rocket going to ER after work - possible infection - hel

    sending prayers and positive energy your way...

    [​IMG]
     
  3. Sandy and Black Kitty

    Sandy and Black Kitty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Re: Rocket going to ER after work - possible infection - hel

    bump
     
  4. MJ+Donovan

    MJ+Donovan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Rocket going to ER after work - possible infection - hel

    :sad: lots and lots of prayers here.
    Hang in there Rocket!

    MJ&Donovan&Butthead's spirit
     
  5. Amy&TrixieCat

    Amy&TrixieCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Re: Rocket going to ER after work - possible infection - hel

    Many thoughts and prayers heading your way....
     
  6. Karrie and Maverick

    Karrie and Maverick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Re: Rocket going to ER after work - possible infection - hel

    bump
     
  7. Melissa & Tarragon

    Melissa & Tarragon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Re: Rocket going to ER after work - possible infection - hel

    Thoughts and prayers coming at you!
     
  8. Ann & Tess GA

    Ann & Tess GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Re: Rocket going to ER after work - possible infection - hel

    Sending healing vines and white light.
     
  9. Karrie and Maverick

    Karrie and Maverick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Re: Rocket going to ER after work - possible infection - hel

    I will pass on the hugs/vines.

    Anyone know if she should give insulin or not? If she needs to stay on a strict shot time of 5AM - should she do a furshot or give the insulin. I guess if this was my cat I would give the insulin. But I'm not an expert.
     
  10. PeterDevonMocha

    PeterDevonMocha Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Rocket going to ER after work - possible infection - hel

    No answer on the shot question, but definite prayers from us!
     
  11. Linda and Bear Man

    Linda and Bear Man Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Rocket going to ER after work - possible infection - hel

    I am NOT a dosing advisor. Perhaps she can call the ER and ask? I would want to consider if Rocket will be OK if he gets the shot, but then doesn't eat because of the vet visit or any treatment they give. Would that cause him to go too low? I wonder if she wants to consider giving a very small dose? Hoping that someone who knows more can stop by.
     
  12. dian and wheezer

    dian and wheezer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Rocket going to ER after work - possible infection - hel

    can not tell what injury is. bad eye sight. need bigger pic but if all else is well with kitty and eating, then I do not see why insulin cannot be given. wonder if this is some kind of local reaction for some reason. this is only my opinion. I am not a vet
     
  13. Karrie and Maverick

    Karrie and Maverick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Re: Rocket going to ER after work - possible infection - hel

    Its more than local its a large area - on a lot of one side of him. I'll pass on the responses. Thanks guys.
     
  14. Ann & Maggie11 (GA)

    Ann & Maggie11 (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Re: Rocket going to ER after work - possible infection - hel

    What about pm'ing Jill or Sienne if anyone knows their E-mail address for advice.
     
  15. Karrie and Maverick

    Karrie and Maverick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Re: Rocket going to ER after work - possible infection - hel

    Hi Guys,

    Claudia I think is comfortable on whether to shoot or not. Now the question is... can she preload a syringe to take with her to the vet? Is this okay or does it ruin the insulin?
     
  16. Linda and Bear Man

    Linda and Bear Man Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Rocket going to ER after work - possible infection - hel

    To clarify, she is going tonight right?
     
  17. Karrie and Maverick

    Karrie and Maverick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Re: Rocket going to ER after work - possible infection - hel

    Yep she's going to the ER after she gets home from work. So she would be there at shot time most likely or close to it.
     
  18. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Rocket going to ER after work - possible infection - hel

    they found me. lol!

    as far as dosing before going to the ER...
    at most i would give half a dose in case they have to use any anesthesia while they're there. as we all know, anesthesia can sometimes lower blood glucose numbers.

    karrie, i just saw your last post. i wouldn't shoot a full dose until they've examined rocket and claudia knows if they'll have to put him under for any reason.

    pre-loading the syringe --- i don't know what the temp is there, but here it's extremely hot. a pre-loaded syringe will get warmer faster. i'd be inclined to pack the vial/pen in an insulated bag with an ice pack and draw the dose while there. be careful the ice is not touching the vial/pen. you don't want the insulin to freeze.
     
  19. Karrie and Maverick

    Karrie and Maverick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Re: Rocket going to ER after work - possible infection - hel

    You guys are the best. Claudia can't thank you guys personally right now but I know she will when she can.

    Jill, I'm calling Claudia to read your reply.
     
  20. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Rocket going to ER after work - possible infection - hel

    tell claudia we'll be thinking of her and rocket and sending positive thoughts...
     
  21. Roni and Moonie

    Roni and Moonie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Rocket going to ER after work - possible infection - hel

    Claudia & Rocket-- Sending all my strongest thoughts & Prayers to our dear friend Rocket--Healing vines of the greenest color for him & we are hoping he'll be just fine--Hugs & Lubs to both of you!!
    Please let us know how he is!!
     
  22. Lisa and Do Lou (GA)

    Lisa and Do Lou (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Re: Rocket going to ER after work - possible infection - hel

    healing vines and prayers being sent
     
  23. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Rocket going to ER after work - possible infection - hel

    Sending vines and good thoughts.
     
  24. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Rocket going to ER after work - possible infection - hel

    Sending wise vines to the veterinarian and get better soon vines to Rocket and feel better now vines to Claudia.
    I hope all goes well for you.
     
  25. Nicole & Baby

    Nicole & Baby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Rocket going to ER after work - possible infection - hel

    Thinking of you both, Caludia & Rocket.. prayers above for blessings down on the emergent visit to the vet
    :YMHUG: to you & remember to breathe :YMHUG:
     
  26. Georgia and Simon (GA)

    Georgia and Simon (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Re: Rocket going to ER after work - possible infection - hel

    Claudia, I have only now been able to check condos and am so sorry to hear what you have been going through today. I am praying so very hard for Rocket -- praying that it is nothing serious and praying that the vets can diagnose exactly what is going on. Thank you Karrie, for relaying all the information. Please update as soon as you can. Hugs and more hugs.
     
  27. Tena and Curry(GA)

    Tena and Curry(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Re: Rocket going to ER after work - possible infection - hel

    (((((Claudia)))))) (((((((Rocket))))))

    We are all thinking about you. Update when you can.

    Lots and lots of hugs!
     
  28. MauiGuppy

    MauiGuppy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Re: Rocket going to ER after work - possible infection - hel

    Sorry to hear Rocket has to go to the ER. Sending happy thoughts, healing vines and hope that things will get better.

    Hope he has his teddy with him!
     
  29. Michelle and Mannie (GA)

    Michelle and Mannie (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Rocket going to ER after work - possible infection - hel

    healing vines and good thoughts...
     
  30. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: Rocket going to ER after work - possible infection - hel

    ((CLaudia))) ...sending tons of healing vines to Rocket and comfort/peace vines to you. We will hope that whatever it is, it can be quickly addressed without any anesthesia. We are holding our breath to hear from you later. HUGS and prayers.
     
  31. Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

    Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Re: Rocket going to ER after work - possible infection - hel

    (((((Claudia & Rocket))))) Thinking of you and sending prayers that all will be OK with your boy.

    Many hugs,

    Ella & Rusty
     
  32. mybuddybinks

    mybuddybinks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Re: Rocket going to ER after work - possible infection - hel

    binks is sending a big sloppy kitty hug to his pal Rocket-man!
     
  33. Rocket & his Mom

    Rocket & his Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Re: Rocket -back from ER-update

    hi all,
    thank you for the well wishes and prayers...

    in a nutshell:

    no skin infection

    she said could be 'vasculitis' or something to that sort...Karrie it's not with an "m" but rather a "v" (see how well put together i am!)

    the next available u/s is not until tomorrow at noon (i can not take the time off being at work and deadlines and DH could possibly take him but he has meetings so we are stuck).....sooooo means that the next available apt is not until Monday at 5 pm!!!!! ....i booked that one before apt is gone....

    he is now ANEMIC...which he wasn't 2 weeks ago....so that's another concern
    was DEHYDRATED even though i gave him fluids this morning....so we may need to up his current dose...

    he is HOME....cranky....but ate as soon as we walked in....

    no insulin tonight....so he will be HIGH tomorrow....

    they shaved around the area...small part...when i'm able to take a pic will post for you guys to see and perhaps give me your thoughts....as we know we can't totally RELY on vets...

    bottom line she said that we may be heading towards the next stage of the inevitable....so i'm pretty upset at that....but trying not to think about it....

    i told her i'm after QOL....and i'm sticking to that....

    she told me to call his vet tomorrow and see if it's necessary to take him in as i had booked him to see his vet tomorrow afternoon....if not needed i rather not upset him....they can't do u/s or xrays there....and tonight they took bloodwork....so we'll see what the vet says tomorrow...will call as soon as they open....

    he does need the u/s to see where we are at....if it has spread far worse than we think as this skin issue may be that....

    i have not eaten a thing all day...just two melba toast this morning before heading for work....so i am in tears....upset would be an understatement....i know it is coming....don't wanna say it...

    so i will try to grab a bite to eat....he is on the balcony laying down....doesn't seem uncomfortable....his med schedule is completely upside down...i just gave the pred....now gotta wait 2 hrs to give the pheno....which was due at pmps time....what a mess.....

    off to eat before i collapse here...

    please please please....pray for us...for him....
     
  34. Natalia & Enana

    Natalia & Enana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Re: Rocket going to ER after work - possible infection - hel

    {{Claudia & Rocket}} You are in my thoughts.
     
  35. MommaOfMuse

    MommaOfMuse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Re: Rocket -back from ER-update

    All fingers, toes and paws crossed for Rocket and family. Sending ton of prayers, purrs and a few sloppy wetdrooler kisss for good measure.

    Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
     
  36. Roni and Moonie

    Roni and Moonie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Rocket -back from ER-update

    Please dont lose Hope--Rocket has come back before and he can again--Our Prayers & Healing Vines are being sent to him in force--Hope tomorrow will be a better day for you all--Big Comforting HUGS!!
     
  37. Lisa and Do Lou (GA)

    Lisa and Do Lou (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Re: Rocket -back from ER-update

    (((((((Claudia))))) Do Lou and I are thinking of you tonight and sending lots of white light and prayers your way for Rocket
     
  38. Karrie and Maverick

    Karrie and Maverick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Re: Rocket -back from ER-update

    Updated picture:

    [​IMG]
     
  39. Karrie and Maverick

    Karrie and Maverick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Re: Rocket -back from ER-update

    [​IMG]
     
  40. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Rocket -back from ER-update

    (((claudia and rocket))) hope you're having something to eat and taking care of yourself.

    i'm not familiar with vasculitis, but i did find this among other things: Cutaneous Vasculitis and Vasculopathy. it's from the 29th World Conference of the World Small Animal Veterinary Association. however, the article is old... 2004. i haven't been able to find anything more recent that looks "official". it sounds like they need to figure out the cause so they can treat appropriately. i'm guessing it's the reason for the bloodwork and u/s.

    please try to get some rest tonight. as always, keeping you both in thought and prayer...
     
  41. Frip&Grip

    Frip&Grip Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Re: Rocket -back from ER-update

    (((((Claudia and Rocket)))))

    Sending lots of prayers and healing vines for Rocket and You... :YMHUG:
     
  42. Michelle and Mannie (GA)

    Michelle and Mannie (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Rocket -back from ER-update

    as always - we are thinking of you...
     
  43. MauiGuppy

    MauiGuppy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Re: Rocket -back from ER-update

    Hugs and vines, dear Rocket. Hugs and vines.
     
  44. sehjak (Susan & Lanky)

    sehjak (Susan & Lanky) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Re: Rocket -back from ER-update

    And more and more hugs & healing vines. We are thinking of you guys!
     
  45. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Re: Rocket -back from ER-update

    (((((((claudia & rocket))))))))
     
  46. Ronnie & Luna

    Ronnie & Luna Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Rocket -back from ER-update

    hi Claudia,
    im up early for workday here, , and seeing your updates from last nite,
    ((((hugs)))) and lots of healing vines for Rocket, hang in there Claudia,
    we'll be thinking of you both.
     
  47. Nina and KB

    Nina and KB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Rocket -back from ER-update

    Hugs and prayers for you and DH and dear Rocket.
     
  48. Linda and Bear Man

    Linda and Bear Man Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Rocket -back from ER-update

    (((Claudia))) I am sending lots of prayers for both of you.
     
  49. Amy&TrixieCat

    Amy&TrixieCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Re: Rocket -back from ER-update

    Thoughts and prayers continue for you and your handsome little man...
     
  50. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Rocket -back from ER-update

    Claudia, I am keeping Rocket and you in my prayers. I hope you got some sleep.
     
  51. Georgia and Simon (GA)

    Georgia and Simon (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Re: Rocket -back from ER-update

    Claudia, thinking of you and praying for you.
     
  52. Bruce & Simon

    Bruce & Simon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Re: Rocket -back from ER-update

    Just wanted to add our best wishes & prayers. What a handsome boy!
     
  53. Christie & Willie (GA)

    Christie & Willie (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Re: Rocket -back from ER-update

    Thought , prayers and ((hugs)) to you and Rocket both, Claudia. Fingers and paes crossed for quick answers.
     
  54. Iorwen & Tray

    Iorwen & Tray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Re: Rocket -back from ER-update

    Sending healing prayers and healing vines.
     
  55. Karrie and Maverick

    Karrie and Maverick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Re: Rocket -back from ER-update

    ((((((Claudia and Rocket))))))) Just want to send some hugs for you this morning also. Rocket I'm sure is acting like he doesn't want his mom to worry about him. Give him a hug from me today.
     
  56. Melissa & Tarragon

    Melissa & Tarragon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Re: Rocket -back from ER-update

    ((((Claudia & Rocket)))) Thinking of you and send healing vines your way!
     
  57. Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

    Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Re: Rocket -back from ER-update

    More hugs and prayers are on their way this morning. Thinking of you both,

    Ella & Rusty
     
  58. Rocket & his Mom

    Rocket & his Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Re: Rocket -back from ER-update

    Haven't slept much...never do anyways
    He is acting ok

    Amps 403

    To be expected with no shot yesterday
    Fluids in place

    Will call vet once they open

    Will update later

    Thx for the hugs

    We need your prayers
     
  59. Karrie and Maverick

    Karrie and Maverick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Re: Rocket -back from ER-update

    A quick update from Claudia - Rocket has his ultrasound scheduled for today at 4PM.
     
  60. Ele & Blackie (GA)

    Ele & Blackie (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Rocket -back from ER-update

    ((((Claudia)))) You and Rocket are in my prayers. I hope you can get some good news today. Please take care of yourself, too.
     
  61. Ann & Maggie11 (GA)

    Ann & Maggie11 (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Re: Rocket -back from ER-update

    Vines and prayers for Claudia and Rocket today. Hoping for some positive news today with the ultrasound.
     
  62. PeterDevonMocha

    PeterDevonMocha Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Rocket -back from ER-update

    Continued prayers and positive thoughts for you all ....
     
  63. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: Rocket -back from ER-update

    Claudia: still sending hugs and prayers.

    For the anemia: before you go down the aranasp or other path on that (due to antibodies), have you tried giving him methylB12 and a multiB vitamin? We've been doing that for our two CRF kitties and have maintained their HCT/HGB pretty nicely. In fact, Teddi's is as good as Tobey and Gracie's and her creat/BUN are the same as Gus's. Gus's HCT/HGB are on the med low side of normal but he's been stable. It could help him.....
     
  64. Rocket & his Mom

    Rocket & his Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Re: Rocket -back from ER-update

    He's been getting both B-Right and B12 methyl for 3 yrs now. Daily.
     
  65. Georgia and Simon (GA)

    Georgia and Simon (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Re: Rocket -back from ER-update

    Claudia, you must be somewhat relieved to be able to get Rocket's us done today instead of waiting until Monday. Sending lots of prayers that the ultrasound will go well. Hugs!
     
  66. Ann & Tess GA

    Ann & Tess GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Re: Rocket -back from ER-update

    epping Rocket in our thoughts and sending more vines and white light.
     
  67. Rocket & his Mom

    Rocket & his Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Re: Rocket -ultrasound today

    thank you everyone...

    not gonna lie....i've been trying to keep busy and positive while at work...but i feel my heart in my throat....my head tells me not to panic but my heart is telling me otherwise....

    giving a smile at work feels sooo fake....and each time i think of Rocket i wanna cry....i'm in sort of panic mode....

    sorry if i can't visit condos....i think of you all my FDMB Family and keep you all in my prayers....

    better stop here cause i'm about to cry....
     
  68. Melissa & Tarragon

    Melissa & Tarragon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Re: Rocket -back from ER-update

    Oh Claudia! I am so sorry. Hang in there! (((((HUGS)))))
     
  69. Sandy and Black Kitty

    Sandy and Black Kitty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Re: Rocket -back from ER-update

    (((((((Claudia and Rocket))))))))

    Sending best possible outcome vines your way. . .
     
  70. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Rocket -back from ER-update

    (((claudia and rocket)))
    thinking positive thoughts...
     
  71. Karrie and Maverick

    Karrie and Maverick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Re: Rocket - question about tonight - if sedated

    Claudia would like to know what she should do if Rocket is sedated at his ultrasound. If she is home in time for shot time does she shoot? Or 1/2 dose?
     
  72. Karrie and Maverick

    Karrie and Maverick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Re: Rocket - question about tonight - if sedated

     
  73. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Rocket - question about tonight - if sedated

    i can only suggest what i would do with alex. ECID! there's no one right or wrong answer because every cat reacts differently to sedation.

    i don't think i would be worried about shooting a full dose tonight if alex were lightly sedated for a few minutes, but her preshot number could influence my decision if it was low.

    on this forum, we've mostly seen BG numbers take a nose-dive when kitties have been put under for procedures like dentals. what claudia is describing doesn't sound anything comparable to the time and level of sedation required for a dental.

    just my thoughts...
     
  74. Karrie and Maverick

    Karrie and Maverick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Re: Rocket - question about tonight - if sedated

    Thanks Jill :)
     
  75. Rocket & his Mom

    Rocket & his Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Re: Rocket - question about tonight - if sedated

    Got home and he didn't eat all day...seems slow to walk too sort of stiffed...don't want to give food now cause of the u/s...it's hot here today but same yesterday and he ate well yesterday...

    Have tentatively booked apt w reg vet on Sat if need be depending on today's findings

    He gets two kinds of injections to make him groggy for them to do u/s

    Yesterday the vet tech said he didn't give them the usual workout...so that in itself is upsetting to me...could he be giving up?

    The other thing is that w his seizure history after he gets sedated it takes him some time to process the drug and so he may not get insulin tonight...or maybe a token dose...

    So many variables to consider w Rocket being a multiple illness kitty :(
     
  76. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Rocket - question about tonight - if sedated

    yes, you'll have to weigh your options when you get home. this is a good example of what i meant when i said every cat responds to sedation differently.
    (((claudia)))
     
  77. Karrie and Maverick

    Karrie and Maverick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Re: Rocket - question about tonight - if sedated

    Didn't he get extra bupe today though? Hugs!
     
  78. Rocket & his Mom

    Rocket & his Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Re: Rocket - question about tonight - if sedated

    No Karrie....that was last night

    Off we go

    Pray for us
     
  79. MauiGuppy

    MauiGuppy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Re: Rocket - question about tonight - if sedated

    Claudia, I got goosebumps when I read your last post. Praying for Rocket's speedy recovery!
     
  80. Karrie and Maverick

    Karrie and Maverick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Re: Rocket - question about tonight - if sedated

    Darn - thought I had an answer for you. You are doing great hanging in there and being strong Claudia. (((((Claudia and Rocket))))) Wishing him good luck at the u/s today.
     
  81. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Rocket - question about tonight - if sedated

    Praying for good results at the vets.
     
  82. Angela & Blackie & 3 Others

    Angela & Blackie & 3 Others Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Re: Rocket - Ultrasound

    Sending tons of healing vines for you both, and wishing Rocket to make a full and speedy recovery.
     
  83. Roni and Moonie

    Roni and Moonie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Rocket - Ultrasound

    Praying for Rocket's Full recovery with all my heart-Healing vines & snowflakes to bring Rocket back to good health--WE ARE HERE FOR YOU ALWAYS!! Hugs from all of us!!
     
  84. mybuddybinks

    mybuddybinks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Re: Rocket - Ultrasound

    prayers, positive energy, hugs and love from Binks and I

    celi
     
  85. Michelle and Mannie (GA)

    Michelle and Mannie (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Rocket - Ultrasound

    positive thoughts...
     
  86. Lisa and Do Lou (GA)

    Lisa and Do Lou (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Re: Rocket - Ultrasound

    thinking of you both (((Hugs))))
     
  87. Frip&Grip

    Frip&Grip Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Re: Rocket - Ultrasound

    (((((Claudia and Rocket)))))

    Sending lots more prayers and healing vines for Rocket and You... cat_pet_icon
     
  88. Rocket & his Mom

    Rocket & his Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Re: Rocket - Ultrasound-we are back

    hi all,
    where shall i begin........

    ok...u/s done....

    findings:
    mass in pancreas has gotten bigger BUT not to the rate the u/s vet would have thought if indeed was a MALIGNANT mass/tumor..........he still does not disregard the fact that it could be malignant but he said that cancer in the pancreas progresses very quickly and the mass was 12 mm in Feb and is now 19 mm....it has grown but in this length of time he would have expected Rocket not to be here....so that's good news....but it does NOT explain the latest on his skin and it does not mean he would not progress fast...to him Rocket is an ANOMALY....

    he said "quite frankly Rocket at his age and with the multiple illnesses he has...he has proven ANIMAL MEDICINE wrong!....at least so far"

    WE STILL DON'T KNOW WHAT HE HAS

    does not get him out of the woods though....i found a tiny scab on the skin where it's red....i will keep the apt with the vet for Sat and see what she has to say tomorrow....as the full report on the findings will be sent to the vet tonight....

    in a nutshell he said that the latest is NOT related to what he may/may not have in the pancreas and the liver was enlarged (as previously noted) but in good shape...and kidneys have not progressed much since Feb....so i will have to wait to hear from his reg vet tomorrow and will update...

    gave shot 25 mins late....i'm overly tired and can't think how to go back to his normal time of 5:30 am/pm shot times.....he got this shot at 5:55 pm

    he ate lots when we got home....

    PMPS 250

    will watch him carefully as the sedation he got has some sort of narcotic with valium in it....so he doesn't get his bupe dose until midnight probably if needed and his phenobarbital will be late from 5:30 pm to perhaps 8 pm and the pred from 7 pm to 9 pm....his whole med schedule is messed up....

    can someone please guide me as to when to give the shot tomorrow am to get back to normal time? i'm sorry i can't seem to think straight...overloaded with info...and i'm tired...

    so the saga continues until we get to the bottom of the latest on Rocket....but i'm somewhat relieved the abdominal ultrasound went ok all things considered...my boy is one strong KITTY....he is still drugged up...had to give him fluids when we got home as per vet ...1) so he can process the drugs faster out of his system 2) it's hot hot hot here today.....

    and as always will keep a CLOSE EYE on him....

    thank you soooo much for your prayers and well wishes....i cry each time i read them...i'm sorry if i've missed your condos...i think and pray for you guys....
     
  89. Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

    Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Re: Rocket - Ultrasound

    Claudia, we are thinking really hard that all will go well with the ultrasound and that your vet can determine what the problem is. Try to be positive for Rocket. He needs to feel your confidence.

    many :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: s

    Ella & Rusty
     
  90. mybuddybinks

    mybuddybinks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Re: Rocket - Ultrasound

    that sounds like a really positive report!

    still holding you and Handsome R in our hearts and thoughts...
     
  91. Ronnie & Luna

    Ronnie & Luna Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    ((((Claudia)))) no advice here, but lots of continued good thoughts for Rocket.
    be strong and take good care of yourself too.
     
  92. Sherry & Zoe (GA)

    Sherry & Zoe (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Know that we continue to hold you and Rocket close in thoughts and prayers.
     
  93. MommaOfMuse

    MommaOfMuse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Still keeping you and Rocket in our thoughts and prayers, hope the vet on saturday has some more answers for you. Tons of long distant hugs, headbutts and whisker kisses coming for you both.

    Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang.
     
  94. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I would be feeling possitive with that report. (((Many hugs Claudia))) I hope you get some good rest tonight.
    You can shoot 15 minutes early tomorrow morning (depending upon the numbers of course), and then you will only be 10 minutes behind schedule.
     
  95. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Claudia --

    If you shot at 5:55 PM, then you can shoot at 5:40 AM tomorrow morning. You evening shot will be at your usual 5:30 PM time and you will then be back on schedule. So:
    • AMPS at 5:40 AM
    • PMPS at 5:30 PM

    All things considered, it's a very good report from the vet.
     
  96. Georgia and Simon (GA)

    Georgia and Simon (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    The u/s showed one thing -- Rocket is one strong kitty who wants to prove all the vets wrong. Sending lots more prayers to you and Rocket tonight.
     
  97. MJ+Donovan

    MJ+Donovan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Amen to that.
    Rocket's guardian angel Butthead is watching over him now.
     
  98. Michelle and Mannie (GA)

    Michelle and Mannie (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    it is a good report - and I am relieved - Rocket is indeed one strong determined kitty. Lots of prayers and thoughts headed your way.
     
  99. Amy&TrixieCat

    Amy&TrixieCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Rocket isn't just an anomaly, Rocket is amazing.

    Continued thoughts and prayers for both of you....

    Amy
     
  100. Rocket & his Mom

    Rocket & his Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    thank you all for the info/well wishes/prayers/hugs/healing vines/etc/etc/etc.....much appreciated....

    Rocket is still drugged and has slept very little....he is stumbling around still and so i have had to guide him to go drink water (in the tub) and on the coffee table....sort of keeping an eye on him...the last thing we need if for him to hurt himself....

    with all the other meds in his system plus all his illnesses it does take him longer to process sedative drugs....

    i just managed to give his phenobarbital....shortly will give the pred....he is not interested in food...and to not make matters worse for him i have not tested him but will do before doing to bed....

    thank you Karrie for opening up this condo....it is rather difficult to be on the net at work especially when i still don't know the 'politics' in the work place....so.....i appreciate it lots that you calm me down when i panic and i get all nervous being away from Rocket......big hugs to you....

    thank you for the pms too...much appreciated...

    i can't begin to thank you all for your kind words and thoughts and prayers....this family really gathers together....in good and bad....i'm very humbled....as always...when crisis with Rocket arise...it is good to know i can have a place to vent/cry/be happy/be sad...without judgement....you guys understand the love we have towards our kitties/droolers...had to include Comet in this too....and other people really don't get it and never will....and it is sad they are missing out on the unconditional love and rewards we get from our fur-kids....

    ok....off to see/check on Rocket....i'm tired...and tomorrow is an even earlier morning as with the Royal couple in town there are roads closed that lead to my work....sucks...but thank God they leave tomorrow....it was a nightmare coming home from the hospital tonight....

    hugs to all beans and kitties!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page